What Is Neoxian.City?

rtw_loco.jpg

I started the Community Color project way back in 1999 as a way to promote community centered web development. I created the Internet Rivers site as a general use portal.

The sites used to host online forums and calendars for towns in the mountain west. Currently, they just have directories and web site reviews.

I like community focused web development; So, I created the Review the World community and the account @irivers as a place to write web site reviews. The reviews have an RSS Feed which gets picked up by a few news aggregators. I will also use the tag #RTW .

My first idea was to place unsolicited reviews on Internet Rivers and in the Review the World Community. I used the title "An Outsider Look at ..." to emphasize that the reviews were not solicited and were based on the articles and testing of the sites.

When possible, @irivers will hold a conversation about the reviews on the site being reviewed. Since the program moves from site to site, the account does not actively accumulate all the coins. My active token portfolio is on @yintercept. This is a monthly recap.

IMHO, good reviews take a critical look that looks at both good things and bad things about a site. I identify good and bad things with the belief that this approach leads to gradual improvement.

The project was downvoted by a whale and I was placed on the @spaminator list. So, I stopped the project.

I still want to do this project. The reviews bring a trickle of traffic into the Hive-O-Sphere. I antincipate that once the project is up and running, it will bring in about a thousand hits a day. Inbound links tend to elevate web sites on search engines; so the reviews should have a positive effect on the community.

I decided to change the flow of the project. Rather than writing unsolicited reviews with the title "An Outsider Look At ..."; I will start the review process with a post on HIVE asking the question "What Is ...?" which will ask basic questions about a web site. I think this structure will improve the quality of the reviews while appeasing the whales.

The "What is" post will link to a stub for a review. The review will "go live" a week after the stub question. I think I will start with Neoxian City. I decided to start with Neoxian.City because I have yet to figure out what Neoxian City is.

What Is Neoxian City

Neoxian City was one of the very first tribes to appear in the Hive-O-Sphere. Domain Tools shows that the developers registered this name 948 days ago on 2019-07-07.

The tribe supplements HIVE rewards with the NEOXAG token. The token has a circulating supply of 47.843 million coins with a maximum of 42 billion. The site has a well distributed richlist. There's about 240 accounts with over 10,000 NEOXAG and over 1,150 accounts with a thousand tokens. I happen to have 1800 NEOXAG tokens on my personal account.

The token was trading at 0.001 at the time of this review. It would be easy for new users to accumulate mass quantities of the token.

I currently have 1837 NEOXAG. Neoxian.City says the estimated value of my upvote is worth 0.182. Scotbot says that half the rewards go to the author and half to the curator; so I should get 0.09 NEOXAG for my upvote.

I have yet to figure out the niche market for Neoxian.city. My guess is that it is a general interest web site that wants to focus on basic social media posts.

To be frank. I haven't written posts for Neoxian.City because I have yet to figure out what type of content the developers of the tribe want on their site.

I've noticed that many power users on HIVE include the tag #neoxian along with a list of other money making tags on all of their posts.

I consider the act of including tags on a post without actively engaging in the community to be tagspam. Neoxian.city appears to permit this behavior. I placed this post on Neoxian.City. I added the tag #trafficinsider as it is about web traffic and #hive-engine as it is about an HE token.

Sites need to guard against abuse. Scotbot says the site excludes the tags exclude_tags steemhunt, sct, zzan, dlike, and actifit. Scotbot says the tribe employs muting. The token enabled account muting. This might be the mute list.

I would love to know what type of things the tribe considers to be abuse. Does the tribe include poltical posts? commercial posts? What does the tribe consider to be spam?

The site doesn't want to be included in actifit posts. Does the tribe dislike chatter about sports? or is the exclusion because the actifit site does not encourage participation in the different tribes.

Tribes need to actively promote themselves to compete in the Hive-O-Sphere. Tribes often have contests and special awards for users. What things can new users do to establish themselves on Neoxian.city?

Are there any community posts that users should read before engaging the tribe or is their a white paper describing the goals of the tribe? Are there any important links that I should include in the review. I am targeting the reviews to new users.

Feel free to drop comments about Neoxian.city or the RTW project. I will probably answer with my personal account @yintercept.

This is the stub for the review. I target the review for new users and hope that reviews help bring new users to the platform.

Sort:  

51 users are a few. Maybe when the city will be more populated, all posts could be examined for spam !PGM

NEOXAG has one of the best distributed richlist.

The tribe does a good job rewarding new HIVE accounts. I just haven't figured out the niche that the tribe hopes to fulfill.

Maybe when the city will be more populated, all posts could be examined for spam

My experience administering systems is that one has to be aggressive about spam because it is hard to stop once it gets going.

Of course one man's spam is another man's content. This is why I think it is best to define the niche the tribe seeks to fulfill.

Sent 0.1 PGM tokens to @mchero, @irivers

remaining commands 2

Buy and stake 10 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM per day,
100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Congratulations @irivers! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!