Getting Started on the Neoxian City Minetest Server

This past week, while perusing the Neoxian city newspaper I spotted mention of the Minetester job, which sparked my interest, and spotted a nice article by @pravesh0. Minecraft? Well, not exactly – it’s Minetest, a clone of Minecraft. End result, I dropped into the Neoxian discord to learn more. Thus begins my adventure in the Neoxian City Minetest world.

some_cool_builds.png

@rosecane spotted me, and gave me some tips, a tour, and a nice pickaxe, which is greatly appreciated. I had already started a house, but had not gotten vary far at this point. Rosecane took me to a few spots where I could get some pine logs and an undergound cavern to mine up some better ore so could make better tools.

start_of_house.png
some of the cool houses in the area near server spawn

Learning how the travelnet boxes work to teleport around between stations was interesting. I started bouncing around and got promptly lost. It took me about an hour or so to find a houose close to spawn, and was able to find my way back to the house I started building.

Once back, I started a little mining in the mountain behind my house, so I could improve upon the house. Time consuming, yes, and making the adjustment to how Minetest is different from Minecraft. Someone, not sure who now, gifted me two travelnet boxes. If you are reading this, thank you, I really appreciate it.

At somepoint, on my second day, Pravesh0 and @valchiz1 showed up. Pravesh0 set up a travelnet box at my place, and the three of us went mining in a big cavern. At some point, as we worked our way down, I made a bad move and died. And found the ceiling in my house was too low and got stuck. Pravesh0 and Valchiz1 were good sports about it and bailed me out. But still, I was very sorry as I know it inconvenienced them. But they did get a good laugh out of my predicament.

house_phase_2.png
rebuilt the main part of the house

After that escapade and some mining in the deep cavern. I went back to work on my house, first, raising the ceiling on the ground level, then adding a basement, which will be mainly storage and work stuff (furnaces).

house_phase_3.png
House finished, green house to the left

I then added a second floor, relocating my bed to that level, and a nice roof. I found getting stairs in place to be a roof was a bit trickier than in Minecraft, but I did get the hang of it.

green_house.png
My green house for growing wheat and cotton

After finishing the house, I built a green house which is my garden space. I am mainly growing wheat and cotton in there. The first cotton seed I got was from a lonely cotton plant I found while exploring the surface. From that one seed I have a nice bunch of cotton plants, and have saved a few extra seeds in case something goes badly for my farm.

I also did enough exploring to find some papyrus plants, and am farming that so I can make paper, and related items, including a mapping kit.

dungeon.png
An interesting find I stumbled across

Finally, I did some additional exploring on the surface and found a dungeon like place in a remote area. It took me about three days traveling overland to stumble across this spot. It’s an interesting place to visit, and I explored it, but found nothing of value, nor were there any hostile mobs. I did set up a travelnet box there, as a means to get back to my house, and then will swing back to it and continue my explorations.

The Neoxian Minetest community has been very helpful and friendly, and I know I missed a couple of people who have aided me in my starting out on the Neoxian City Minetest server, including the explorer who gave me a nearly complete set of steel armor, which has enabled me to go toe to toe was some of the hostile mobs. (If you are reading this, please ping me in the comments).

That’s about it for my intro to the Neoxian City Community and Minetest. Pretty fun so far, and a good bunch of people on the server. All images are screenshots from the Minetest game.

Thanks for stopping by.

Posted using Neoxian City

Sort:  

wow you did a great job and build a house, farm in no time. Your experience of Minecraft worked here. You are doing great and hopefully, explore many other things as Mr. D is really busy adding mods to our server which are making it more interesting and exciting. Cheers!!!

Posted using Neoxian City

curiosity - how long has this server been up and running?

well, honestly, I joined this in end of October 2022 which was restored by Mr. D once we returned to Discord from Element however, it is older than that as I saw some of the msgs from 2019.
I am still in learning process....... :)

that's a pretty long time. Thanks for the response. Was curious how long it's been around.

I can clearly notice that you are a much better/experienced Minecraft player, the level of organisation you have is impressive. Your mine was neatly organised... you should have seen mine :)

Btw, since you asked the person who gave you those 2 travel boxes and armour was me. consider those as welcome gifts. You are welcome.

I am coming to check your dungeon soon! Keep building and adventuring!!

!LUV
!PIZZA
!HBIT

Posted using Neoxian City

thanks again for all of the help you have given me. Your house as darn nice and well organized, and very impressive.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @thunderjack.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  

It's great to have you on the server.

Posted using Neoxian City

thanks, appreciate it. The community seems like a good bunch of people.

Congratulations @thunderjack! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!