Celebrating 16 Years of Blissful Marriage

in Daily Bloglast year (edited)


E7465FCA-F250-49E7-B60C-BF9AEFCC66A3.png

Hey there! Y’all know every year I have to give a shoutout to Us. My husband and I have been holding it down for 16 long years and we have no regrets.

It’s not always blissful with painted hearts and shooting stars but our marriage is a blessing and it’s worth nourishing and fighting for.

For a long time I used to get frustrated when we couldn’t plan events or outings to celebrate every year. I felt like this was an occasion that deserves special attention and fancy reservations.

It does deserve attention but it doesn’t have to always be extravagant or deluxe.

As a couple in their forties we have grown to realize just waking up another day being able to see one another and call each other husband and wife is a celebration in itself. Just acknowledging the blessing of being together for so long is enough for me.

So what did we do?

We sent the kids to my sister’s house and went to grab our favorite tacos! 😆😋

You’d think we were going to a five star restaurant with how excited and anticipated we were lol.

We just had a Tacos 4 Life open in our area and I’m telling you, these are the best tacos we have ever tasted hands down.

They use these puffy taco shells that are not too hard, not too soft but just right with a gentle crisp. They don’t use store bought packaged stuff but make their own food using their own ingredients which gives it that fresh home cooked taste.

The great thing about eating here is that for every meal we purchase a hungry child is also given a meal. Their goal is to end world hunger and it’s amazing being able to help with that by enjoying their delicious food. You can also give donations to help further the cause.

We both ordered the two taco meal and chose the paradise punch drink…it’s so refreshing with the pineapple juice added in there. I had a classic beef taco along with a chicken bacon ranch taco. I love the classic beef because it tastes like a chalupa. The chicken bacon ranch taco has so much flavor with an extra crunch.

We both had a side of Mexican creamed corn. I don’t want corn any other way now. 😄


26BBA4AB-8BAF-40B7-AB42-4657C878CB0B.jpeg

My husband also had a bacon chicken ranch taco as well as a fried shrimp one. 😲👀

Y’all, I seriously thought about grabbing one of his shrimps when he wasn’t looking. I kid you not it looked sooo good! He knows I’m a food thief so he keeps a close watch on me when he knows I think his food looks good. 😝

It’s been like this for years. He’ll tell me what he’s ordering and I’m like

Yea but this sounds better.

Then when his food comes out I’m drooling over it. Of course he’s like

Nope, you should have listened.

😳😑😠😂

Eventually he breaks and lets me tastes some. 🤪

He said the shrimp taco is now his fav!!

Before going to eat we binged watched one of our favorite shows right now…Leverage: Redemption.

This is Us, it’s what we do and we enjoy it.

Oh and after we picked the kids up we went to the grocery store to pick up some ice cream, cones and toppings. We think it’s a good thing to involve our kids in the celebration in some way. It’s a good example to them to how a marriage and family unit should run and we hope it encourages them to also nourish and celebrate their marriages as well.

I do still desire to have a huge celebration on our 20th or 25th. I know ideally people wait for the 25th but I’m like every year is special and we don’t know how long we have here. So…why not do it sooner?!

Alright I’m gonna head on off to fix a big breakfast for my family now. 😊

Thank you Lord for 16 years of living life with my best friend ~


Thanks for Tuning in! 💓
Sort:  

As a couple in their forties we have grown to realize just waking up another day being able to see one another and call each other husband and wife is a celebration in itself. Just acknowledging the blessing of being together for so long is enough for me.

This is so beautiful and after sixteen years, congrats!

That's hilarious about the delicious looking tacos. I could picture the whole scene. 😂
I really like your balanced way of seeing the world. This comes across in all your posts.

I'm really happy for you both 💖

Thank you so much @nineclaws! 🤗☺️

Hahaha oh it was so hilarious. My tacos were sitting right in front of me but yet I was contemplating on how to get a taste of his. 😆

What a nice comment, I always appreciate and admire your thoughts. Thank you always ~ 💓

You're welcome! 😊❤️🤗 I'm the same as you when it comes to food and sneaking bits off of a partner's plate, so it made me laugh. Besides, it's cute and sweet.

😂😄🤗

 last year  

Happy anniversary to you and your husband! How good it must be to share so much time with someone and choose to be every day, it is something very special. This simple celebration looks super delicious, I love tacos. Food will always be a great companion to happy moments.

