SHADOWS REFLECT LIFE ON THE FARM~~~~~SHADOW HUNTERS CONTEST ROUND 180

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

Life on the farm proves to be a shadow hunters paradise.

On any given day here on our homestead, the weather can change on a dime. It can be cloudy one minute then sunny the next. In the cold months, the sun can shine in the morning only to give way to snow in the afternoon. But there is one thing that is always around if you are paying attention, shadows, they are everywhere.

I never would have paid attention to this phenomenon if it wasn't for the #shadowhunters community. Now I am tuned in and try to never miss that one #photo that may add to our awesome community.

Growing flowers is one of my passions. It gives me pleasure to see the growth, then the blossoms burst out with color. @dswigle taught me to boast about my flowers as in #alwaysaflower. Denise understands my love of the beauty flowers bring to our world.

So here we go, shadows of those things I love, flower shadows on the farm.

Rose buds waiting to uncurl with bright red velvet pedals.

SWEET

IMG_1727.JPG

Most of the shadows come into view late in the day after the chores are done and it's time to relax, just before dinnertime here in Upstate NY.

IMG_1728 (2).JPG

Although, just this morning, as the sun creeped higher in the sky, some of those shadow rascals reminded me to get out the camera. There is a great contest going on in the #shadowhunters community, thanks to @melinda010100, who is the instigator in all this crazy fun.

IMG_1757.JPG

Here's the Real McCoy, potted sunflowers on my front deck leaving a lovely shadow, looking forward to when they bloom.

IMG_1754.JPG

For some reason all this shadow hunting has a song stuck in my head. Does anyone remember "Me And My Shadow" - Whispering Jack Smith - 1927, nope, not me, I remember the song but not Whispering Jack.

I had to look that one up and checked out a full list of songs with shadow in it's title. Cool list, check it out here.
https://www.answers.com/

I hope I can rid myself of this silly song, it's just stuck there, in my brain on a loop. sheeesh
Let's have a cup of mint tea to clear our minds.😄

IMG_1753.JPG

We plan our day over coffee each morning, usually before day break, we have become early risers in our retirement, go figure. I thought that once I retired I would sleep in, but umm, no way, there is too much life to live to sleep through it. I need to get going as early as possible, as we say, to get the good one in.

Life is too short to sleep it away. I love the spring in my step, knowing, @thebigsweed and I have lots of wonderful things to do today.

Our flower gardens as well as our veggie and fruit gardens need lots of love and attention, and we are happy to oblige.

Food security and self sufficiency is our number one priority. We don't know what our world will throw at us but we want to have the very best resources we can muster.

This may not be a shadow, but these blueberries are full of good nutrition that sustain life in the sweetest way. These wild berries are here for the picking and the mornings we go to those lovely patches to pick ,say that three times fast are also a healthy way to clear your mind of the stresses of life as we know it.

IMG_2657.JPG

Back to the shadows.

Anyone guess? Yup, gladiolus. These gorgeous flowers are getting ready to bloom, it may take a few more weeks for them to go full bloom, but so worth the wait. What is so special about these flowers is that they will have any where from six to eighteen blooms per stalk, such perfect cutting flowers. I plant at least 50 bulbs per season, if I am really pumped and feeling good, I will plant twice that amount. That's how beautiful they are.
Screw the back ache.😏

IMG_1729.JPG

So what is this? Yes, I know it's a shadow. But what flower is it? Something tall, with big pedals, C'mon what's your guess?
You are probably thinking sunflower, am I right?

IMG_1720.JPG

Nope, it's just me playing with those silly shadows.

IMG_1721.JPG

Dollar store pinwheels, to brighten up the day!!

Thank you to all in the #shadowhunters community, especially @melinda010100 and, @annephilbrick for your outstanding commitment.

Kudos to @nelinoeva and @galenkp for all the support here, thanks guys.

Happy shadow hunting!

Sort:  

how are you dear amiag @farm-mom good day
What a beautiful garden you have, congratulations, also collaborate with beautiful shadow projections
Thank you very much for showing us these beautiful shades
I wish you a great day

Good day to you @jlufer, thanks for that very nice comment.
I so enjoy my gardens, especially the flowers that never stop making me smile.
Enjoy the day!

@farm-mom nice shadow photography. 👌

ohhhh, thanks so much!
#shadowhunters is such a fun community, happy you stopped by!
Enjoy the day.

I love that you have become a dedicated Shadow Hunter! You found some great shadows. Thanks for entering the Shadow Contest again! I hope you are planning to do another post this week to enter Galenkp's exciting Contest!

Yes, I am looking forward to that contest.
I am a little confused, are we supposed to combine shadows and reflections in a single post?
I have a couple of reflections I want to share and I seem to have a back log of shadows, hehe! It's all your fault ya know, this obsession of mine with shadows lately😁

You may combine shadows and reflections, or simply do a reflection post, or a shadow post. Your posts are always wonderful. You won't have any trouble creating the sort of quality post that Galen is looking for.

You have put so much love in your garden. How wonderful to show the shadows of the flowers.
Shadow hunting is obsessive, isn't it?

Obsession it is! I just told @melinda010100, it's all her fault.😁

Oh, I am blessed to receive an #alwaysaflower in the shadow hunt! You are too cool, @farm-mom!! I love the way you enjoy and love your flowers. I totally understand it. It was so interesting to see the different flowers and try to guess what they are.

You had me on the last one!

Have a great night, I am running late on the comments today! Good luck in the contest!

Hello my friend, your comments are never late, always appreciated.

how are you dear amiag @farm-mom good day
What a beautiful garden you have, congratulations, also collaborate with beautiful shadow projections
Thank you very much for showing us these beautiful shades
I wish you a great day

how are you dear amiag @farm-mom good day
What a beautiful garden you have, congratulations, also collaborate with beautiful shadow projections
Thank you very much for showing us these beautiful shades
I wish you a great day