Shadow Hunters Contest Round 172 - Garden Surprise

Hello everyone! I'm back for Round 172 of this exciting Shadow Hunt Contest sponsored by @melinda010100. If you haven't read about this you sure are missing a lot. Check on the link here and hurry. Join us and be a certified Shadow Hunter.

I was thinking of going macro this time. Fortunately the sun decided to show up for posterity sake and gave me the opportunity to quickly hunt some shadows. I searched around the garden for something new to photograph. And right there, just in front of our temple tree, were two lovely white flowers. I didn't remember seeing them here yesterday but hey, stranger things have happened here in the garden lol.

IMG20210528135024.jpg

These plants were given and planted by our gardener helper a little over two weeks ago. He told me they have lovely flowers when they bloom but did not know what they were called. Using 2 plastic soda bottles he planted about 6 seedlings, 3 in each bottle. The day after, our helper had to attend to another customer and that meant he would be out for at least a month. I forgot about the seedlings until yesterday when the sun peeked out of the skies for a little while. Boy did this surprise me.

IMG20210528133443.jpg

I had to look this up as I didn't know what it is called. Here's what Wikipedia came up with:

Zephyranthes candida, with common names that include autumn zephyrlily, white windflower, white rain lily, and Peruvian swamp lily, is a species of rain lily native to South America.

Photoshoot time. I took some macros, remembering to focus on the shadow. I don't really know if I did it right. A lot of those I see posted in the community look a lot better than these. Here they are anyway.

IMG20210528133413.jpg

IMG20210528135045.jpg

IMG20210528133421.jpg

The rain must have done it good. One of its names is White Rain Lily. No wonder it bloomed so quickly. And when I say quickly, I mean like in a blink of the eyes. You see this morning, rainy as it was, I tended to the garden and found this. Unfortunately no shadows as it was overcast and raining. But I just had to show you this.

IMG_20210531_143857.jpg

A yellow one! Can't wait to see what shadows it will bring. Hope the sun comes out soon before it fades.

That's all for now folks. Thanks for visiting. I hope you enjoyed it. A big three cheers to our benefactors and sponsors without whom this challenge won't be as successful as it is. Hip hip hooray to @nelinoeva @galenkp @annephilbrick @traciyork @good-karma @ecency @pixresteemer @taskmanager #archon and our latest delegator @apnigrich. More blessings and power to all of you.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

It grew from seeds to flower in a month? That's so quick. They look lovely!

Would the soda bottle be too shallow now that they've grown?

They weren't exactly seeds but more like short leaves sticking out of clumps of soil. But yes they grew so fast. The leaves have grown about twice their original length. It's been raining here for weeks now especially at nights. Apparently they love the rain.

According to our gardener helper he will eventually have to transplant them either to a bigger pot or straight into the ground. He's scheduled back here by next week so he can check on them.

Nice of you to drop by. Am looking forward to your guessing game tomorrow. Time to start a new streak 😊

!ENGAGE 30

What beautiful flowers and wonderful shadow photos! It will be interesting to see how long they bloom. What a great addition to the garden. Thanks for entering the Shadow Contest again!

Thank you for your very kind appreciation but I must say I owe you a lot for getting me into the Shadow Hunters Community. Changed a lot about how I perceive things now. And I'm loving it every minute 🥰🥰🥰

I don't think they will bloom that long but for whatever time they have they bring so much beauty and cheer to everyone which will last long after they're gone.

The pleasure in joining this contest is always mine 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks guys. This is so much appreciated.

Is it still alive? :P

Sorry so late.. I was just going though comments 🙈

Nope. They're in flower heaven now. But not by my hands. They just faded after 2 days or less. I guess these are the day old kind. It has stopped raining now and no blooms yet. Can't wait for the next ones.

Thanks for the visit. Working on my orchid post now. Will tag you once I post it. This is a peculiar one. Hope you'll like it.

Cannot wait :D