A colonial home in the heart of 2023, built by a beautiful love

How old is the home where you live?

What messages does its design and architecture bring to you?

Today I want to share with you the architecture of the home of Mrs. Alecia and Mr. Juan Antonio, a beautiful marriage that lasted 40 years. I believe that relationships are designed and built, the architecture of their love left emotional and physical traces.

I love this community because it inspires me to be attentive to the stories of everything around me, be it objects or physical structures.

IMG_20230220_114711.jpg
She is currently 86 years old, he transcended this plane 20 years ago, if he were alive he would be 96 years old.

Visiting my mother-in-law's house is like entering a museum with photos, ornaments, memorabilia, murals. That house is 107 years old.

My mother-in-law was married for 40 years, and if her husband were alive she says they would have been happily married for 60 years.

The impressive thing is how well preserved it is. It is located in the Zona Colonial La Pastora
The Spaniards colonized Venezuela, they entered the city through a large mountain, at the foot of that mountain is La Pastora, urbanization that was created in the 1800s.


GridArt_20230328_223246963.jpg

At the entrance of the house, this information about the historical origin of the Yépez surname is framed. I think it is a nice gesture to honor the family roots.


IMG_20230214_153025.jpg
All of the furniture in that house is approximately 60 years old. The impressive thing is how well maintained they are. This solid wood dining room set


IMG_20230220_115639.jpg

IMG_20230220_114952.jpg

At every family reunion we always take pictures sitting on these stairs, I call them the stairs to taste, because they lead us at both ends to the dining room upstairs and the dining room in front of the kitchen.


IMG-20220831-WA0077.jpg

These stairs are an icon for the family. We have many family pictures sitting on them. The pretty lady you see is my mother-in-law at 86 years old. The others are my brothers-in-law and my love on the left.


IMG_20230220_115547.jpg
Note this ceramic, my mother-in-law has been in that house for 60 years, she says that when they bought it it was already 40 years old, and confirms that they have never replaced it. She says that in that house there were always parties and gatherings of friends and family. That floor has witnessed the dances, the first steps of her children and grandchildren, the first of her children is already 60 years old.


IMG_20230220_115258.jpg
One of the characteristics of colonial houses is that their doors and windows are much taller than those of more modern houses.


IMG_20230220_114938.jpg

IMG_20230220_114913.jpg
Elongated windows like these are part of the internal rooms that are part of the house. This one is located in my mother-in-law's room.


GridArt_20230328_223352510.jpg

This mural is painted on canvas, my mother-in-law tells me that they bought it on a trip to Curaçao. She sold clothes that she bought in the stores in Newyork and Aruba. At least once a year they traveled together. They would leave their children with their mother-in-law.


IMG_20230220_115219.jpg

Another characteristic of colonial houses is that many of their spaces have open, skylight-type ceilings to provide natural lighting for the space.

IMG_20230220_115105.jpg

This bronze saucer has a relief drawing of one of the boats that accompanied Christopher Columbus in the discovery of America.


IMG_20230220_115118.jpg

GridArt_20230328_213200967.jpg

In the garden of the house, located inside the house, there are well-tended plants. I particularly enjoy watering the bushes when I go to visit my mother-in-law. This custom was instilled in me by my father, who loved plants.


IMG_20230220_114750.jpg
This phone is an heirloom, my mother-in-law tells me that her husband acquired it from the telephone company he worked for for about 50 years.


GridArt_20230329_203102881.jpg

Look at the picture I took of 3 photos my mother-in-law has in her room.
The boy is my father in law when he was a child, Mr. Luis, his stepfather and Sram Delfina his dear mother.


IMG_20230220_115312.jpg
Colonial houses used to have a corridor between the main door facing the street and the entrance to the house, this space is called "zaguan".The hallway of the colonial house is designed for people to rest and refresh themselves before entering the house.


GridArt_20230328_105538192.jpg
The house is full of ornaments. Many of them received them as gifts on their wedding day.


GridArt_20230329_232925809.jpg
We are fortunate to have our own personal museum that dates back 100 years. It serves as a meeting place for birthdays, carnivals, Christmas and family weekends.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @irvinc ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Beautiful architecture, really are spaces worthy of contemplating and appreciating; and if enjoyed with family and friends, even better.

