Cycling across the mountains.

in Cycling11 months ago

Do you prefer going up the mountain or coming down?

My grandmother used to tell me she prefers to hike up the mountain instead of down. As a kid I couldn’t believe my ears. How could she say and think such a thing?
Now I get it.

First proper mountain on this trip, in the early evening. 10kilometers up the hill after a long and exhausting day.

There were too many decisions to be made, all of which seemed to be wrong after they were taken. Where to sleep? What to do? Turn around or keep going? Mosquitoes start to show up. I am pissed off at everything and everyone. Why am I even here?

That is my state of mind when I start cycling up.

One turn of the pedals after the other. Listening to music. Lowest gear. My bike is heavy. Around 50kilos, plus me. There is only one way.

Turns followed by straighter parts. On and on. Always wondering what hides behind the next turn.

First crossroad with signs. How much longer until the village? It must be halve way at least, if not I am going to give up.

The sign comes closer. I can read it. No where near halve. But I keep going.

There is a point of resistance, when I pass it, I could keep going forever.

One more turn and I see the whole mountains in front of me. The sky is blue and red. The last sunlight hits the highest peaks, and a full moon is rising huge and pale behind me.
The air is warm and smells of herbs. On my right bushes, trees and rocks. On the other side a steep downhill. I keep my distance. I keep on cycling.

Any thoughts or anger coming up is slowly passing through as I pedal. As if each meter I proceeded is leaving me lighter and calmer. Leaving behind problems I didn’t even know I had.

My hopes to make it in time for the sunset vanish. It doesn’t matter, it is beautiful anyway.

I would have kept going forever like this. But setting up tents in the dark isn’t my favourite thing to do. With the last daylight and the moon shining brighter we put up the tent.

Falling asleep to the sound of frogs singing nearby. Hopefully no other wild animal is going to disturb our sleep.

Facing sunrise. One a beautiful plateau. Between bushes and shrubs. The mountains in front and others in the back and on each side. Forests, rocks and little wildflowers. A fox is barking as we drink coffee and eat some squished croissants from yesterday. A deer listening to the same sounds as us, carefully escaping from one bush to the next. The barking is far away now, the deer gone, we pack up the tent.

Up and down little hills. Trough small villages and wide fields. Sheep are grassing. Pray birds fly in circles. Are they following us?

And after one last stunning view into the valley, we make our way there. Downwards.
The wind is carrying me. It feels like flying. And I am exactly where I am supposed to be. The right time. The right place.
Love.

Without cycling up, there is no flying down. And I couldn’t say which one I enjoy more. One is an achievement, the other one liberation and instant gratification.
When I am not cycling up, I think of doing it again with excitement, until I am there and then I hate myself for doing so. Until the top, where I forget the pain. It feels great. That was awesome. Where is the next mountain to climb?

Thank you all for passing by, and have a wonderful day!

All photos and words are mine, taken and written by me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 80 posts.
Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

💛🐝 Thank you!!

You're a true champion @kesityu.fashion! Keep striving for greatness and you'll reach your Hive goals in no time.

Being at the top, at the peak felt so satisfying after seeing the beautiful view above and seeing the sunrise the next day.

Indeed, always an awesome reward for all the sweat, going up:)

The view above is always the pain and stress reliever from going up hehehe

I am not much into cycling, but hiking, I´d go up the mountain any day, over coming down.

Hiking up is also very awesome, I agree:)

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Nice views! And I totally agree about climbing mountains with a bike.
Here in the Netherlands we don't have any mountains, but I've done some epic climbs in France during my holidays there.
I'm lucky my bike is only 10 kilogramms, not 50 😀

Did you see my 'Show your bicycle' post?
You can join that initiative too if you like. #mybike
@friendlymoose


Upvoted by the Cycling Community
image.png
For all cycling related blogs!

Thank you!!😊
Aah for sure cycling mountains would be difficult in the Netherlands, but going fast and far in the flat is also very enjoyable!
I guess I will cut down the weight, even tough it is hard to decide what to compromise on😅
I will check it out, for sure!

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

what an honour😊🙃

Awesome work @kesityu.fashion 👍

BTW, support and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and may get bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.

Thank you!!
...well you have my vote now🙃