Shadow Hunters Contest Round 161 - Light And Bird Play

Hello my dear Shadow Hunters. We are now in Round 161 and the captures are still getting better and better. This week definitely will not be any different. Come one and all. Let's join this enjoyable weekly challenge initiated by @melinda010100. If you want to know more about this just click on the link here and be introduced to a whole new perception of everything around you. A word of thanks to our sponsors and benefactors @good-karma, @pixresteemer, @taskmanager, #archon and @galenkp. Also to @nelinoeva and @annephilbrick.

Every morning I water the plants in the garden. There's this particular bird that I noticed that loves the water as I spray it on our ferns located at the top portion of our temple trees. He frolicks and plays with the water, tweeting happily as he dips and dives, following the water wherever I spray it. He used to be very wary of me. Everytime I get closer he flies away and stays at a certain distance from me. Then he zooms in again, following the water, chirping happily. Lately though he seems to be a bit familiar with me. He allows me to get closer and he would not fly away. Whereas before I have to content myself with photos of him from afar, now I can get closer ones of him. And this is what I captured on my camera this morning.

IMG_20210307_132128.jpg

I particularly like the way the sun and the shadows wrapped around the fronds of this staghorn fern and these two birds. So I am submitting this as my entry for this Round.

Here's another shot but my newfound friend isn't clearly visible.
IMG20210307084705.jpg

All for now. Hope you liked this one. Good luck to everyone. Keep safe and a blessed Sunday to all.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

You have staghorn ferns in your garden? I am quite envious. How fun that little bird enjoys the water spray. Do you know what kind of bird it is? Thanks for your kind words and for entering the Shadow Contest!

Yes we have I think about 6 staghorn ferns. I plan to write about them in my "Plant of the Week" feature next week. It will be the third edition. You're welcome to read the first two issues if you have the time. Click here for the maiden post and here for the second.

It's a Sun Bird Olive according to Google. We both have fun every morning when I water the plants. It's his bath time too lol.

image.png

As always it is my pleasure to be joining the Shadow Contest.

A nice contrast of shadow and light here! Nice shadow hunting sir. Keep it up.

Wow, thank you sir for your encouraging feedback. Glad you like it.

You're welcome.

that's an amazing staghorn fern

That particular fern is at least 12 years old if memory serves me right. It's the biggest of the 6 we have.

How nice to have a little helper in the garden.
Nice shsdows!

Hahaha. More of entertainer, I should say. Thanks for the appreciation.