Weekend Staycation : Contemporary Meets Traditional Decor Tigalima Homestay

in Architecture+Design3 years ago (edited)

Homestay and hotel industry are not something new in my radar. These places piqued my interest just as much as coffee shops do. I have stayed in many four to five star places but they are not something that really interests me. Often these places are too business-like with skyscrapers, very modern designs and quite dull. Even the reason I stayed at these places was for business purposes instead of relaxing or enjoying life. But after staying in Bali back in 2018, I realized that a hotel is just more than a place of staying. There are different types of it with different amenities and services offered.

image.png

Growing up being told to never spend too much money on accommodation, I choose to think otherwise. But, I can understand that It all again depends on the reason why we travel. When we know the purpose of why we travel, picking accommodation is going to be easier.

Are you like me who likes to staycation ?

Do you like to stay in the presidential suite, penthouse high above the ground?

Or do you like to enjoy nature?

If you know these answers, picking a place to say shouldn’t be a problem. It narrows down your interest and that way, you get to maximize your experience of staying in the place. As chaotic as I do, I still like to think about the WHY of everything. Why am I staying here, why am I choosing this, and why I travel.

When we are staying at a hotel, the interior and exterior of a hotel are something that tends to get brushed off. As long as the place is “nice” people are often satisfied. But, let me take you to be more observant. To appreciate little things in life and to let your mind wander into a new territory. I am not an architect but I enjoy experiencing things that architects made. I don’t have a formal education but I attended some informal education on urban design, environmental friendly design, and historical buildings. So, I hope this adds a bit of credibility into what I write.

This post will be talking about my experience staying in a place where a contemporary meets traditional decor and a place that doesn’t market themselves as having the Bali feels or vibe.

image.png

The Bali vibes refers to a place where the place has palm trees with a swimming pool and sunlounger decorated with frangipani flowers. The room interior itself is often dominated by wood with carving that is ethnically Bali. Though based on my experience, Bali vibes marker is the swimming pool with sunlounger and frangipani flower.

In Yogyakarta, just an hour by flight from Bali, there are some places that are marketed that way. Some places are said to have the Bali vibes. Though locally, this province has its own appeal that is different from Bali.

In the span of 4 years, I noticed quite a trend where there are growing demands of staycation places. In the past, homestay and hostels were considered a cheap place to stay and someone who is looking for some kind of social status will be reluctant to stay in such a place. However, since last year, there are growing numbers of homestays and hotels offering swimming pools. There is also a growing trend in Indonesia by naming the place as “ X place feels like Bali”. I call bullshit on this trend. Each place in Indonesia has its own unique local culture and its own long history. Surely, Bali is more famous than any other places in Indonesia but that doesn’t mean every establishment, homestays, or even coffee shops have to be marketed that way.

Nowadays, there are many places that try to revive the traditional decor and incorporate it with contemporary amenities and convenience. Perhaps it is my personal liking but I love to see places that are successful in combining the local culture with a contemporary decor.

image.png

Behind a busy road, there is an alley that takes us to enter a new realm. The front office is a simple place decorated with wooden chairs. In many of the places I visited, the front office isn’t really something that impressed me the most. They are often kept simple with minimalistic interior or exterior yet still attempting to bring the image of the place.

image.png

Before the staff was taking me inside my room, I was greeted by the sunlounger and also a swimming pool. I suppose, even this place could make it into the Bali vibes as it has some of the requirements to be called as a place with Bali vibes.

image.png

The room in this place is still using a manual key instead of the card modern key. For some people this can be seen as dated but to me, this is okay. The naming of the place is also based on islands in Indonesia which is quite interesting.

image.png

Entering the room, it feels like entering a cottage somewhere in the middle of an Indonesian village. They attempted to decor the room as traditionally as possible which I think is quite successful.

Though to be honest, this is one of the places that I don’t feel strongly about. I like it but I also can’t find a way to describe my stay here in more passionate way.

image.png

When I refer to contemporary, I basically mentioned its amenities that includes AC, hot water, and also the TV screen. It would be much better if the place doesn’t offer these as it would be another selling point of this homestay.

image.png

The public area decor is one of a kind. Unfortunately, it is not used quite often but it looks pretty good during the evening.

The ceiling is decorated with a bamboo lamp that makes a noise when the wind blows through it. It was so serene and melodious to hear the sound made from the bamboo. Whoever designed this common area with the bamboo is brilliant. Although surely I still miss the strong “ concept” of this place.

A place with a proper concept is always more appealing than a place without a concept as we can expect something from it. There are many places in town where I browsed but don’t really care about their place concept. As long as it is a good place for sleeping, they seem to be OK with it. Although from the business perspective, it would be better if the place has a strong concept.

image.png

Another thing that I like in this place is the chairs around the area. When there aren’t many visitors, this place feels homey and makes me feel like I am sitting in my own garden. This place also does a good job with surrounding its environment with greenery, which is something that I enjoy the most.

image.png

Finally though, I have mixed reviews about this place. At some point I like the place but some,I don’t like it. The concept isn’t strong enough for me to come to like this place that much. It is still a great place to escape the bustling of the city. And also learn about a flaws of contemporary meets traditional decor.

image.png

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

I'm feeling the "Bali vibes" from your post. You captured the the atmosphere very well.

