GREAT GRANDMA'S YELLOW DUCK REFLECTION HUNTER CONTEST ROUND 11

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

This very proud and cocky duck has been in my family for over 100 years. It sat on my great grandmother's kitchen table with it's mate as long as I can remember as a child. She lived until she was 96 years old, still cooking and caring for herself up until she was 92. She was deaf for the last 10 years of her life but with hearing aids she managed ok.

When she started to slip at around 90, my great aunt moved in with her to make "sure" she would be ok. Some Saturdays my Aunt would come pick me up and I would stay overnight with granny so Aunt Dottie could have some time to herself.

I loved going to hang out with my great granny, she would tell such vivid stories of her youth, some of which weren't all that appropriate for a 12 year old, but interesting all the same.

She couldn't remember what I said to her five minutes ago but she could recall her younger years with no problem at all.

This old duck was part of a set of salt and pepper shakers. So when granny passed away, my Aunt asked me if I wanted anything from granny's house. Sure, "I would love to have the ducks". Well as it turned out, one of the pair had met it's demise as it fell from the kichen table on a cold winter night. Only one remained, but I gladly accepted the widowed spouse.

This is not just a knickknack, it's a treasured memory.

IMG_7874.JPG

As you can see, this picture was taken of the duck from the outside of a mirrored and glass cabinet. I think it's nice to see the front and back at the same time. The other figurines cast a reflection also.

IMG_7875.JPG

Now this reflection deserves some attention also.

IMG_7875_LI.jpg

I cherish this old duck.

Makes quite an impression, in a reflection.

IMG_8304.JPG

I have told my daughter all about her great great grandmother and showed her this pompous duck. "Can I have it someday?" "I love it mom, he's got attitude and lots of History too."
Done!
IMG_7880.JPG

I was hoping she would say that, now I know this little family treasure will live on in my daughter's home after I fly the coop. Maybe he'll last another hundred years, so she may tell the story of the yellow duck that was Great, Great, Great Grandma Bishop's treasure.

Julia Bishop, my great granny was Irish through and through. She would sing Irish folk songs like 'Danny Boy' while she cooked. My two great Aunts, Dottie and Rose would chime in as soon as they walked into the room. Made me giggle, but it was so much fun.

Julia's daughter Dorothy, was my grandma. She taught us all how to do the Irish jig. In fact, she led the jig at my wedding, everyone got off their seats for that dance, even if they didn't know the steps, the Irish tune made it easy to bop around.
🍀🍀🍀

Looking forward to all the entries in this contest. Best Wishes to all.
Big shout out to @annephilbrick, thanks for all you do for our community.

Sort:  

A Wonderful and delightful collection of Reflection photos...!
@farm-mom
Very adorable and special treasures ..!
🤗
points-tip.png

Loved reading all the memories from your family. Nice job on the reflections too.