Shadow Hunters Contest - Round 159

A Bamboo Tree and It's Shadows.

Hello my fellow Shadow hunters. It is time for the next round and I am so excited to show you my find for this week. But first a brief history about my subject. I went to the house of an art supplies seller to pick up some materials for my daughter. The house had a wooden gate and was partially shaded by a big bamboo tree which was growing from inside the garden. I couldn't see the main tree but I took some shots of it from outside.

Here's how it looked.
image.png

I inspected the shadows more closely. I noticed the shapes the leaves formed bore a close resemblance to characters used by Chinese in writing. No wonder the bamboo can be found in so many Chinese drawings and illustrations, at least from what I have observed so far.

image.png

I also took a close up of the leaves.
image.png
As can be seen from the photo above the leaves are really densely formed and can provide a good shade or cover against the sun and even rain. And not only that. I found out one useful information about bamboo which you might be interested to know. This is from Wikipedia.

Bamboo is a crucial element in the balance of oxygen and carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. A grove of bamboo release 35% more oxygen than an equivalent stand of trees. Because of this, planting bamboo is a great way to reduce your carbon footprint and help fight global warming. Bamboo is a viable replacement for wood.

Here's a photo of a bamboo tree I took about two years ago in a different place.

received_850753012150327.webp

For this contest I am submitting the second photo as my entry.

That's all for this Round folks. Good luck to all who will be participating. I know you will be giving our distinguished judge another hard time. Stay safe and may you have a blessed Sunday.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Beautiful shadows! I'm glad you entered your 2nd shot! I really like that one! Could you post that photo in you comment over on the contest post so that it doesn't get overlooked?
Ecency POINTS tip

Thanks a lot. Done.