Definitely Cebu #23: Temple of Leah - "The Taj Mahal of Cebu"

Hello Hive!

This post is my unofficial entry to OCD's newest contest that aims to highlight different communities under its incubation program. If you're interested to join, start to think of any post that would fit in architecture and design and check out the link above for the mechanics.

This is the first time I'll be posting in Architecture+Design community as I felt this particular post belongs in here. I already posted in Photography Lovers community the view of Temple of Leah, but I haven't toured you around the whole structure. This post is intended for that. By the way, if you're interested in those photos, which are truly stunning, you can find them through the link below:


If you're not convinced, let me share at least a few photos of the view first before we proceed to the structures that made Temple of Leah a tourist attraction here in Cebu.


Constructed at the side of the mountain in Busay that has a breathtaking view of the city, Temple of Leah has become one of the most visited tourist attractions in Cebu City in recent years.

I would like to correct my statement in my previous post that Temple of Leah is a mausoleum. It's not. Unlike the Taj Mahal of India which is a mausoleum, Temple of Leah is a shrine that holds the memories and collections of Leah Albino-Adarna. It was created as a symbol of love and devotion of Teodorico Adarna to his wife Leah. I think that's what made those two structures similar.

For those who haven't visited the temple, some would say that the structure is a bit too extravagant and gaudy even if it's a grand gesture of love of a man to his wife. Also marred with rumours and uncorroborated claims, the temple is one spot in Cebu you shouldn't miss. If you're curious about what a Php 80 million temple looks like, Temple of Leah is waiting for you.

0000_0000_00000000(1548).jpg

Let's take a tour, shall we?

Temple of Leah is seven storeys high in a land area of 5,000 square meters. The construction started last 2012 and the structure is not yet even finished. The gate leads to the parking lot where the spacious main courtyard can be seen. A marble fountain is located at the center of a granite courtyard.

0000_0000_00000000(1547).jpg

0000_0000_00000000(1550).jpg

0000_0000_00000000(1551).jpg


The temple is Roman-inspired with Doric columns made of granite. Grecian statues also adorn the whole temple. Two golden lion statues serve as "guards" in the two sides of the main staircase leading to the inner part of the shrine where the nine-foot bronze statue of Leah is located.

0000_0000_00000000(1580).jpg

0000_0000_00000000(1557).jpg


Brass horn-blowing angel statues serve as ornaments at the portico of the inner shrine. I'm not sure as I'm not really an architect nor a designer, but it seems that the temple is an amalgamation of different style inspirations throughout history, with Greek and Roman styles as the standouts.

0000_0000_00000000(1567).jpg

0000_0000_00000000(1569).jpg


The bronze statue of Leah is the main attraction of the shrine, as it should since the whole structure is dedicated to her.

0000_0000_00000000(1555).jpg

A bronze plaque at the podium below the foot of Leah's statue that was signed by Teodorico Adarna himself says:

“Beloved Wife and Mother: Leah V. Albino-Adarna was chosen Matron Queen of her Alma Mater, the University of Southern Philippines. This nine-foot bronze statue portrays her composure and regal bearing when she was crowned. May the beholder discern her innate beauty, poise and genteelness.”

0000_0000_00000000(1568).jpg

The grand chandelier at the center of the shrine is also an eye-catcher together with the stained glass behind the statue.

0000_0000_00000000(1572).jpg

A brass plaque on the wall at the left side of the statue says:

“I constructed this temple in the year 2012 A.D. as a symbol of my undying love for and ceaseless devotion to Leah Villa Albino-Adarna, my wife of 53 years. I adopted an architectural design that can withstand time and still be appreciated for a millennium so this temple will become a landmark of Cebu, where future generations of the Adarna clan can come and trace their roots and heritage."

0000_0000_00000000(1563).jpg

0000_0000_00000000(1576).jpg
These are the Greek inspired statues that can be seen throughout the shrine.

The temple has many chambers that housed Leah's vast collection of books, China wares and jars, and memorabilia. Sadly, they're not open to public viewing, but you can still see them at the windows of the side wings of the temple.

I guess that's all for this post. I hope you enjoyed the tour. See you in my next post! Hopefully, I can go back to travel-related ones because it's almost two months already that I haven't posted in Haveyoubeenhere community. Anyway, thanks for the support! Always.

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.


Sort:  

Can't wait to travel to Cebu!

Yay! See you then! It would be awesome.

Hello Kim, I love how you've captured the essence of this extraordinary structure that represents a man's undying love for his wife. It's high time for a visit there.

Welcome to Architecture + Design Community! 😃 We are elated that you shared this architectural gem and we'll always be grateful for your contributions and support in the community.

😮 I love the welcome! 😄
Thank you for making this community. I'm excited for its future and the future of those who will interact in here.

I will do my best to help. I would love to see this community grow.

I am so happy to hear that! 😍 The variety of content, types of architecture even new ones emerging, and different points of view was really interesting to read.

