[ESP-ENG] OJOS DEL DESTINO

in Literatos3 years ago


photo-1501644898242-cfea317d7faf-01.jpeg
Fuente de la imagen


«Las ciudades obligan al crecimiento, y hacen que el hombre sea chistoso y hablador, pero todo es artificial».

«Cities force growth, and make man funny and talkative, but everything is artificial».


— Emerson


E S P A Ñ O L

OJOS DEL DESTINO

Nadie podía mirar a Verónica a los ojos, pues el secreto que yacía en ellos, profería desvelo de la fecha de tu muerte. Yo vivía en un pueblo campesino, donde todos los aldeanos le rezaban a un dios pagano. Mi madre y yo huimos de este lugar, nos instalamos en la ciudad más cercana y nos convertimos a la religión de los citadinos.

He de decir que recuerdo muy bien a Verónica, ambos teníamos diez años, compartíamos las mismas aficiones y la misma calle. Siempre iba vendada con una pañoleta roja sobre sus ojos. Solo podía salir a unos metros de su casa y por unas horas; un corto periodo de tiempo para poder compartir con otros niños.

Verónica era una chica extrovertida y elocuente, aunque su situación era penosa desde mi perspectiva, no se dejaba derrotar por la lástima o por la dicha de poder ver algún día. Mi madre me dijo que lo que le hicieron cuando era apenas un bebé fue terrible, pues fue entregada como ofrenda al dios de los aldeanos, y este; para dejar su marca divina, se llevó sus ojos y los reemplazó con otros sobrenaturales.

Desde entonces hubo gente que la evitaba, en cambio otros; como yo, compartíamos con ella a pesar de saber sobre su fantástica particularidad. Un día como ayer la volví a recordar, durante esta gran pena que cargo. Perdí a mi mujer: Holga, a causa de la cólera y me quedé subsumido en una profunda soledad. El dolor me fue manipulando hasta que decidí emprender un viaje. Me dirigí hacia mi tierra natal para encontrar a Verónica y ver sus ojos por primera vez en mi vida.

Al llegar a su vieja casa, noté que su estructura era diferente. Los colores de las paredes resaltaban en tonos rojos y amarillos. La puerta tenía un símbolo que identificaba al dios pagano de la aldea. Al entrar, encontré a una mujer delgada y pálida, sentada frente al ventanal de su casa; era Verónica, lo supe al instante por el paño del mismo color de siempre que cubría sus ojos.

Me sonrió, pues sabía de mi llegada. Me tomó de la mano y me advirtió de lo que estaba a punto de hacer, pero eso no me detenía pues estaba dispuesto con todas las ganas de mi angustia. Se destapó los ojos lentamente. Por un momento me estremecí y quería salir huyendo, pero me contuve. De repente abrió los ojos y vislumbré unas hipnóticas pupilas azabaches, no podía creer que algo tan hermoso se ocultara detrás de una venda opaca. Sin embargo, no sentí nada, más allá de su belleza no había nada más que revelar. Ella sonrió. No dijo palabras relevantes, luego tapó sus ojos nuevamente sin decirme nada más. Quedé impactado, no sabía que decir o pensar.

Decepcionado volví a casa, con la imagen de mi esposa en mi mente. Al abrir la puerta de mi hogar, una mujer me esperaba sentada en medio de la sala. ¡Era Holga, mi mujer! Quien sostenía de nuevo en su cuerpo toda la fuerza de la vida.

FIN

E N G L I S H

EYES OF DESTINY

No one could look Veronica in the eyes, for the secret that lay in them, spoke of the date of your death. I lived in a peasant village, where all the villagers prayed to a pagan god. My mother and I fled this place, settled in the nearest town and converted to the religion of the city dwellers.

I must say that I remember Veronica very well, we were both ten years old, we shared the same hobbies and the same street. She was always blindfolded with a red scarf over her eyes. She could only go out a few meters from her house and only for a few hours; a short period of time so she could share with other children.

Veronica was an outgoing and eloquent girl, although her situation was painful from my perspective, she would not let herself be defeated by pity or the joy of being able to see someday. My mother told me that what was done to her when she was just a baby was terrible, for she was given as an offering to the god of the villagers, and he; to leave his divine mark, took her eyes and replaced them with supernatural ones.

Since then there were people who avoided her, while others, like me, shared with her despite knowing about her fantastic peculiarity. One day like yesterday I remembered her again, during this great sorrow I carry. I lost my wife, Holga, because of anger and I was left in a deep loneliness. The pain was manipulating me until I decided to go on a journey. I headed for my homeland to meet Veronica and see her eyes for the first time in my life.

When I arrived at her old house, I noticed that its structure was different. The colors of the walls stood out in shades of red and yellow. The door had a symbol identifying the pagan god of the village. When I entered, I found a thin, pale woman sitting in front of the window of her house; it was Veronica, I knew it instantly because of the cloth of the same color as always that covered her eyes.

She smiled at me, for she knew of my arrival. She took me by the hand and warned me of what I was about to do, but that did not stop me because I was ready with all my anguish. He uncovered his eyes slowly. For a moment I flinched and wanted to run away, but I restrained myself. Suddenly he opened his eyes and I caught a glimpse of hypnotic jet-blue pupils, I couldn't believe that something so beautiful was hidden behind an opaque blindfold. However, I felt nothing, beyond her beauty there was nothing else to reveal. She smiled. She said no relevant words, then covered her eyes again without telling me anything else. I was shocked, I didn't know what to say or think.

Disappointed I returned home, with the image of my wife in my mind. When I opened the door to my home, a woman was waiting for me sitting in the middle of the living room. It was Holga, my wife! Who once again held in her body all the strength of life.

THE END

Written by @universoperdido. October 13, 2021

Escrito por @universoperdido. Octubre 13 del 2021

Other publications of my authorship | Otras publicaciones de mi autoría

¿Eres escritor? ¿No encuentras un lugar adecuado para colocar tus trabajos literarios? Unete a Literatos, una comunidad en Hive donde puedes publicar tus cuentos, poemas, ensayos literarios y novelas inéditos de tu propia autoría.

GIF elaborated by @equipodelta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @universoperdido! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Wow excelente relato!! Me encantó!! Gracias por post!!

Loading...

This moved me. Your story speaks truth about life. I am more than glad I read it. Looking forward to reading more of your work!