Winding Down

in Archon4 years ago

August 28th, 2020

Clam Gulch Picnic Area


It was a pretty nice Friday, lots of sun, a few clouds, and no rain. In addition to that, dip net fishing season was over, the few tourist we had have moved off since sport fishing is pretty much done with for the season also. So the beaches and picnic areas are back under local control.

This is one of the picnic spots. If I had to choose a place for the picnic this would be my first pick. It has a nice view of Mt Iliamna, and the water, and has some nice shade at the right time of day.
Picnic spot with a view

This spot here is in a more sheltered area, not as much wind. When I turned the corner and saw the clouds I thought this would make a nice picture to share. Summer is winding down, the fire weed has topped out, and that means fall is just around the corner for us.
Sheltered from the Wind

This is a view from the communal, (really big picnic group tables), area. To the left is mount Ilamna, and to the right is Mt Redoubt. Below is the beach with nice view of the large rocks, and the sandy beach. I have a few pictures from down below also, but those will wait for another day.
Beach and Mountain View


All images were taken by me on Friday the 27th of August in the year 2020.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

Lookit all those tree things blocking the view! 🤣😂🤣

Very pretty spot! I like how the natural grasses and flowers aren't trimmed away around the bottoms of the tree and there's a nice divide between the man made path and the beauty of nature.

We really don't have a lot of overly trimmed, groomed and tended areas. They bring the mower in every now and then to keep the growth back from the picnic area but that is pretty much it.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 21 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

Love your photos.

Looks like a very nice place for a picnic !

It would be, and does get pretty busy during the tourist season and fishing/clamming seasons. All of which is pretty much over.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

What a wonderful post, and beautiful pictures!! I live in The Ozarks, or as I like to say, "Lost In The Woods"... but this is certainly a quite magical place...

I'm reminded of the original movie, The Secret Garden

!tip

🎁 Hi @bashadow! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @wesphilbin!

Check out @wesphilbin blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Very lush green. More so than I would have thought.

Congratulations @bashadow! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Looks so relaxing and cool now that fall is approaching. I forgot you live close to Happy Valley area? I have a cousin that lives in the Anchorage area.. not too too far from you when you consider how BIG Alaska is. That last shot is quite the shot. Love those big boulders! Maybe an eruption tossed them there? haha.

Pretty close to Happy Valley, although I have yet to learn why they call it Happy Valley, seems like it can be sunny north and south of there and raining or foggy at Happy Valley.

It is a big state, last time I was in Anchorage was almost 3 years ago I think. I don't like large cities very much.

I agree with ya. I hate and love the "city" at the same time. Not sure I want to live in one yet, but like all the sights and sounds (when they are not looting or rioting that is). We live smack dab in the middle of New York City, Philadelphia, and Baltimore. Lots of city within driving distance. I prefer the mountains and the beach over the noise and yelling any day.