Building a 70 Foot Tall Tower - Phase 1

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)

Like I said before, my husband is an architect and really likes towers. You can see my post about it here. The white tower project, however, was different than the container towers in many ways.

As I am not an architect and can't visualize what my husband can, I am not good at describing the process! Ha! At times he would tell me his plan and I would tell him he was crazy. I hope these photos explain the process better than I can!

The white tower was planned to be much larger than the others - a tower visible from miles around. It would stand 70 feet from its base, about 100 feet from road level.

The base of the tower was constructed first. It was made of stone and concrete, a firm foundation. It was built behind our home on some old huge rocks that will keep it steady.


The view of our volcano, Baru, from where the tower will stand.

The next part to be constructed out of steel was the top of the tower. It was put together on top of the foundation. Soon, the top of the tower would be raised well above the foundation to receive its resting place high above.

The next part of the tower was the body. It was built on its side in the yard in front of the base. It was made out of steel all welded together.

The plan for the walls of the tower were to use concrete block to construct it. Many, many blocks were needed for this project, as you can see!

We had a crew of about five men working on building the tower. We hired a local construction crew and they did a good job. It was amazing how quickly the top and body came together!

People always asked what the tower was going to be used for...what do you think its purpose is?


Use my referral link to join Ecency and earn points for posting, commenting, voting, and more that you can trade back in for an upvote! So easy - I can usually get at least a $1 upvote twice week, depending on my level of activity!

Sort:  

Nice! I would like to see that finished work, for sure it gonna be great with an amazing view ofc! I think maybe it would carry something.. just guessing. Have a nice day @apanamamama

Thanks for stopping in and the comment! I just posted another part of the tower construction today. Tomorrow I am hoping (or Thursday) to do the final post about the tower. It will hold something...part of it is going to be a water tower. Good job!

I'm sure after this tower is finished. we can see a good view from it.

There are some great views from the top of it! You can see all around for miles and miles! Thanks for stopping in and commenting!