A Post Thanksgiving Pop In

in Daily Bloglast year


IMG_8167.jpg

paw divider transparent.png


Phew! I just sat down for a bit of a breather before I get back at it, and I just couldn't help but share what's been going on around the farm for the past three days.

Today marks the third day in a row that I am having a feast/party at my house, so yep, I have been a little bit beyond busy!

For Wednesday night, which was game night, we mixed things up a bit and had a finger food fete of snacktastical proportions. There were grape jelly/BBQ sauce slathered meatballs, banana cake with almond frosting, Muddy Buddies, beef taco dip, root beer floats, veggie trays, and marshmallow popcorn bars infused with M&M's. One batch even had chunks of spicy Doritos in them! It was a feastival and trash-talking gathering of fun times!

paw divider transparent.png

Then, the following day was Thanksgiving, and in these parts we do Fun Family Feast. Since my son's birthday falls right around or on Thanksgiving depending on the year, for many years I would wear myself ragged trying to do a traditional Thanksgiving day feast and his birthday party. A few years ago I vetoed that schedule and instituted the FFF. We all pick our favorite dishes and eat them while playing games and watching movies.

IMG_8165.jpg

The menu this year was pretty eclectic. There was chicken chow mein, fried chicken wings, redneck egg rolls (mashed potatoes, hamburger gravy, and cheese wrapped in an egg roll and deep fried), cheesy bread, and my contribution, chicken parmesan sliders. Some years we buy food and reheat it if we are really tired, but this year we made it a family fun time and cooked it all from scratch.

IMG_8169.jpg

To top off a fine bit of celebratory food eating, we tied our chore sled to a tow strap behind our old Toyota pickup and did our Thanksgiving evening chores in style: My husband towed us like a mad man around the farm! I only got launched once on a particularly spectacular corner drift, but no worries, I wore LOTS of layers so the only noise I made was laughter as I cartwheeled across the driveway.

IMG_8179.jpg

And today, well, today is my son's birthday party. His birthday isn't until Tuesday, but with it being Thanksgiving break from school, we decided to have the party today. Right now he and a few of his buddies are out playing a game on my kitchen table that is a combo of Risk, Axis & Allies, and Diplomacy that one of his pals made. They are also planning on a few hour airsoft war, a bonfire, and a ton of console gaming.

And eating, because yes, once again I am in the midst of making a TON of food.

paw divider transparent.png

Already this morning I have prepped several pounds of taco meat, as I asked the half of the basketball team that was here last week what they wanted at the party.

"Tacos and Pizza," was the reply I got.

"Pieces of cake." was my response in return.

Aside from the taco meat, I also baked and frosted red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, and am currently resting for a few minutes while my pizza dough rises. The boys also have tons of pop, candy, and chips because you know, it's a teenage boy's birthday party.

So yep, things are pretty festive around here! I also managed to squeeze in an awesome activity Wednesday thanks to our early snowfall, a thing which I will post about soon.

IMG_8183.jpg

But for now, I'm up to my armpits in celebratory prep. I mean, I am quite literally dusted in powdered sugar and flour as I type this, and after I get the pizza baked and the taco fixins all laid out for the heathens, I think I might....stop...

But while at rest I can guarantee you there will be a smile on my face, because celebrating holidays, birthdays, and good friendships is just the best thing ever!


paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's probably as sweet as the cream cheese frosting based on the amount of powdered sugar coating it has on it iPhone.


Sort:  

Whoa! And I thought surviving just Thursday was a big deal... Glad everyone is having a great time!

Well, one day would have been more than enough for me, but after five days in a row of parties and socializing, I am definitely ready for a breather. So of course the butcher is coming tomorrow (today, I typed this up last night and it didn't post lol!) for our steer....weeee!

Hope you had a glorious Thanksgiving and weekend!

!PIZZA

Damn, you guys eat well! You should put hyperlinks in for any recipes that you've shared previously, I'd like to try some of those treats, particularly the "redneck egg rolls." I made Mediterranean meatballs for Thanksgiving "dinner" (it was more like a late-afternoon buffet), those are always a hit. I'll share that recipe eventually. Can't stay too long, need to finish lunch and go back out hunting!

