REFLECTION HUNTERS CONTEST ENTRY – WINDOW MURALS

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

REFLECTION HUNTERS CONTEST ENTRY – WINDOW MURALS

WINDOW MURAL I

01_window_mural_i.jpg


During a walk out to take photos, I went by an old church I’ve passed more times than I can count. The glass in the windows is the old original glass, comprised of many small pieces arranged in linear patterns. It was made the way stained glass windows are, minus the colour, using only clear glass instead.



WINDOW MURAL II

02_window_mural_ii.jpg



The church is situated on one corner of a major city intersection. Directly across from it, is what used be a very large hotel. Several years back, the hotel was purchased as a student residence for a university here. At some point when renovations were finished, a gigantic mural was created on the side of the building facing the church.



WINDOW MURAL III

03_window_mural_iii.jpg



As I slowly walked by, I noticed that the mural was reflected in the windows of the church. There were washes of colour mixed with the linear patterning of the glass work. The windows captured different viewpoints of the mural, each creating its own individual reflection of the larger whole.



WINDOW MURAL IV

04_window_mural_iv.jpg



If the mural was not located opposite the church, the windows would be without colour. Instead they would appear to be black, since the interior of the building is dark. I don’t ever recall seeing it lit from within often, if at all.



WINDOW MURAL V

05_window_mural_v.jpg



The abstraction that occurs with the reflected colours caught my eye because it’s an unusual reflection due to the way the windows were created. I also find the contrast reflected between old and new to be a reflection of current times.



WINDOW MURAL VI

06_window_mural_vi.jpg



The mural is several stories high; I counted twenty-three stories. It’s much taller than the church across the street from it and completely dominates the intersection. On first sight it’s an eye blast of rainbow colours. After the initial shock of colour, the tonal elements emerge.

I’ve looked at this mural many times since it’s gone up; it’s impossible to avoid unless blind. I’ve never been sure whether I like this creation or not, so I’m undecided still. I have noticed it has a great deal of very strange symbolism included in its design. I’m not sure how that correlates to a university residence. I think it depends on a person’s perspective. I’ve found a different way to view this mural, from the reflections in windows. I find it more appealing than the mural itself.



MURAL SECTION

07_mural_section.jpg



All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera.

Sort:  

That is pretty incredible! I am so glad you noticed this amazing reflection!

Thank you @melinda010100! I've been inspired to keep a look out for reflections and shadows because of Shadow Hunters community. It's always in the back of my mind when I'm taking photos now. Community inspiration to do so 😊

I am delighted to hear that! I know it added another dimension to the fun I was having taking photos when I became aware of shadows and reflections. You should send the link to this post to that church. I wonder if they have any idea how beautiful their windows are with those reflections.

That's an interesting idea, sending the link post to the church. I'll have to look into that and see if they have a website. Religious gatherings have been banned here for so long, so I'm not sure if it's staffed now.

I would think they would be delighted to see your photos! Be sure and let me know if you are able to connect with them.

I found a website for the church, no email contact, but I called and reached voicemail. I haven't been able to ascertain what they think since I can't reach anyone there.

I'm not going to attempt going to the church in person to speak to anyone, since I may be fined or arrested/jailed for doing so, due to lockdown restrictions of movement and interaction with others. To give you an idea, many fines have been levied across Canada for those attending and performing religious services, as well as arrests and some have spent time in jail.

I'm not sure where you are and how the restrictions are in your area. We were only recently given permission to leave the city earlier in June and then last week permission to leave the province, such are the restrictions here.

I didn't realize it was like that there. I am in the US where we have allowed it to spread rampantly.

Great reflections here! There's an interesting detail there. They put extra glass panes on top of the original windows. Presumably to protect the original windows in general and especially from the sandblasting. Those panes are catching the main reflection and because they are bigger than the original windows it looks like the colors are spilling out on the frames. At first sight i thought there's something wrong with the photo like a double exposure or something, but then i realized what's going on there. I'm curious how the reflections would look like without those extra panes 🧐 Good luck in the contest 👍🏽

The mural looks interesting. I'm curious to see the whole thing. Do you have a full shot of it or the name of the artist so i can look it up on the web? 🖖🏼😎🤙🏼

It's quite the mural. I wasn't able to get a clear shot of the entire mural. The name of the mural artist is Okuda San Miguel. He has murals in other cities. I'd be interested to know what you think of his work once you've looked at it.

Very perceptive, you have a keen eye! Due to the area the church is in, it's also to protect from vandalism. There's another a block away, (no fun reflections), so I should check it to see if the same has been done. It has not been sandblasted. Without the extra pains, it would probably be exquisite, based on my guess.
Thanks for commenting, I enjoy getting feedback and other perspectives. Thanks also for your wishes of good luck!

At first it seems like stained coloured glass that window. This is such a cool reflection of the mural.

Thank you! I made note that it was coloured glass for that reason, LOL

Beautiful Images. I so, so love the walls of the church. The roughly hewn stones make the reflection look like a framed painting of some sort.
The mural looks so colorful and bright, lending some of its cheerfulness to the dark church window.
Brilliant shots there @nineclaws

Thank you so much! The church was sandblasted a few years back so it's now possible to see the stones without the black gunk of pollution covered it before.

I thought the mention of a mural was just a tease. Thanks for satisfying.

I do my best to deliver on the promised material mentioned 😜🤣. I'm happy you're satisfied and to see you stop by with a comment. 😁

damn for a second i thought the windows glass were coloured like that xDD really nice reflections! loved the lines in the glass as well, pleasing to watch. I think my fav is number V lol and woah loved the mural too, it's mesmerizing!

Nice shots and nice post! :D

It has that kind of look! We both like V as a fav, too funny! Wild mural indeed! Thanks for checking out my post and photos, so glad you enjoyed them!

Those are very stunning murals!! I have not come across a church near me which has these stunning colored panes. Great shots 😊

Thank you! I'm happy you enjoyed! 😏

!discovery 30


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you for your support!

Congratulations @nineclaws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nineclaws.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more