Metal Weekend - 25th/26th July

in 500 Words a day4 years ago

Here is this weeks post as part of the #metalweekend tag via @detlev, and these are a selection of albums I am listening to at the moment.

Rules

1 - Choose 3 metal bands/artists
2 - Make a post including the #metalweekend tag.

Thats it! Nice and simple... I will add an extra element:

3 - I do like a backstory, so if you want to then feel free to add a little explaining your choice, or what you like about the band/song. But you don't need to if you don't want to.

The main aim is just to share some cool #Metal songs and who knows, you may introduce someone to their new favourite band!

_MG_9555.JPG

My choices for this weekend:

1 - Sunn 0))) - ØØ Void

My first pick for this weekend features the Drone Metal masters Sunn 0))). The name is pronounced 'sun' if you weren't sure, and if you don't know what 'Drone Metal' is then think of the heaviest, slowest Doom metal you know, and make it heavier... and make it sloooooower. Its not for everybody, but its interesting, and if you haven't worked it out yet, I like my music to be interesting. This album is one of their early releases and probably the one I like the most. It might sound like a wall of noise to begin with, but if you give it time to develop there is a fair amount of subtle changes to appreciate. It truly is a cathartic experience, and as the band themselves say: "Maximum Volume Yields Maximum Results".

(caution: playing too loud may destroy your speakers, you have been warned...)

2 - *shels - Plains of the Purple Buffalo

Next up is a very different album. Its still long-winded and interesting, but its no way near as heavy as the previous album. *shels have a varied sound, incorporating elements of Post-hardcore, Prog-rock and Shoe-gaze and this creates an absolutely epic sounding album. Considering the lengthy run time of 77 minutes, it is always interesting and at no point does it drag or get boring. Check it out, its a beautiful album, and is worth putting on headphones and sitting and enjoying the album as a single piece of work.

3 - Murderdolls -Beyond the Valley of the Murderdolls

And now for something a bit different... incorporating elements of Glam Rock and Horror Punk, Murderdolls are short, sharp and a little bit crude at times. Most of the lyrics are based on Horror Movies, including Love at First Fright which takes a unique angle on The Exorcist

When I saw you piss on the rug, my heart fluttered
And I knew it was love, true love...

I'd love it if you'd spin your head for me
Or vomit a beautiful pea soup green,
So beautifully

The rest of the album continues in the same vein, slightly silly at times... but damn good fun regardless.

And that is my playlist for today, what are you listening to? Feel free to join in and make your own post featuring your #metalweekend, or just leave a comment below.

Sort:  

Hi @earthsea,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I quite like the Murderdolls. 😁

They're good fun aren't they? Sometimes I want my music to be long-winded and intelligent and interesting, and sometimes I just want something to rock out to!

I lsitened to parts of all of the albulms but I'm afraid you can't sell me on any of them. Murderdolls at a stretch as they are a bit of a throwback to 90's punk rock which I used to enjoy back in the day but it will never be my genre. I can listen to most music and do enjoy a good mix of songs as well. Unless you try new things, you will never know if you like it.

Great to see you posting into the community and hope to see you doing it every day. You never know, if you show me enough choice of metal bands, some of them might even stick.

Thank you for taking the time to check out the music, I generally have eclectic and weird (and I mean very weird) tastes in music. And when you bear in mind that most metal heads will tell you that the first band I featured, Sunn 0))), are pointless noise, then I'm not surprised that you aren't impressed by it.

That's not a problem of course, we all have different tastes, and life would be flippin' boring if we all liked the same stuff. I have tried to include a variety of metal on these posts (some more popular bands alongside the weird stuff) and I'm pretty sure eventually you will find something new to enjoy listening to!

This is my backup account (for @dannewton) so I will only be posting intermittently on this one, but sure thing, if I do a post over 500 words I will add it to your community

We all have our own taste but unless we give it a listen then we won't know if it for us or not. I'm happy to expand my taste where possible. I even listen to @crimsonclad and her metal show which has some very out there music.

Glad to see you posting here and I will welcome any more that you want to share with the community.