Yes @belkisa758 with family is much better. Those walls talk, everything there has history. It is very cool and nice!!!

Thanks for visiting

What a beautiful walk you have given us, my friend
Thank you for your confidence.
A huge virtual hug @mosa71

@emiliorios A walk through the colonial history of Caracas still in force.

Thanks for reading my friend. Another virtual hug for you😘

I love your mother-in-law's house. It is very nice, full of light, history and memories. As you say it is a museum and you are privileged to be there.

@tibaire You just have no idea how much history there is behind the decorations and areas of the house. Those high ceilings are so beautiful

Thanks for reading me 😘😊.

My first years I lived in Puerta de Caracas, in a small room where I saw the world through a window. Recently my brother took me there, the house still exists. My brothers' godparents lived in houses similar to your mother-in-law's, even with an inner courtyard. It is a very nice and human architecture. I'm glad you have the opportunity to be in a place like that. I really enjoyed reading your post, the pictures are great. Thanks for sharing my dear. A big hug from Maracay.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

@irvinc Ahhh imagine that, my friend! So you know this architecture. I tell you that the first time I noticed its charm and difference. They are as you say very family oriented.

Thanks for sharing your experiences and reading me. A friend

Not just design and architecture, but about memory and love. How happy I am to read your writing. have a nice day!

Yes @aswita , memory and love gives meaning to every wall, column, ornament .

She has stories and tales lived with her husband. When I visit her I let her talk and talk and express so many memories.

I admire the legacy of values they left in the family they formed.

Thank you for reading😉😘

Hello @mosa71. Wonderful to see you here again! As the popular saying goes, there's certainly no place like home. And the cherished landmark of your mother-in-law's colonial-style residence is definitely the perfect demonstration of love immersed with historic architecture. All the featured details count because they are truly symbolic of the collective experiences and memories associated with that nostalgic home. Thank you for sharing this intimate milestone with our beloved community! 😊

Hello friend @storiesoferne ! Thanks for appreciating this anecdote. It's a great pleasure to be here again, I appreciate the sense of this community, as well as learning.

Receive my embrace🙏😉

I've always found colonial houses very welcoming, just like this one. Thank you for this post !PIZZA

Thanks to you for visiting me and for this pizza.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@stefano.massari(1/5) tipped @mosa71 (x1)

@pizzabot thanks for the support.

Wow! a house with incredible stories to know, I am struck by the detail of the history of the Yépez surname, it is a nice gesture to the family that allows new generations to know their legacy and historical significance, each space of this house has much to tell, for the years it has is very well preserved and with great treasures to discover.

Greetings and blessings!

Yes, it also caught my attention, how nice that they value and know where they come from, besides promoting this practice in the new generations, the sense of belonging is felt.

Thank you for visiting my beautiful @belkyscabrera

How interesting your post those houses are a relic, what a nice gesture to honor the house where you live and more if it has so much trajectory. Thanks for bringing us part of the architectural history of Caracas.

@marielarc07 thanks to you for reading me!!! It is an honor to belong to this family. Mother-in-law has tales and stories that invite you to love this architecture.

What a beauty I love that.

What a beautiful house and it must have been built more than 100 years ago, an architectural relic, you must breathe a very pleasant energetic vibe. Thanks for inviting me, I will be there soon hahaha.

@rosahidalgo Yes come and meet her. Those walls have stories. Everything there is ancient.

It is a very nice house, I like that it has so many antique things . Some time ago I went to a professor's house and he also had a painting with the meaning of the surname, it made me want to have one.

@doriangel I also wanted to have information and a chart of my surnames. It seems to me a nice gesture of honoring the roots.

Yes, everywhere you go the house has stories and histories.

Thanks for your view and hearing me read

 last year  

Congratulations @mosa71! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded RUNNER-UP in Architecture Anthology™ 22. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

I was captivated by the beautiful love story behind the construction of this colonial home. It is heartwarming to see how love can inspire such creativity and beauty.

@juecoree Thank you for reading me. It is a beautiful family, not perfect at all, but rich in the legacy instilled in them by Doña Alecia and Don Juan, the creators of that museum😻.