OUR MOURNING DOVE LEAVES HER SHADOW***Shadow Hunters/SMASh Contest-Round 247

in Shadow Hunterslast year

I call them lovey Doves. They travel in pairs, and when you spot one the other is sure to follow. I enjoy the cooing sound they make, always sweet and loving to my ears. As is our usual practice, @thebigsweed and I have our morning coffee on our front porch, where the sun rises and its rays filter through the trees, even on cloudy days, the sun breaks the horizon and that glow appears as the sun smiles at us, then the sky takes over. Some days the mist is lovely as it filters the sunlight, and the yard sparkles from the dew.

The word is out in the neighborhood, breakfast is served daily on the Jurg #homestead, Ummm not to people, just the birds. They know where to come for good grub. The birds are wonderful, but #shadowshunters inspire me to see beyond the #photo.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mourning_dove
The mourning dove (Zenaida macroura) is a member of the dove family, Columbidae. The bird is also known as the American mourning dove, the rain dove, and colloquially as the turtle dove, and was once known as the Carolina pigeon and Carolina turtledove.

shad.jpg

IMG_8655.JPG

IMG_8658.JPG

The bright colors of some birds, like this cardinal, may cause you to miss the shadow that is in your camera lens. The #shadowhunters community has taught me to look beyond the colors and see the shadows.

IMG_8648.JPG

This pair of lovey doves is more than happy to share brunch with their beautiful friend Mr.C who was kind enough to show off his shadow also.

Happy shadow hunting y'all!

Peace!

Sort:  

I think the banner is so cute, thank you very much!

Wow! These are awesome shadow photos! Just yesterday while the kids were here they helped capture the stray cat that has been hunting my bird feeder since the middle of the summer. Maybe now my birds will start to return. The cat now has a good home, not in my neighborhood though! Thanks for entering the shadow contest again 🌞 your support is always appreciated!

Hello, my friend, glad you liked my shadows. We have so much bird activity here we can't seem to keep up with filling the feeders. Glad the cat found a good home so you can enjoy our feathered friends.
Have a great week.

Wow! Birds are really amazing creatures and they are just so lovely to look at.
I am glad you feed them and give them a bird homestead.
We have birds too, my husband raises pigeons. He is an avid pigeon racer which is hobby that turned into a sport.
We have pet cockatiels as well.
Love the shadows you hunted dear.

How are you dear friend @farm-mom good day
You are an exceptional Shadowhunter, always presenting beautiful shots.
I appreciate that you let us know all this information about this beautiful bird.
enjoy your breakfast watching these beautiful pigeons

hello there @jlufer, so nice to hear from you, I so appreciate your kind words.
It's funny how I would take tons of pictures and never see the shadows. Now I am keen to look not only at my subject, but if they cast a shadow, I really enjoy this community.

Cool stuff!
Blessings to you and your family.

I am well @jlufer, thanks for asking.

So glad you enjoyed my shadows, I almost used the pictures in a #featheredfriends post, but the shadows were too perfect to pass up.