Billabong reflections

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

I'm fortunate to live close to nature; Sure, I live in the suburbs of a city of around 1.2 million people but within only minutes of home I can be walking through the Australian bush spotting wildlife like kangaroos, koalas, kookaburras, echidnas and multitudes of birdlife, and it's unlikely I'll see another person - That's how I like it most of the time.

I also have access to a lot of private land and one such property is a large cattle farm in the hills only about a fifteen minute drive from my house. I perform culling operations there most weeks to help the farmer control the number of feral animals on the land but I also head out there for a hike or wander about from time to time. It's a beautiful location.


Back in the middle of last year I was doing posts about a little character called Grouchy for a bit of fun and something different and I had an idea to stage him out at the billabong on the cattle farm with some Lego builds I'd done. I did a post titled Grouchy gets lost at the billabong and the link will take you to it - It's just me having some fun. Today I thought I'd share a few reflection photos I didn't use for that post.

This main image is the Lego Technic version of the 2019 Land Rover Defender. It's a big build of over 2,500 parts and came with what, at the time, was Lego's most complicated gearbox being 4-speed sequential, all-wheel-drive with three differentials plus the set has independent suspension on both axles, 6-cylinder engine and a really cool working winch.

I didn't use the Land Rover for the Grouchy post though as I'd only just finished another build, the Lego Technic Extreme 4x4 Off-Roader which was a really cool build. This truck was only 1,000 pieces but has the cool-factor of three electric motors allowing me to control it from the Lego Control+ App on my phone. It goes forward, reverse, steers, accelerates, brakes and even has cool sound effects and speed displayed on the app.

I took both to the billabong, which is an Australian term for water hole but actually refers more specifically to a branch of a river forming a backwater or stagnant pool, made by water flowing from the main stream during a flood. These can be found all over the place if one knows where to look although up north in the Top End you might find a crocodilian surprise waiting for you...And then you may be dead so...Follow the instructions on the signs, trust me, they are there for very good reason.

In the post I staged Grouchy in the Extreme Off-Roader, made up the story that he stole the keys without my permission and then got lost at the billabong; This meant he had to ask some locals, a frog, a bird and a bee, for directions to get out and home before I found out he'd stolen my truck. Like I said, it was just fun. Give it a read after you're finished here if you like...You might get a laugh or at least work out just how wacky I am.


Anyway, the photos pretty much speak for themselves I guess, there's a few reflections and I had a pretty fun afternoon playing around at the billabong taking some shots.

Having access to places like this is an extreme privilege as most do not. I shoot here, that's my function, but the chance to come to this farm, a place where I have almost never seen anyone else including the farmer is one of the most awesome things. It's secluded, my access is year-round and no one else is permitted. I can camp there or just go for a few hours which gives me a detachment from the world...I'm a lucky fellow I guess and I guard my access-privileges well.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

The Grouchy posts were fun XD How are Grouchy and Roxy(?) these days?

Lol...Yeah I had some fun doing them...They may return...At the moment they're just living life as best they can, choosing to remain out of the spotlight.

Playing with wild life on even footing always fun and adventure, nice shoot out on your Billabong still sounds like a crazy Aussie name, nothing changes!

@tipu curate

still sounds like a crazy Aussie name

All Aussies are crazy, some just more than others. :)

These are cool, on first glance at the first pic I had to double take before I realised it was lego. Silly me. I remember billabongs well from learning Waltzing Matilda in school and dying to find out what it actually was. No internet so it was harder than it would be now!

You would be welcome at any of our billabong's any time my Titan Scottish friend. Our billabongs are open for business to your kind. Disclaimer: Don't bring Covid with you.

I love that Lego Defender...It's bloody huge and was awesome to build. When you get down here mate, I'll have you over for a BBQ and Lego building sesh. You bring the whiskey.

That sounds like the best BBQ sesh ever! Consider the whisky bought!

And that pesky COVID can stay the help away!

Locked in mate. Just let me know when.

It is a true privilege @galenkp to live close to nature, in addition to having the trust of its owners to be able to wander through their fields doing your walks.
Your reflections photographs are really admirable, you have a good eye for photographic shots
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid day

Thank you mate, I appreciate your comments as always. Have a great Thursday.