Thanks for sharing your nice day on Daily Blog, have a great week Crosheille ❣️✨❤️.

Thanks so much Laura! I agree that food will always be a good companion to happy moments. Especially tacos!!! 😄

It’s always a pleasure sharing here. I hope you have a great week as well ~ ❤️

Feliz 16 years! We just celebrated 16 in June and I think we also went for tacos! Ha! Your tacos look amazing though. Really sounds like cool place to support as well! Here's to many more years together!
You're right - every year is special, so might as well do a big one at 20! And then again at 25! 😉 My parents will celebrate 50 years next Aug and both of them will turn 70 next year (May and June). I'm wondering if they're going to have a big celebration. I think they did a big party at 40 years.

Happy 16 years to you too! Really?! Oh wow that's awesome you also did tacos. 😆😃

Yes, many more years for you all as well.

Lol right! Why not do every five years?! Seven is my favorite number we may just do one next year for the big 17 (probably not 😅).

Oh my gosh what a blessing. 50 years, how beautiful that is!! I wish all the best and many blessings to them.

Just acknowledging the blessing of being together for so long is enough for me.

You are a perfect woman. I hope your togetherness and understanding will continue for many more years. Thinking like you is maturity, which not everyone has.

Also, the food looks amazing I wish we could come and eat there with my boyfriend.

Awww thanks so much for this sweet comment. I'm far from perfect but have learned a thing or two along the way about being content and satisfied with my blessings ☺️. It definitely took me some time to get here but it sure is much more peaceful and freeing once you do.

If you ever get a Tacos 4 Life in your area I recommend it for sure. 😉

Thanks again for visiting and for leaving your nice comment ~

you are welcome🌸🌸

Happy 16 years marriage anniversary!!! I wish you both all the happiness in the world and many happy years together.
Being together for so many years deserves congratulations. It is possible to see respect and love for each other in your writing. As someone who has also taken a step toward marriage, I was happy to read it.
Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much! What a sweet and thoughtful comment. So glad you were happy to read.

I really appreciate your visit ~ 😊

Happy 16 marriage anniversary to you and your husband, I wish you more success in you marriage and long life

Happy 16 years anniversary, it is really worth celebrating @crosheille and I wish more and more to celebrate with your husband.

Thank you!!! ☺️

Wow
Happy 16 years marriage anniversary to you both. You guys have come a long way, I am still a baby on this 😂

I love the way you sent the kids to your sister's house and grabbed the tacos all by yourselves without any form of distractions ☺️...this is nice, my 8years marriage anniversary is coming up soon this December and I am thinking of adopting this your style ma .. lolz

But the way the tacos looks so inviting 😋😋....I feel the romantic stay over there...the food thieving and all of that .. hahaha 😂
Soooo niceee

It's obvious you guys had a great moment celebrating 🎉🥳🎉...nice you included the kids at last...a good way of teaching them how marriage should look like.

The great thing about eating here is that for every meal we purchase a hungry child is also given a meal.

This is a great way of feeding the hungry and I love it 👌

Thanks for sharing your story with us ma
Much appreciated 🥰

Enjoy your day 👍🥰👏👏

Thank you @nkemakonam89! It was super nice not to have any distractions and just focus on us. That's so cool you're thinking about trying it this way, I'm sure you'll enjoy it! 😃😉

Yes we are glad we saved the dessert treat to share with our kids. It was truly a great night.

Thanks for much for another lovely comment ~ 🤗💓

It's a pleasure 😘

It’s not always blissful with painted hearts and shooting stars but our marriage is a blessing and it’s worth nourishing and fighting for.

This just melted my heart. No marriage is perfect at all. And just like they say, marriage isn't a bed of roses but what matters most is that the two hearts connect with each other all the time and stick together through the waves.

Happy 16th year marriage anniversary to you and yours. I want to also get to look at my husband in 16 years time and appreciate our times together. So with that being said, I want to tap into this blessing of your marriage, to have and to hold till death do us part.

Yes!!! It's that exactly. Sticking together through the waves.

Thank you so much. I pray for both of you to have many long years to enjoy together and cherish each moment the Lord provides you with ~ ❤️

Thank you so much. I pray for both of you to have many long years to enjoy together and cherish each moment the Lord provides you with ~ ❤️

Amen and amen. Thank you for this prayer

Absolutely ~