Because Cebu City was recently hailed globally as the new UNESCO "creative city", this vibrant metropolis also has her own share of architectural gems - including the Temple of Leah! Cebuanos are known to be highly creative people thus, we'll be expecting more world-class landmarks to be unveiled soon as this urban area continues to rapidly progress in its real estate development sector!

Hello Kim! It's with great pleasure to warmly welcome you to the Architecture+Design Community! You do not need any further introduction, because you're one of our phenomenal and legendary Hivers on the blockchain! So, we're truly honored with your presence here! Thank you so much for contributing your first awesome architectural content to the tribe! We'll be seeing you around...definitely!

Because Cebu City was recently hailed globally as the new UNESCO "creative city", this vibrant metropolis also has her own share of architectural gems - including the Temple of Leah!

Yes! I forgot to mention about the new UNESCO recognition. I actually made a post about it last year. I'm sure many more architectural gems will emerge.

Thank you for the warm welcome, Erne! I will sporadically drop by to share architectural marvels from my travels. That's for sure! See you around!

A history that has inspired many people with ancient architectural buildings in the Roman era, it is so beautiful that everyone has the right to know it until our children and grandchildren.
I also recently published a recent post about the architectural buildings where I live please visit me.
Regards

Yes! Good thing some of the structures are still preserved until now where we can draw our inspirations upon.

Oh! I'll drop by your post later after I'm done with my curation duties. 😁

Stay enthusiastic in carrying out the activities you are currently doing ..
Thank you my brother ..

that must be some kind of love 😊 thank you for sharing such a wonderful place!
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz

It's a pleasure! Thank you for the selection!

I'd never expect to find something so Hellenic-Roman looking anywhere around there. Also impressive to read the motivation behind it.

I would say it's one of kind here in the Philippines.

Wow, That is some classical structure. Fantastic photographs. Would love to visit there soon. The intricate details, sculptures and the history everything is marvellous. beautifully captured. Great post, Keep flourishing :)

Thank you so much! Visit soon!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you so much!

Looks more like the White House than the Taj Mahal to me but no doubts it´s a fascinating piece of architecture :) Glad to see you posting in the Architecture & Design community, I actually posted my very first contribution over there yesterday too. Very cool and dedicated community.

Yeah. They're very dedicated. I know the admins personally and they're legit af. I'm just so happy to have contributed something to that community.

Oh yeah, that´s right, I remember seeing some photos with you guys together :)

 3 years ago  

Hello @ybanezkim26, excellent photographs and content! Welcome to Architecture + Design Community!

New Architecture Brew.jpg

The Architecture+Design Community is an Active Member of the OCD Communities Incubation Program

Thank you so much! It's an honor.

Hello greetings, seeing your publication in this community, I thought that perhaps you might be interested in this initiative that I am promoting a Challenge that is about "knowing our cities", if you want to see what it is about, you left the link https://hive.blog / hive- 178708 / @ feiderman / a-different-post-with-a-new-initiative-knowing-your-city-challenge-a-different-post-with-a-new-initiative-knowing-your-

I'll check it out. Thanks!

It's been far too long since I was able to wander through a gorgeous place like this with a camera (as in, the last time I did, I had to send my pictures out to be developed...lol). Thanks for letting us enjoy this temple vicariously through your awesome photos.

Hey, I have an idea - I think @acidyo should have a curators meeting in Cebu some time soon, and then you can take us all for a tour! Wouldn't that be wicked cool? 😂

It's a pleasure to share these tourist spots here in Cebu.

I think @acidyo should have a curators meeting in Cebu some time soon, and then you can take us all for a tour! Wouldn't that be wicked cool? 😂

😮 It would be awesome! But I doubt acid will show up. 🙈

I've been wanting to visit the Temple of Leah for so long. Architecture like this is a sight to behold. I've been here in Cebu for almost 2 years excluding the six months years ago, but I've never wandered to different tourist attractions here in Cebu. Been to IT park and malls only. I hope when I get to visit there makita nako si Ellen Adarna ga-yoga. Char! Haha

Wala jud ko kita ni Ellen Adarna. Busy guro sa iyang love life. 😂

Wow, what a magnificent tribute to his beloved wife, and it's still standing impeccably after so many centuries! Stunning scenery outside too, lovely unofficial entry @ybanezkim26!

Thanks! It's unofficial because I can't join a contest I helped in managing. 😂

I was able to visit Temple of Leah during its renovation phase, too sad I was not able to go inside and take lots of photos because the place was full of signs and barricades. With its huge columns pretty sure that place could withstand time. The place where it is situated is interesting. Some say, landslides occur near it, I'm not sure though. But with its elevation, sure thing the site development took time and preparation.

Thanks for sharing, looking forward to visit it once again. Maybe if wala nay pandemic.

The pandemic will not go away anytime soon and probably we won't go back to the "normal" we used to before the pandemic. All we can do is properly assess the risks and manage them. Minimum health protocols should be followed. I think it's less likely to get covid in an open space than in closed spaces like in offices given the same number of people. So, I tried to travel to less crowded places.