Braga Street, A Historical Area in Bandung

in Architecture+Design2 years ago (edited)
Hi everybody. How are you? Hope you are doing fine. I hope you are healthy and happy. I once said that during long vacations I only met friends. This place is my favorite place to meet my friends. this place is very strategic. I found this place easy. I call this place by the name of Jalan Braga (Braga Street). This is a very popular street in Bandung, Indonesia. Every tourist comes to this place. I call it if this place is one of the must-visit streets.

1 (3).jpg

2 (3).jpg

3 (3).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



from the past until now, this place holds a lot of charm for its visitors. It's never boring to walk around here. In fact, Jalan Braga is very historic in Bandung. On this street there are still many buildings with Dutch style and architecture. everything is preserved in its original form. It's just, maybe a different function. But all the buildings have been converted into cafes or restaurants with so many visitors. I want to tell you about the history of this street. In the past, it was a dirt road. This road is a postal highway access, which is currently the Asia-Africa road. Jalan Asia Afrika is the road to Andreas De Wilde's coffee shop.

4 (3).jpg

5 (3).jpg

6 (2).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



There are many coffee shops in braga street. In the 19th century, Bandung began to develop. On Braga Street, there is the first grocery store named De Vries, which was designed by Edward Cuypers in 1909. Since then, the area has continued to grow. There are hotels, restaurants, theaters and banks. There are even coffee shops or clothing stores.

7 (2).jpg

8 (2).jpg

9 (2).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Jalan Braga (Jalan Braga is a shopping center for Europeans living in Bandung. I think it will be a good historical record. Until now, Bandung is known as the center of fashion in Indonesia. At that time, Braga was a very prestigious street. Those who pass through these streets are rich people, tea gardeners. In the past, Jalan Braga was known as De meest eropeesche winkelstraat. can be called as the city center of the prestigious Dutch East Indies.) is a shopping center for Europeans living in Bandung. I think it will be a good historical record. Until now, Bandung is known as the center of fashion in Indonesia. At that time, Braga was a very prestigious street. Those who pass through these streets are rich people, tea gardeners. In the past, Jalan Braga (Braga Street) was known as De meest eropeesche winkelstraat. can be called as the city center of the prestigious Dutch East Indies.

10 (2).jpg

11 (2).jpg

12 (2).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Today, there are several buildings with Dutch designs and architecture remaining. One of them, Gedung Merdeka, which was built in 1895. Previously, the building used for the Societeit Concordia. This building is also one of the historical places after Indonesia's independence, in 1955 this building became the venue for the Asia-Africa conference. In addition, there is a magnificent building built in 1925 that serves as a cinema. Today the magnificent building is used as an exhibition, music show, or film show.

13 (2).jpg

14 (3).jpg

15 (2).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Along Jalan Braga, there are a number of paintings from the village of artists in Baleendah. Not just an old building on Jalan Braga. But on the way to Braga, I found a lot of traditional Bandung food. In one of the restaurants called "Braga Permai" there are European specialties. This restaurant is always crowded by the upper middle class. Because, the cost I spent was quite fantastic, I probably only visited the restaurant only 1-2 times. You should know, only in that restaurant, we can taste the famous bread and cakes of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In addition, there are classic preserved ice creams since 1929. I often buy these ice creams. I didn't take a picture of the ice cream.

16 (2).jpg

17 (2).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



nowadays, almost every week this street is filled with people just to take pictures. Dutch buildings that are still solid become a magnet. There are many coffee shops selling cheap prices and cheap food. One of my favorite coffees is sapodilla coffee. The coffee on this street is very good. From then until now, the function of this place has not changed. There are theaters, hotels, restaurants and such. The Braga way has been around since then. From the history I read, this place is still as friendly as it used to be.

18 (2).jpg

19 (2).jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

You have a good picture! Awesome :)

Hai, sister @aswita. I don't use my phone camera. I borrowed my friend's DSLR camera. So, this picture is very beautiful.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 2 years ago  

Hello @nnurdiani. Do you have a Twitter or Discord account where we can contact you in private?

hi, i use both. I have a twitter and a discord account. if you want to contact me on twitter, you can find @NL_nurdianii. I use Indonesian language for communication. you want contact me at discord, you can find me nnurdiani#9628

 2 years ago  

Okay, great @nnurdiani. Will send you a friend request on Discord now. Thank you! 😀