Interior Design - Mothers Day

img_0.5986126985100733.jpg

Good day everyone I hope you're all having a wonderful day and enjoying the start of the week. Today I thought I would opt for something a little different from the normal architecture and design of Australian buildings and share with you my future interior designer in training little miss.

I was impressed by her this mother's day and it is the first time we have ever focused on having decorations and things inside the house for an event. Not that we've never tried just that we've never known what to do and what we've tried has never come out looking all that great.

Enter lil miss, she is 4 and already has an eye for beauty. Let's be honest about a few things. Events are always really good at home but the focus point is food. I always do a big cook up and great food. My weakness is interior design though, I can design buildings and functionality and looks but that is easy. You just start with your lifestyle, what you need and what will fit you and build from there.

There is also alot of examples out in nature, depending on where you're building you can take inspiration from it but that's where my skills end. Even picking my interior design of the house we're building was a challenge for me. I went white and light colours because it's an easy default that makes everything look bigger.

img_0.46373606124705247.jpg

But I was surprised by the something lil miss made with nothing, she wanted decorations for mothers day but I didn't have anything so I asked her what she thought we should do. She opted for balloons and flowers. The flowers part were easy as I often buy my wife flowers amongst other things for mothers day. But balloons I thought where would we want them?

With her guidance (her telling me what to do) I began blowing up left over balloons we had from her birthday. They were pink, I still wasn't sure where we were going to put all these balloons so I asked her and she said "The chairs silly daddy" I wasn't clear on it but she showed me and asked me to tie them up. I found some pink ribbon we had laying around also from her birthday and began tieing them to the chairs.

I have to admit for a quick job it looked half decent.

img_0.5442534643250151.jpg

Lil miss also chose some really nice pink flowers, over priced as always on mothers day and valentines day. I feel flowers are a waste of money at times but they do look beautiful. The flowers became the central piece and I thought that was it at this stage and went back to cooking.

However lil miss was focused on somewhere to take photos, I offered the usual place at the table and she declined stating we needed flowers. I wasn't sure what to do and then she asked if she could draw them on the wall. I hesitated quickly and Said No. Oh I could not think of anything far worse!

img_0.4907564191247134.jpg

We opted for a photo wall where I just printed a heap of pictures, I spent about 15 minutes with little miss scrolling the internet for flower pictures we could use. She was watching with full concentration where I just wanted to hurry up and move onto the food. But she was enjoying it so I stayed with her and let her lead.

img_0.6785102302433701.jpg

I honestly didn't think it would have come out as good as it did, unfortunately others aren't as good as me with a camera but here is a family shot with the photo wall.

img_0.4678136243061181.jpg

Here's an image I took, looks a little better when you play around with the camera settings to let in abit more natural light. I have to admit all the decorations and colour really looked beautiful and created a really nice space.

Furthermore, I am blown away by the capacity of a 4 year old to actually put so much thought in the development of designing this space. I've tried picking colours and setting things up but always fail as I'm not all that good at it. Seems I needed to have a daughter to teach me how to do it properly.

Interior design is an important part of any architectural design as it provides the finishing touches to a beautiful building, place or space. It's not an easy thing to achieve and there are many examples of beautiful buildings on the outside with alot of work gone into their design. Every square inch built with beauty. But once you walk inside it you can see the artists weakness.

Emptiness as they wait to have a vision of what to achieve on the inside, there may have been attempts at interior decorating but then chopping and changing because it doesn't fit.

It's always safe to go Hugh ceilings, bright colours, whites and minimalism because in itself this provides a vacancy which gives the viewer the opportunity to see what they see.

It is hard to walk into a space that is already decorated and think about what you would do and what you would put where. So keeping it minimal allows a larger portion of people to see spaces in their image.

img_0.4381107532603125.jpg

Little Miss made something from nothing and I wasn't ready for it, when our mums walked in they all commented wow! I love what you did. The truth is I didn't do anything. My partner was also really surprised at lil Miss's efforts. She's really gearing up to be great at whatever she sets her mind to.

I hope she doesn't focus too much on interior design as once our new home is built its going to be costly to constantly switch and change interior spaces. Furniture ain't cheap and neither is what's in current themes.

Ah well, at least I have something exciting to look forward to in the not so distant future. There are still more birthdays to come up and I am keen to see what lil miss has on offer for us!

Happy Monday everyone and I hope you all had a wonderful mothers day.

Sort:  

Wow, Little Miss definitely knows her stuff plus made the celebration of Mother's Day truly special and complete! You already have a talented interior designer in the house (or perhaps a renowned Architect someday) in the person of your adorable 4-year old daughter. She'll surely contribute a great influence as well in the design ideas for your new home. Beautiful family!

Thank you and yes she is doing great! Surprised me and made me do better it was lovely day.

!ENGAGE 15

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Well she did a wonderful job! And what a lovely flowers. Hope you had a great day!

Thank you, she did wonderful ❤ I did and it was awesome watching the smile on my partners face :)

Hope you had a wonderful day too

Happy to hear that! I had a good day too. Visited my mother in law and on friday, we'll visit my own mum for a belated mothers day. I always have a good time with her, so I look forward to that :-)

Thats wonderful to hear and I'm glad you had a great day, mind me asking if you have children? I was going to wish you a happy Mothers day but didn't want to get it wrong and offend 😰

That's considerate! No, I do not have children and I don't think I will ever have them. We both aren't interested in becoming parents and enjoy life the way it is now, just the two of us :-)

Congratulations @melbourneswest! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That is such a beautiful family, Little girl did a great job though. Wish you a happy week :)

Thank you and have a lovely week :)