Just trying to get my writing mojo back.

in 500 Words a day2 years ago




image.png


There is no real point behind this article or anything of real interest to the majority but it is good to put thoughts to paper.

Like with anything writing is a life skill and while a lot of people can write, having something to say is a totally different prospect.

It might just be the time of year or the tiredness that comes from a busy life but every so often I can get disillusioned with what is happening around me.

We are all a product of our environment and while thing are actually going quite well at the moment there seems to be a cloud hanging overhead for the past few weeks that refuses to lift.
Not in any serious sense but just in my mood and my motivation in general.

Even sitting here in front of the computer today and it all feels a little bit forced. It lacks a certain sense of excitement or enjoyment lately and that is a strange feeling.

Reading and writing are two things that have always brought me happiness in life and something to turn to when the rest of it is at a low.

I think that the challenge has gone from writing on hive at the moment and that sense of accomplishment that normally goes with it.

It is still entertaining but it's not enough for me at the moment. I need to be excited about what i am doing.

I also know that this is only temporary until i get a new idea or something to motivate me into upping my activity again.

We all go through high's and low's in our endeavors and this one is just brought on by tiredness and a slight lack of purpose.

Too much time trying to force out content instead of enjoying being able to create content. It's not a huge issue but a lot of what i read and write at the moment is very generic, very static and very forced. Myself included.

We are only a small community but we are all trying to move in the same direction which tends to sanitize the content to a certain degree as people look for agreement and we have a say in all of the same projects. It's not a huge problem but i hope that as hive grows and especially Leofinance grows to see more people with more opinions and be able to learn about different projects and new information.

The one good thing that i did get from trying out reddit to increase my karma and get involved with discussions was the wide variety of users and opinions.

Plenty of healthy debate on subjects ranging the whole world outside of hive and crypto. I can't say that the content is much good but there are a few interesting posts that get the people going. It adds a bit of excitement to proceedings when the comments section gets going properly and people get fully involved.

I am still waiting for project blank to bring in a few new faces and topics which i do think will liven the whole place up again. Just a little bit of diversity and controversy will add a lot to the site and make it a bit more interesting.

Opinions can be hard to take but they can also be very educational whether you agree with them or not. Anyway, that's just my few thoughts for the day and exercising a few demons from my head. A personal blog is a little like a diary of the day and if I only write about crypto my personality will become very one dimensional very fast which isn't good for anybody.

Sometimes it's good to just let the words flow out and see what becomes of it.

Sort:  

I could totally relate to this post.

Too much time trying to force out content instead of enjoying being able to create content.

I feel the same way when I have to "force" content. I know exactly what you mean. I just stopped doing it. I may not post daily, but I do try and drop in daily, and maybe a comment or two. As far as actual posts though, I just post as stuff is happening in my life. If there's not much going on or I have nothing to say, I say nothing 🤣

We are only a small community but we are all trying to move in the same direction which tends to sanitize the content to a certain degree as people look for agreement and we have a say in all of the same projects. It's not a huge problem but i hope that as hive grows and especially Leofinance grows to see more people with more opinions and be able to learn about different projects and new information.

I love our small community and its friendliness. I think we still have debate but people are just much more cordial and less likely to actually be mean-spirited or troll-like. People on traditional social media can be incredibly cruel and vulgar. Here, we have "free speech" and can say whatever we want, yet the conversation is much more polite, inclusive, and welcoming IMHO. That is incredible to me... I totally get what you're saying though. Sometimes it feels a little too polite and cordial.

As far as me personally, I just post when I feel like it. Comment when I have something to say and not really try to force content and burn myself out. I also kind of follow the old protocol of, "If you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all." That's just me though and how I try to behave on most social platforms. It's a personal choice. I never really got the whole arguing with strangers on the internet thing. Personally, I've found creating forced content mentally exhausting and it never comes out the way I want it to. So I just stopped forcing it.

Great post. I enjoyed this a lot. It's nice to find people with similar views.

I think there’s nothing wrong with being cordial. We can still be critical and yet discuss with finesse. This culture could well be Hive’s unique selling point!

It is a very unique and welcoming community for the most part. Huge selling point! Priceless IMHO.

We sure need to bring in diversity to types of contents here on Hive. I think one main reason some publish agreeable content is trying to say what curator wants to hear. The phrase quality content is kinda focused on what add value to only Hive not what adds value to our own quality of life and living.

Most struggle with writing and enjoying it, I do too but I'm getting used to putting out my thoughts the way I want now and enjoying them as I keep writing and reading daily, with time it all comes together and we start loving the process.!PIZZA

Yes, ironically I agree. :)

I felt that there is some self censorship going on all the time. But indeed for Hive to grow, it need to live up to its name in promoting decentralisation of thoughts.

Reading is a way to collect and promote ideas by sharing and developing it with others into reality. For me, writing is a valuable moment that bring out your feeling, even if it's sad, because it makes you feel good.

People usually find comfort in writing because they don't feel confused، it's a good opportunity to find out what we need.

Too much time trying to force out content instead of enjoying being able to create content.

Yeah, sometimes I feel like a content automaton producer. You said it right, I force content out when it doesn't want to come out.

Good luck getting out of this phase Niall. Just be glad to the thought that after such a period usually follows a very prolific one.

Good thoughts brother. Its ok to ebb and flow a bit. Take a break, whats reality anyways. Our little reality here, the grinding we do to try and set ourselves up. Lets keep it going, rockin strong, singing this song.

!LOL

I wasn’t originally going to get a brain transplant
but then I changed my mind.

Credit: marshmellowman
@niallon11, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @captainquack22
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/6)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@marvinix(1/5) tipped @niallon11 (x1)

Join us in Discord!