How you can affect change as a minnow or redfish (500 words a day post 1 of 5)

in 500 Words a day4 years ago (edited)

tarantula.jpg

Five hundred words is a lot. That's why I wrote that out. I don't usually do too well on these types of things, but I figured I would give it a shot. So while I don't feel a deep need to improve my English (I am a native speaker), I will use this as an effort to improve my online presence and hopefully connect with a few more people.

I think I'm going to approach this thing kind of like a free write. So please don't mind my rambling. I tried the five-minute free writes that a lot of folks do around here, but I usually end up with about 30 words, lol. So this will be a little bit different.

Since everyone recommends having an image and since I'm not a big fan of searching pixabay for a photo for my posts, I decided to just find one from my camera. This one happens to be one of my cousin holding a wild tarantula he found in the south western US. These huge spiders migrate at certain times of the year and sometimes you can even find them crossing streets and roads in herds. Surprisingly, they don't usually bite people. They even let people like my crazy cousin here pick them up and handle them without incident.

@nathanmars brought me here because I saw his post. I've got to say that the dude is pretty inspirational. His presence on Twitter and here on the blockchain is evident. This brings me to another point I would like to make.

I have seen a lot of people on here make the point that they have no control or influence over what the whales decide to do here. That is not true. I don't care how small your account is. You have the ability to affect change on this blockchain. In fact, I would say you have the responsibility to affect change on this site. Many of you might be asking yourselves how you can affect change. There are a number of answers to that question.

First - be the change you want to see. If you wish you had more engagement on your posts, engage more on other people's posts. If you wish more people would tip you, tip more people yourself. When you do these things, you are establishing your part of the collective culture of the blockchain.

Second - If you have an idea to improve, or if you see something wrong, speak out against it. Never underestimate the power of your voice. A well articulated idea and persistent communication of that idea can change the world. This is evident throughout the history of the world. You can speak out through making top level posts, commenting on other's posts, evangelizing on other platforms and many other ways.

Third - make connections and strive to understand perspectives. Make friends and support them. They, in turn, will most likely support you. That is how you make a community and the community is power. Anybody posting on Hive who was around on Steem can attest to this.

Well, that puts me past 500 words. Please let me know your thoughts below. Hopefully this post will spur or reinforce some small revelations in at least one person. I will see you all tomorrow.

divider.png

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

Sort:  

Firstly. Great to see you here and posting to the community. I think it's great to get a bit more active and create a profile on hive. The more people that you can connect and engage with the better. You might think that 500 words seems like a lot but he more often that you do it, the easier it will become.

First - be the change you want to see. If you wish you had more engagement on your posts, engage more on other people's posts. If you wish more people would tip you, tip more people yourself. When you do these things, you are establishing your part of the collective culture of the blockchain.

I think that this is a massively important point. If you want to see something then you will have be willing to make it happen. Nobody is going to do it for you. If you want to see more engagement, then engage more. If you want to see more community, then go out and build one. Good practices lead to more people doing good things.

Thank you for the kind and encouraging words. Thank you as well for building this community. I think it is a great resource and will help to spur engagement.

I think that niche communities with a decent amount of hive power behind them are a great way to build form the ground up. The majority of people that leave at the beginning do so because they either get no engagement or no rewards.

If we can build a hundred smaller areas that they can fit into I think we have a much better chance of retaining new users.

I wholeheartedly agree.

Great man keep on going ;)

@raikovv23 @dimitur10 @kukabuna

Namaste 🙏

Thank you for the comment and the kind words.

So please don't mind my rambling.

Sounds like my language.

Looking forward to your future 500s,you can keep the tarantula though.

I feel the same way about the tarantulas. I would like to see them again though. Thanks for commenting.

Make friends and support them. They, in turn, will most likely support you.

I firmly believe this is true everywhere, online or offline.

By the way, it's a relief those tarantulas do not bite but aren't they poisonous?

I guess all spiders are poisonous to an extent, but the bite of these tarantulas will not cause death. I think I heard that their bite is painful though. Good thing they won't usually bite.

Now, they also have big scorpions there that might be venomous. We don't usually mess with those. 😆

Venomous is the word, yes, I often forget poisonous is not used in case of animals and such.

That's reassuring. Tarantulas do look cool though, fluffy and mushy. Almost pet worthy. 😃

I enjoyed reading this my friend.

make connections and strive to understand perspectives. Make friends and support them. They, in turn, will most likely support you. That is how you make a community and the community is power. Anybody posting on Hive who was around on Steem can attest to this.

This is so important to remember!!

Ps. Thank you for joining #500wordsaday community

You are welcome, and I thank you for the support and for being a great example of that in general. As a
I said in the post, you are an inspiration.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.