EXPERIENCING ARCHITECTURE - Built Environments and Architectural Settings that have a Tremendous and Beneficial Impact on My Mental, Emotional, Sensual, and Spiritual Well-being

I was born in an environment where almost everything is in its minimal state. The kitchen, the dining room, the living room, the terrace, the bedroom, the backyard are all minimal in content, design, and style. It has a huge contribution to the foundation of my mental, emotional, sensual, and spiritual well-being. To give you an idea of how minimal, I am a farmer's son (just imagine how a farmer's house would be that is situated in a rural area dominated by rice farms, trees, and green grasses).

When I was in 2nd Grade (Elementary) I have to travel for about an hour to the town proper to study (together with my two elder siblings). Not just study, I have to live in a "Boarding House" for five days (Monday to Friday). And every time I went back home I got this happy feeling that makes me so alive just by seeing our house and a feeling of comfort whenever I enter inside and also a feeling of being free when I roam around outside the house.

We knew that humans always have some kind of attachment to the things around them (machines, buildings, places, things, etc.). A good example is an owner's relationship with his car (wives and girlfriends sometimes are jealous of their husbands and boyfriends because they are spending a lot of time on their car). Another example is a soldier's relationship to his rifle (soldiers consider their rifle as their wife), how do I know? I am actually an Air Force Reservist through ROTC (Reserve Officer Training Course). I spent a week inside an Army Camp as a part of my ROTC training and I learned a lot about the military culture.

I, as a human being, also have my own connections to the Built Environments or Architectural Settings that have a tremendous and beneficial impact on my mental, emotional, sensual, or spiritual well-being, below are some of them.

A green, neat, peaceful, and minimal backyard

czechrepublic292592_1920.jpg

I love this kind of backyard, simple, quiet, green, neat, and makes me relaxed
Backyard image is from Pixabay by David Mark

I love a green, neat, peaceful, relaxing, and minimal backyard. This kind of built environment makes my mind clear of anything that is absorbed in urban settings. It relieves my stress, clears my mind, makes me think of nothing while adoring the peaceful and quiet ambiance it has to offer thus strengthening my emotional and mental well-being by clearing my mind of negative thoughts and relieving my stress.

When I am around this kind of environment I tend to sit in it or lie down under the shade of a tree then let my body inhale the fresh air, hear the chirping of the birds, feel the soft breeze of air coming from its surroundings then I would sleep as long as I can. Having a coffee early in the morning is also a great experience to have in this kind of environment to begin your day.

A spacious, clean, minimal, and well-ventilated kitchen

kitchen2165756_1920.jpg

I love a spacious kitchen where I can move freely thus lessening the stress of cooking
Kitchen image is from Pixabay by Skitterphoto

I love a spacious and well-ventilated kitchen where I can freely move around while cooking. I can use the space to put all my ingredients in order thus makes cooking less stressful. I also like a kitchen wherein the sunlight from the sunrise is entering the kitchen early in the morning. This kind of architecture design helps my mental well-being ready for the rest of the day.

I felt like cooking in this kind of architectural setting is a form of exercise since I get to walk around while cooking thus making my brain and my body firing on all cylinders thus making me mentally ready for the rest of the day.

Also, I have this great feeling that I get to experience while cooking just as the sunlight from the sunrise is peeking on the kitchen's window. Who doesn't like to feel the sunlight from the sunrise? Eh, everybody likes it.

A peaceful and quite bedroom

bed1839184_1920.jpg

While the backyard and the kitchen have a positive effect on my mental and emotional well-being. The bedroom is the place that has an impact on my sensual and spiritual well-being because of the privacy that it can offer. The bedroom also has an impact on my mental and emotional well-being.

Inside the bedroom is where I usually pray before I go to sleep. Praying makes my spiritual well-being closer to God since I got to ask Him my needs and ask forgiveness for my trespasses.

Sensuality is mostly related to a private place and the bedroom is one of them. Sensuality for me is also a private matter so I cannot share details with you guys, wink! wink! I can only say that the bedroom has a significant impact on my sensual well-being.

So, there you have it guys, those are the Built Environments and Architectural Settings that have a tremendous and beneficial impact on my mental, emotional, sensual, or spiritual well-being

But before I end this article below is my opinion, solution, and recommendation on improving and reinforcing our human relationships with the world of architecture

My opinion, solution, and recommendation on improving and reinforcing our human relationships with the world of architecture

In the world of architecture, ideas are limitless. Almost every day new ideas are emerging. To reinforce our relationship with the world of architecture we have to acknowledge and love the tremendous and positive impact that architecture has done on us mentally, emotionally, sensually, and spiritually.

Architecture gave us the Built Environments and Architectural Settings that we want thus making us happy (emotionally, mentally, sensually, and spiritually happy).

We can further make our relationship better with the world of architecture by making Built Environments and Architectural Settings "Earth Friendly". A happy Earth is tantamount to happy humanity since we will not be contributing to the destruction of mother Earth by making Built Environments or Architectural Settings "Earth Friendly".



I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father, and a husband.


Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hello @afterglow! We’re happy to receive your entry to the second A+D Community Contest entitled “Experiencing Architecture”! An Earth-friendly setting for your architectural space complements your desired inclination for spacious, green, and minimalistic environments. Thank you for your participation!

You"re welcome. It's a very enjoyable experience sharing my thoughts to the community.

Your choice for an Earth-friendly built environment that’s uncluttered (minimalistic), green, spacious, and peaceful to the human senses has many long term benefits! Thank you for your entry to the second contest of the Architecture+Design Community entitled “Experiencing Architecture”! All the best @afterglow!

You're welcome.

Congratulations @afterglow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you.

You're welcome @afterglow, thank you for your daily involvement on this platform!