It's a very beautiful place, and for someone like me would be a nice place to visit for a vacation, but only if I am enjoying it with someone else, otherwise it would not have much appeal to me, unless maybe the staff didn't have much to do and wanted to hang out with me and talk about crypto and philosophy of life all day long :D
I'm more of a cabin in the woods kind of person.

Great post, and very well written! I hope you have been doing well :)

Yes, I thought about having someone else in that trip is gonna make it fun. Many places I visited with that kind of vibes usually either have a) a chatty staff or b) totally absent staff. I was planning to visit the cabin in the woods type of place but they're all booked and quite pricey too. These type of thing is always beyond my budget 😅 I'd be happy if I ever got to visit one.

How did I know you're a cabin in the woods kind of girl ;)

Everything is pricey, we just have to go make our own cabin where they can't find us :D

A warm welcome @macchiata to the Architecture+Design Community. Yes, you're right. What's the use of checking-in luxurious hotels if your primary reason for booking it is just to sleep there, isn't it? Unless, of course, if you're a business traveler who holds events, meetings, or conventions in the same establishment, then that would be more appropriate.

On the other hand, if you're a serious traveler whose purpose is solely for tourism, then staycation places, holistay (a wordplay of holiday and stay) accommodations, or other budget-friendly hotels would be enough. In fact, some of these landmarks possess architectural designs that are equally comparable to their more sophisticated counterparts. It merely depends on the Architects and Designers to come up with expensive-looking aesthetics yet are actually cheap materials that improve the building's face value.

As always, the choice of these hotels is subjective. And although you had mixed reactions to this post's featured built environment, we try to aim for essential practicality. As long as the hospitality architecture has executed its job in offering you a comfortable experience and ROI for your money, that's what matters.

I have been meaning to write a post in this community for a while. About a week ago, I stayed at a mezzanine room which is getting more and more popular in Indonesia. I personally wanted to design my house like that which is the reason I try to stay in some of them. This was my article on Mezzanine room. I am quite fascinated by it because it seems like that arrangement is best to create more space and gives a spacious feeling in a small room.

I find some expensive hotels here are quite dull and without a characteristic. So, I am always on the lookout of a hotel/homestays/hostels with a cool concept because these places often gives me inspiration to be more creative while also learning what people like/dislike when it comes to this industry. And I suppose, you are right, some people design their place for essential practically instead of its the aesthetic ones.

I can't wait to learn more about genius loci and also share my experience whilst visiting the hindu and buddhist ancient temple around the city. Happy weekend!

It's always beneficial to be aware of first-hand experiences of such places, as they become stepping stones or learning curves towards a much better architecture. I'm also excited to immerse myself in your story about Genius Loci and its profound effects on your city temples. Have a relaxing weekend!

I also feel why every hotel or restaurant selling the name ‘bali’ when they have the area well enough to eksplore isn’t?
Thanks for share about your hotel for a staycation. I wish I could also staycation in the period of this pandemic.

hahaha yeah. I know that many places in Bali are quite aesthetic but it's better to explore the local wisdom and culture to create something new and unique. I think you can do staycation just around your house. To give you a motivation, that place is actually 10 minutes from my room :D. I generally don't go that far for a staycation. Perhaps I am just fortunate to have these places nearby too. Is there any nearby homestays or hotel in your area?

My house is very far from the hotel for a staycation, a lot of the hotel that provides the services of prostitution. To get a sense of comfort for a staycation, I have to spend a lot of money :D

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

very cute place

That one is indeed a cute place!

I agree with you @macchiata. The feels of the place should represent itself not the other places, and having a strong and unique concept is a plus (because it adds curiosity to visitors). I like how you capture each space of the place. The vibe really feels like you're in your own yard. I specifically love the bamboo feature!

The bamboo decor in that place was something unique. This whole place has a different ambient during the night vs the day. I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights in this place and I didn't want to leave. Unfortunately, when I was trying to book the place again, no room was available. Here's the place view during the night

image.png

I think that visiting any hotels and homestays these days will make it feel like, you're in your own yard and place. It's so empty as traveling is increasingly becoming more and more expensive with so many rules and regulations. Thanks for checking out my post too!

Honestly, I prefer the same as you. Generally five star, super fancy hotels are tremendously boring. This place in Bali is charming, cozy, inviting and relaxing. Every corner seems to be enchanted, I loved it! Great pictures!

Yep, though there is fancy feels to it but I prefer something more simple but cozy hostels.

 3 years ago  

Well done @macchiata! We're happy to inform you that this publication was specially curated and awarded GOLD MARK in Architecture Brew #43. Congratulations!

AB CURATION BANNER - GOLD MARK - V3.jpg

Subscribe to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive blockchain.