SMASh 195 - Three Generations In A Shadow

Hello everyone. This is SMASh 195. Round 195 of the Show Me A Shadow Contest hosted by the tireless and amazing @melinda010100. Read up about this contest if you still haven't heard about it. Click here for the link! Everyone is welcome to join and enjoy this amazing ride.

I went to pick up my grandson from playschool last month. I was running a bit late and when I arrived, he and his mom were walking along the grass covered front yard of the school. Enjoying the mid afternoon sun, they were running around the garden in an endearing mother and son bonding moment. I noticed that the sun was casting long shadows on the grass and I automatically switched to SMASh mode and asked them to join me for a photoshoot.

received_323264155945061.jpeg

received_4492991227404541.jpeg

received_1099036070671247.jpeg

That's me in the middle in the last two pictures above. The first generation. My daughter is to my left and her son, to my right. The second and third generation flanking me. In case you're wondering, my daughter is indeed taller than me. She's almost 5'9" while I am a stocky 5'5" thick-necked aging grandpa to her 5 year old son. It's a marvel how offsprings turn out quite differently from what you expect when they've grown. This daughter of mine, Jacinta, was born 6 months premature and weighed a delicate 2.2 pounds. My wife and I used to worry if she would be able to recover and catch up with the kids her age because she was extremely small compared to others. Well not only did she recover. She outgrew most of them too.

And looking at my grandson. I cannot help but wonder how he would turn out eventually. Will he take up after his mom? Or dad? Or will he acquire some of his grandpa's physical traits? How I wish I can take another photo of us 15 years from now. Will I live long enough to see it? How would that picture look like? Ahh, so much to look forward to.

And talking about looking forward, here's to Hive hitting new highs in the market. Hope it keeps up and stays up!

received_3180825678803918.jpeg

All for now. As of this writing the contest post is less than 6 hours to payout. I hope this one still makes it. Thanks to all our sponsors and benefactors. Best wishes to all participants. Keep safe and keep looking forward to better things!

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Definitely in time! A 3 generation Shadow shot. I love it! Thanks for entering the shadow contest again. ♥️

Whew! Glad I made it. Wouldn't want to miss it for the world 🌍

My pleasure to always join SMASh. It's in my blood already 🥰

Hope your grandson is doing well. I still keep him and your whole family in my prayers 🙏❤️🙏

I appreciate your support and participation!

Andrew's surgery went as expected. They will be able to see how well it went when they replace bandages today. Hopefully he will not require more surgery. He has a long recovery ahead.

Will keep him in my prayers. And you too. As a grandparent, I know your anxiety is just as great, or even more, than his parents. I do not know how I will manage if that happened to my grandson.

It is completely heartbreaking. I talked to him briefly tonight on a video call. It is going to be a long road ahead.

I can truly empathize with you @melinda010100 and even I, just thinking about him, makes my heart feel like blowing apart. I am so proud of you the way you are handling this crisis. Lesser mortals would just have broken down and despair to no end. Hang in there. I believe my prayers will help you through this challenge.

I truly believe the prayers and healing thoughts we are receiving are helping very much. Thank you for that and for your loving kindness, too. ♥️

Love the photos! I've noticed that, children will often be taller or larger than the parents.

Generally, at least here in our country, the male offsprings are taller and larger than the male parent. The female children usually grow only as tall or taller than the mother but not the father. But it must be different in your country. People are normally taller and bigger there than they are here.

Thanks for the visit. Happy to see you are almost ready for winter. I love how your house is turning out. Looking like a page you'd see in House Beautiful Magazine 🤗

Oh let's hope not,re: house beautiful. I much prefer the lived in look...

Your comment just made me remember something that actually happened which I distinctly remember overhearing.

Someone was asked, "How do you make your home have a lived in look?" He answered, "Use second hand furnitures and fixtures." 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Happy for your support @ecency. Very much appreciated.

Hello dear friend @gems.and.cookies good afternoon
There is nothing more beautiful than being with the family; I loved this selection of images of the three generations
Yes, the price of the hive is extraordinary, let's hope it continues with this bullish behavior
I wish you a splendid weekend

Thank you my friend for this unexpected appreciation of my post. Yes, family is the basic foundation of life and society and there's no place I would rather be than with them 🤗

As of now it seems Hive has quietly settled down around the $2 levels. It may be the end if the bull run but who knows? This may just be a lull before it moves up again. Let us wait with eager anticipation 😊

Cool pics. Haha. I think I will join this contest. I don't think I have any latest photos with shadows though. Is it any pic with shadows? There is no theme per week right? As long as it is a pic with shadow/s?

Hi there. Yes, basically any pic with a shadow will do. But the focus should be on the shadow. Meron silang tinatawag kasi na incidental shadows which are photos of objects or people with shadows. The emphasis is on the object or person. Nagkataon lang na may shadow. Kaya tawag nila incidental. Preferred nila na shadow ang emphasis. Incidental lang yung object or person. Try mo. Nakaka-aliw. Sample is this photo. Nanalo din ito noon.

IMG_20211130_160831.jpg

No weekly theme. Just shadows. Looking forward to your entry. Meron ng on-going ngayon. Click here for the link. Oo nga pala, you have to post your entry sa Shadow Hunters Community. Read mo yung rules sa in-attach ko na link. Enjoy itong contest na ito. Lagi ako sumasali dito kahit minsan lang manalo hahaha.

Ah dapat pala yung shadow ang focus... Nakupo. Haha, wla pa ako ibang pic na matino na focus ang shadow. Isa lang kuha ko noon pero shadow ko. Haha.

Patayin mo ilaw. Buksan mo flashlight. Tutok mo sa kahit anong object. Magkakaroon yun ng shadow. Pwede na yun!

Haha easy. 😆

Okay din ang selfie shadows. Maraming nanalo na ganyan ang entry 😄

Submit ko po siguro mamaya. Hehe.