What I've learned, so far, by doing #HiveBloPoMo

in The City of Neoxian3 years ago (edited)

If you follow me read my posts, you'll know that I've been participating in Hive Blog Posting Month that @traciyork hosts twice a year.


I always begin with grand intentions and then life gets away from me. Although, I will admit, that I was a little concerned about this month as things had begun to get really busy in 3D life after a busy stressful October. When I committed to the April edition, I was doing really well (partly thanks to lockdown and more than the odd rant about Covid) until, well, I had to find a new host and rebuild my WordPress site. It's more than just a blog, it's also a virtual CV. Although I was sorry to let Traci down, I do know that she understands, only too well, how unforeseen circumstances derail things.

So, come November, I thought I'd give it a go. Again. I had succeeded once before - on that other iteration of the blockchain. She even graciously added a week because, well, I was on a roll. There was a second reason: I confess I'm a dedicated Instagrammer. That meant, potentially, I was not short of material, but how to it from that microblogging platform to the blockchain?

Like my dad, I'm not easily thwarted and, in this instance, the new Dapp @dapplr, with some fancy foot phone work, has made posting from one's phone a lot easier. I developed a few strategies for moving blurb accross the apps.

My self-imposed #hiveblopomo rules

  1. Post using my three favourite Dapps: PeakD, Dapplr and Exxp. The ratio is not important, and depends on the content and the length of post. That's a discussion for another time.
  2. Follow the #hiveblopomo tag using @ginabot.
  3. Check out and comment on some of the posts when I can.
  4. Don't spam. The intention was for each post, in addition to my happy snaps photographs, to have at least one or two semi-sane paragraphs about the visuals.
  5. These would be interspersed with my standard longer posts that take me a day (if not longer) to prepare.

What I've learned from #hiveblopomo

As November draws to a close, I thought it would be useful to reflect on what I've learned.

  1. That if I really put it to work, my brain sort of functions in the quiet between 4 and 6am.
    It's not a time of day I like; I can't function at full capacity. That happens about eight to ten hours later and then, well, as a friend says, it's like, suddenly, the lights go on. Posts that emerge at or before dawn are just a superficial, delayed diary of some of the previous day's food events. Sometimes with a promise of things to come. Like recipes. The list, at the moment, is a figment of my imagination.
    So if you're reading this and I said I'd put something on the list and it's not emerged, please remind me in the comments below.
  2. It would have helped to have had a plan or a schedule.
    I had planned to. That plan went the way of so many. As the time has passed, I have begun drafting and scheduling posts. Thanks to those features on both @peakd and WordPress from which I publish to the blockchain using the @exxp plugin.

But that's not all

Reading and commenting on people's posts often starts conversations; it's how one makes new friends. I've met two through this challenge whom I'd not met before. This post, is to some extent inspired by his rethinking his HiveBloPoMo and specifically his #followmefriday. Of course, I've given it the Fiona treatment and I'm flipping it and introducing both him and another Hivean, both of whom are doing the HiveBloPoMo thing.

@gvkanten is relatively new to Hive, and from Suriname. He and I have had a few interesting discussions about, well, stuff. On top of that, I've learned am learning about Suriname and Curacao.

Then there's @the-bitcoin-dood who has the odd rant, loves riding his bike and has great taste in music. And, of course, as his moniker suggests talks about crypto stuff...

If you've not met them, take a gander over and say hi?

Don't fence me in

I have said, a lot, that I'm not fond of communities. I have an eclectic range of interests, some of which I don't blog about. Politics being one. Life's too short to get wound up about that. And bad wine. But. That doesn't stop me having a political discussion with another blogger because their content is thought provoking. Following tags, enables me to do this - and not just with politics. I gotta do it more. I'm a bit of a slow learner...

I am part of communities and groups, but honestly, because I have stuff that takes me AFK, and because I like the creative process, I lurk and quietly pop in and out.

That said, stop by my blog, we'll virtually break bread and share a glass of something.

Lastly

Thank you, Traci, for all your hard work on and around the blockchain.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma






Post Script

I am doing my best to post every day for November as part of @traciyork's twice yearly #HiveBloPoMo challenge. This is my third attempt. Why not join the fun? Traci's full post is here

Looking for that gift for someone who has everything? Shop with Pearli in my evolving Redbubble shop -


And then there's more:

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts because of this.
  • If you’re interested in a soft entry into the world of crypto currency and monetising WordPress blog, use the fantastic plugin to post directly to the Hive blockchain. Click on the image below to sign up -

Image: @traciyork
  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to the crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click the icon below, and give it a go.

In yet another aspect of my life -

English writing, research and online tutoring services




writing - emails and reports, academic and white papers
formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
more information here


Sort:  

Never having committed to daily posts knowing I won't complete the contest I am impressed at those who do.

Re-establishing your blog, using in tandem with Instagram sorting out links not something I am prepared to take on again. Having done many years ago, now deciding to stick keeping everything as simple as possible, time limited with on-going work behind the scenes and keeping everything up to date becomes a task....

Congratulations to @traciyork on keeping #hiveblopomo running!

Thank you @fionasfavourites, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO / SWAP.COCO) on Steem-Engine or on Hive-Engine to reduce your CO2 footprint. You want to join? Buy some COCO / SWAP.COCO and transfer them to CO2Fund's account @co2fund.

Thank you for mentioning me!
You're one of the main reasons I kept going, one of the first to comment and interact on my posts 😃.
Glad we met

Oh wow! I am glad. And that just confirms everything I said. Likewise, I am glad we met.

Have a good weekend! 😉

Posted using Dapplr

Thanks for the mention! It's been great meeting you here too! The HiveBloPoMo is tough. I've posted everyday this November, but it's hard trying to come up with entertaining or interesting content every day. I have a new respect for people that do it all the time. I'm probably going to take a couple days off come December! 🤣 My brain need a break, but I also think I'll be posting a lot more than I used too.

It has been a challenge and, I admit, days when it was quite a chore. It has been a good discipline, though. Like you I hope to maintain a greater frequency