A Red-spotted Purple Butterfly & Its Shadow

in Shadow Hunters4 years ago

This is my entry in the Shadow Hunter Contest which is hosted by @melinda010100! You can learn more about the Shadow Hunter Contest and how to enter HERE!

Last week I went for a very short walk at Cromwell Valley Park in Baltimore County, Maryland. It was the first walk that I took since my accident last month and I didn't make it very far but I did get a lot of very nice photos including this Red-spotted Purple butterfly aka Limenitis arthemis. It kept landing on the asphalt walk way and on an orange traffic cone. I really didn't think the photos would come out so well on the ugly cone but they or I should say some of the photos not only came out nicely but the butterfly shadows showed up very well on the orange. The first photo is my entry but I'll also show some other photos along with some edits that I did on them. I had a hard time deciding if I should go with the original or the edit for my entry so I let my son decide and he chose the original.

My Entry...

butterflyshadow72120201aok.jpg

An edit on my entry...

butterflyshadow72120201bok.jpg

Here are some other photos along with edits that I did on them. If you look closely at some of the photos then it looks like the Red-spotted Purple has its proboscis on the orange cone.

butterflyshadow72120202aok.jpg

butterflyshadow72120202bok.jpg

It makes me wonder if it was attracted to the orange color and thinks that the cone is some kind of plant.

butterflyshadow72120203aok.jpg

butterflyshadow72120203bok.jpg

butterflyshadow72120204aok.jpg

butterflyshadow72120204bokgif.gif

On my short walk I also came across a Monarch butterfly and some type of large moth. I did get photos of them as well but they didn't have much of any shadows to them. This Red-spotted Purple stayed around for a while so I did get a lot more photos than what I'm showing. It's hard to tell the male from the female so I have no idea which one this is.

butterflyshadow72120205aok.jpg

butterflyshadow72120205bok.jpg

Their wing span can be as wide as four inches and I think this one was possibly three inches. They are a very pretty butterfly. I'll be showing more photos in upcoming posts but till then I'll leave you with one last photo and edit. Thanks for visiting my post and checking out this Red-spotted Purple butterfly and its shadow! 💖

butterflyshadow72120206aok.jpg

butterflyshadow72120206bok.jpg

Thank you @melinda010100 for the Shadow Hunters Contest and thank you also to all of the sponsors and guest judges!

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 15 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! Much appreciated!! 😊 💞


Hey @deerjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

How fun! What a beautiful butterfly and you did an amazing job capturing the shadow. Thanks so much for entering the shadow contest this week!
!tip

Thank you very much Melinda! I know you can imagine how excited I was to have captured it! 🙂 💕

I would have been super excited, too! The orange cone makes it such a colorful shadow photo. I love it!

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Leftover M'S Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Ha ha ha... Wonderful photos...

Thank you so much @manorvillemike!! 😁

Excellent shadows and edits of the Red-spotted Purple butterfly Dee.💕

Thanks so much Jo!! I didn't even notice till I got home and pulled the photos up on the big screen..it was a nice surprise to see. 🙂 💞