I had the same privilege on my fathers family land growing up in the states. About 2,000 acres. The land has been in our family for over a century, and we came by it back when no one wanted swamps and creeks with some high scrub to live on. Mainly got brush cattle on it nowadays. I know that feeling of sitting early morning and just looking around and thinking on how fortunate you can be to have that. Used to come to mind all the time when I was sitting in a tree stand on opening day of bow season. I used to fly home for hunting season years ago, but haven't had time over the past few years. Miss it a lot... especially right as autumn sets in. Great post galnkp. It's always great to swing by your blog and see what you're up to. :)

The land has been in our family for over a century

So cool!

My life seems less complicated when I'm out with nature, which is a lot. I feel more connected and whether I'm culling, hunting, hiking or just sitting there mindless but for the feeling of deep contentment I find value. I feel pity for those who don't have the opportunity, or don't create it.

Thanks for stopping by...I see in your words that you get it, and that's cool.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 41500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 42000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I haven't paid attention to what Lego has been up to for a few years (I think maybe I bought a robot kit 15 years when I was helping out with Big Brothers and Big Sisters), but the idea of putting a model like that together looks super interesting and fun. Esepcially if you can learn a bit about gear boxes, differentials, suspension...well, now I might have to look a bit into it - this looks like a lot of fun for a Hattie/dad hobby.

Get on it mate! It's awesome. Lego Technic. You can post in my LEGO community then.

I think I'm gooing to pick something up today...that 4 x 4 Off Roader looks pretty cool. Dang, I might actually learn something too - lol

It was a lot of fun. I'm doing the Volvo hauler at the moment. Most complicated gearbox ever...Good fun! You can see that post on my feed a few days ago. Go get something mate...You won't regret it.

Every day we can learn a new word... So my today's new word is billabong!

Thank you, I will need it if we ever visit Australia so I can ask you , Galen take us to that cool place, to that billabong where your lego masterpieces posed 😁

Vary good photos, btw. I see you had fun time indeed ☺️ 👌

Hey Gabriella I hope you're well.

So, I'll be happy to take y'all to a billabong and more. It's a massive country and there's so much to see, so many wonders.

Hi, yes, everything fine, hope you are doing well too.

Billabong, I have to repeat few times more :D
I have the airplane tickets in my pocket, so we are landing in two-three days 😁

But if we don't arrive, it means that the plane was made of lego...😅

Lol! Sounds like a good plan...Don't bring Corona-chan with you though.

You have a curiosity that is awesome. The car's reflections photos are beautiful.

Thank you, I have always been curious and I like that aspect of me as it helps me seek. Life's too short not to seek outwardly, and inwardly too of course.

Nice reflective photos. I thought it was a real life sized vehicle when looking at it from my phone. How silly of me. I did not know there were SO MANY part to these builds. Makes me glad I chose the life sized Jeep to work on with about half as many parts.. 😆

Was glad to be the 200th one to vote this post.. I like being the nice round number giver. hehe.

It's a great build, the Land Rover. Complex indeed, but fun.

Hmm, 200th vote...Seems the ocd is strong in you. I'm similar. 😀

Haha. Yes I waited for just the right moment. You know me so well.

I, too, thought it was a life sized vehicle and wondered how you could drive so close to the water without getting stuck. Great reflection shots. And fun Lego builds.

I like my Lego builds...Who would think I'm actually 51? Probably not so many people. 😂

Legos have certainly come a long way from I was a kid!
!WINE


Congratulations, @melinda010100 You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @galenkp.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24377.625 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.290 HIVE

You've reminding me that after heaps of posts about building the Land Rover I never did the post showing the model in the wild - now there is something for the Lego community this weekend - a sneak preview

with boulders 1.jpg

I'd like to see your Land Rover and mine in a joint off-road field trip somewhere. Would make a good post!

Oh, it's a beautiful mirror and great shot! Surely, everyone living near the nature is lucky. You make me want to move out of the city right away.

You don't need to move, just find the time to get out into the countryside and reconnect with the world and yourself.

Yeah, I usually do that, almost every week. I can't live without nature.

Good plan, so you get the best of both worlds.

Yeah, I feel lucky to live in my city where there are beaches, river, lake and mountains.

It sounds like you have it all there and you're the right sort of person to engage with it. ✅