LOL! Food just might be my all time favorite thing, and I will definitely whip up some posts for those egg rolls and the sliders too, and YES! pretty, pretty please someday post the Med. Meatballs if you haven't yet already?! Those sound absolutely divine!

Hope you bagged a creature, I gotta jet too, the butcher is here for my steer...

!PIZZA

What a feast!!! I want you to be my mommy!!! Okay, impossible, but, I am always up for adoption!

What fun, Kat! @generikat No lie! I always think I am too busy, days on end that never stop, and then I read YOU and decide I'll stop whining! :) I love the way you pull together the festival of fun with birthdays! :) They are the best.

Was that you in the picture being pulled around like the goddess that you are? How fun! We used to hitch on the back of the bumper all in a line and call it skitching. :)

Love you! You are so fun!

Ooh! I am one of those the more the merrier when it comes to family, so bring on the adoption papers!! LOL LOL!

Your replies always make me feel like I am not half exhausted and I somewhat have it together, I swear the reality is often a bit of a swirling mess, so big thank you hugs from me!

And that particular picture was of my daughter getting hurled about. Thankfully no one took a pic of me, I often look like a ten year old in my snow gear and the hubs cartwheeled me out of the sled when he drifted around a corner at about thirty mph. (I loved it lol!)

Love you too, sorry I am so slow, it's been a bit of a internet connection hoopla for the last few days round here!)

!PIZZA

Novworries, woman. I'm so behind that I would be that last one to judge anyone!!

Your comment are the absolute best!!

Okay, I have nothing clever to say, only that your comments always make me 😊

Hope the day is treating you beyond swell madame awesome!

!PIZZA

Hey, Sweet Friend,

What a spectacular Thanksgiving you guys have had! The sledding reminds me of a Christmas quite a few years back at my brother's in NH... Getting towed behind his SUV round and round his house in the big woods.😆

Thanks for stopping by to see my covid vaccine article; if you have any suggestions for improvement, I'm all ears. My hope for that piece is that folks I love and worry about will not be offended but rather galvanized to remedial action...

Blessings!🙏😁😍

😄😇😉

@creatr

Hi!!! I have missed you! And your Bro's house sounds like a fun kinda place to hang out lol!

I really enjoyed reading your vaccine post, and fully intend to comment on it, it's just been a bit crazy round here. I'll get over that way soon😊

Hope you all had the bestest Thanksgiving!

!PIZZA

Wow!

Two sweet comments from my far northern friend on the same day!

I am blessed beyond measure!😀

Yah, the world has gone totally nutso, but we have our families and hope for the future nonetheless. I only hope and pray that someone(s) I care about might find my vaccine post helpful. I have been so very angry about it all, watching people I love being deceived and physically wrecked by that evil... You should have seen the first draft of that post... no, you wouldn't have like it. I toned it down a LOT so as not to be off-putting.

Just the anticipation that you'll comment there has me smiling; but no rush, I know you're a busy gal!😇😍👍

😄😇😉

@creatr

Hmmmm..the foods looks so yummy and that snow is really amazing, wish I can try to stay a place where theres a snow.

Snow, while cold and sometimes inconvenient, is super lovely. Sometimes we have snow here from November through May, and based on how much it is snowing outside right now, I think this could be one of those years.

That said, I hope you get to experience some snow one day soon, it's super fun to play in😊

Thanks for stopping by!
!PIZZA

Wow, all the food looks spectacular and the pictures are beautiful. I hope your son has a great birthday! <3

Aww, thank you so, so much for all the kind words😊 My son had a great birthday, and I hope that you have an incredible day!

!PIZZA

Thank you and have a great day!

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
generikat tipped goldenoakfarm (x1)
generikat tipped creatr (x1)
generikat tipped mitch18 (x1)
generikat tipped rosylisboa (x1)
generikat tipped steampunkkaja (x1)
@generikat(3/15) tipped @dswigle (x2)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!