Weekly Review: 3rd January 2021 - New Year, New Me, and other plans for 2021

in 500 Words a day3 years ago

Since I quit Drinking in Feb 2019, I have been taking several steps to gradually move towards a happier and ultimately more fulfilling life. It’s a slow process, but I have learned that having accountability is important for me to change. It is in that spirit of accountability that I am writing this review. It forces me to analyse what has actually happened in the past week, what the results were, and then I can decided the next step to take.

Linwood Landscape nov0119PP.jpg
Sunrise at Linwood Warren, Lincolnshire

This post is probably more for my benefit than it is yours, but who knows, you might find it interesting

First things first, this post will be about progress made last year, and stuff to aim for this year. But, I will not write a post about 'New Years Resolutions'.

Why?

Because personally I find that those 'resolutions' are always linked to failure. So many people (myself included) make an attempt to turn their life around and become better versions of themselves, and that apparently the 1st of January will give them extra power, extra oomph! In most cases, that doesn't happen and grand ideas to eat more healthily, exercise more or quit an addiction last for barely more than 2 and a half days, before succumbing back to old habits. Deep down we all know New Years resolutions rarely work.

Instead, I took heed of the words of a Belgian Self-defence instructor (of all people), who said something like

"I don't make New Years Resolutions, I write a To-do List." - Wim Demere (early 00's)

And you might think that the words look the same, and they kinda do, but the difference in intent is huge. The person who will "try" to give up smoking has already failed by not committing to it. The person who has decided that they no longer smoke, has already made their mind up.

With that in mind, I will go though some aspects of this year, breifly assess what happend and than some ideas for my next steps...

3rd jan weight.JPG

Health

Healthwise, its been an up and down kind of year. The graph shows I am capable of loosing the excess weight if I focus on it, but trying to keep focused and not let things slip is the hard bit. I have noticed that when I exercise regularly I attempt to eat more sensibly. I mean, what is the point of going for a long run if I am gonna stuff my face with cake afterwards? I am currently on a downward trend which I managed even though I ate EVERYTHING over the xmas period.

Goal 1 for 2021: Keep losing weight.

That is too vague for my liking so I added the target of 75kg. With the current weight at 79.9kg thats only 5kg to lose. If I am honest I don't know what I will look like at that weight. The aim is too lose the wobbly belly, and therefore what ever weight that takes will be the eventual target.

Goal 2 for 2021 - Build up to a long run of 20km

With regards to weight loss the running helps, but I have mentioned before that I don't run specifically to lose weight but because I really enjoy it as a physical activity in its own right. Ultimately I want to build up to Marathon distance (26.1 miles or 42km) and 20km would be almost halfway. I have already picked out a local route that is 20km long and I will keep building the the weekly long run to build it up. I would like to achieve the 20km target by the summer, but will have to see how the training goes.

run10k.JPG

Goal 3 for 2021 - Re-join the gym

Technically I have already joined (first payment went out on the 1st of January, but with it being Tier 4 the gym is shut. No matter, I knew this before I paid, and as mentioned before... its all about intent. I am going to the gym, end of story.

Work

Its been a funny year work-wise. The covid situation has been quite frankly awful at times. We haven't been able to do much of the 'fun stuff' we normally would outside work, and work has been extremely stressful due to the ever changing situation. But, I accept that as a worker in food retail, I at least have job security (and no worrying about paying bills) so I am thankful for that at least.

I do still need more money, as I seem to be living paycheck to paycheck at the moment, and thats not fun. Unfortunately there are few job prospects on the horizon as business after business are shedding staff, or collapsing completely. The main option here is to make the most of what I have.

Goal 4 for 2021 - Get paid more

The most obvious way is to get another position within the company that actually has more hours (my 20hr contract is crap). But I am limited by lack of travel options. The stop gap for that is just to do overtime temporarily at other local stores (the company I work for keeps staffing levels tight, so if a supervisor is ill unexpectedly the whole team can struggle to mange the shop). I did my first 'cover shift' yesterday, and I have more at a different shop at the end of January to look forward to. It is slightly stressful as I am walking into a new place with people I don't know, and a shop that is a different setup. On the other hand I like the challenge of it, and I'm sure the experience of it will help me improve my skillset (and look good on my CV too!). And the extra money will be a much needed bonus.

On the side hustle front, I am gonna make another attempt at portrait photography. Unless you are an established name there is only one way to make money from photography and that is pictures of people. I got some books recently on how to work with people (and how to pose them properly), and once the weather improves I will look to contact local models for TF shoots to build up my confidence again. Building up experience is key, and the more I do it the better and more comfortable I will be. I just have to commit to it.

I have a yearly review coming up with my manager, and I will make sure she is aware I want over time at any cost and that I am willing to travel to get it!

Hive

It is amazing to consider that I have only been a member of this Hive Blockchain thing for just 6 months (it feels much longer than that, although I can't tell if that's a good thing haha). I have enjoyed it for the most part, and there is some awesome content being created and shared on here if you look hard enough. There is also lots of interesting stuff via the communities (such as leofinance or even the exhaust community).

I do believe that this web 3.0 stuff (or something similar to it) is the future but whether Hive can be part of that is up for debate I guess. It will take time for its potential to be truely realised, and I think people are so obsessed other immediate results that they have forgotten that anything truely worthwhile takes Time to create.

Speaking of time... I have spent 6 months trying to post consistently to build up my stake, look at this fancy dolphin badge I recently received!

dolphin.JPG

Goal 5 for 2021 - Keep building up my stake

I suppose the next badge Orca is the next target but at 52,000HP that is awhile away yet. A more manageable target will be 10,000HP which I will aim to complete in July 2021 which will be 6 months time. I definitely think thats doable. And I am committed to this place, for now at least.

There we go.

No pointless Resolutions in this post.

I have 5 Main Goals on my To-do list, enough waffling, its time to crack on and get them done!

Motivation quote

"I don't make New Years Resolutions, I write a To-do List." - Wim Demere

Second Sunset PanoSmall.jpg
Sunset on Mull, Scotland

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

On the side hustle front, I am gonna make another attempt at portrait photography.

I love side hustles. They are a great way to bring in some extra cash. They way that I see it is any extra pounds you can bring in while doing something that you enjoy is a bonus.

As you know, hive is mine but I'm going to try and branch out into few more areas this year. With that said, posting here has been the best thing that I have found over the years and hopefully it does play a big part of web 3.0