[ESP-ENG] SOLITARIO (Cuento corto)

in Literatos3 years ago


photo_20210119_010037.jpg


«En ocasiones la música tiene el poder de revivir los recuerdos con tal intensidad que a uno hasta le duele el corazón.»

«Sometimes music has the power to revive memories with such intensity that one's heart even aches.»


— Haruki Murakami

photo_20200731_202247.jpg

ESPAÑOL

SOLITARIO

El tiempo transcurre de manera sorprendente, y al cabo, después de reflexionar sobre ciertas concepciones, como seres ensimismados impartimos una resolución; siendo el tiempo y espacio protagonistas de nuestras vidas, como actores principales de nuestros pensamientos individuales.

Mi inclinación sobre esto estaba completamente definida. A un juicio de una persona particular, el tiempo puede transcurrir de manera rápida (viéndolo con ojos mortales) o de manera lenta, siendo uno un ser inmortal. Yo pertenezco al segundo bando, siendo esta vida para mí un entorno de soledad.

Hablar sobre mi origen sería como conversar de ciertas teorías arcaicas sobre seres que en antaño fueron adorados como dioses; o, por el contrario, estigmatizados con un aura maligna y diabólica, excluidos con ciertos mecanismos preparados por la ciencia y el sortilegio.

Durante mi primera centuria perdí todos los privilegios por los que morían todos los humanos mortales: el amor, la ansiedad, la ambición y el frenesí, y me mantuve recio como una estatua e inamovible ante el estremecimiento de una piel cálida y ojos hermosos. Mi gélido corazón se quedó inerte para siempre, y mis labios solo proferían la necesidad de arrebatar la vitalidad de los vivos.

Como intenté explicar con antelación, exponer sobre mi naturaleza inusitada con palabras breves y precisas sería un insulto insensato para mi actual estirpe, pero si puedo contarles como he obtenido este don, o mejor dicho, esta maldición. Yo era un cadete del ejército español nacido en el año 1753. Me alisté en dicho alineamiento no porque deseara la vida militar, sino a causa del amor mismo, que me iba a ser arrebatado si no mostraba osadía.

Esta verdad que les comento tenía como protagonista a la única mujer que en vida robó mi corazón. Su nombre era Alicia Aristigueta, miembro de una acaudalada familia de estirpe señorial. Mi humilde estatus no era suficiente para tomar su delicada mano, por lo que busqué un medio a mi alcance para ser digno de ella. Alicia y yo profesamos un amor a escondidas, y el último día de vernos me dejó una carta, informándome que me esperaría en Sevilla hasta que las circunstancias se lo permitieran.

Fue desde entonces en que me empapé en mi nuevo oficio, y con rigurosa personalidad impartí mis obligaciones con esmero. Sin embargo, llegado un día donde fui víctima de una situación inesperada, las cosas no se dieron como yo quise.

Había sido transferido a una franja campal en Toledo, permaneciendo varias semanas allí. Durante la cuarta semana de mi aparente nuevo hogar, conocí a una gitana; joven, hermosa y mirada licenciosa, que en medio de copas embriagadoras de lujuria nos juntamos varias veces.

No voy a mentir diciendo que la he pasado mal con ella, pero si les diré que, a pesar de sus bellas facciones y su personalidad avispada y candente, solo la veía como un desahogo. Me importaba poco como mujer pero si como amante, y cuando hube confesarle mis verdaderas intenciones, sus ojos de lince relucieron destellando maldad; y ella, con el corazón fisurado, me maldijo pronunciando sus palabras de gitana con el dolor emergente de sus entrañas.

Ella me sentenció a vagar por el mundo eternamente, sin conocer el rostro de la muerte. Profirió en su encantamiento que con el pasar de los años perdería los sentimientos, hasta finalmente convertirme en un ser frívolo; un predador de la vitalidad que solo ha de arrebatar abruptamente la fuerza de los vivos.

Desde entonces he sucumbido a un mundo oculto, escondido entre las sombras de la realidad. Me volví una efigie abstracta de lo común. Un parpadeo que solo ocurre para satisfacer sus abominables instintos. El tiempo pasó, y como lo predijo aquella bruja, me volví completamente inhumano. Me trasladé a Londres para seguir con mi rutina practicada debido al sosiego del tiempo, con la soledad como compañera.

Dentro de los muros asfaltados de aquella ciudad ruinosa y lúgubre, detecté un aroma muy familiar; como si estuviese al alcance de un entorno que ya había transitado anteriormente. Me adentré entre callejuelas olvidadas buscando su origen. Atravesé mugrientas puertas de un aparente edificio abandonado. Deslizándome entre las oscuridad, escuché sonidos de crujidos y, gracias a mi visión nocturna, encontré a un ser hermano alimentándose de un vagabundo.

Para mi sorpresa, no solo era alguien que padecía mi misma naturaleza, sino alguien a quien amé mucho en vida; era Alicia convertida en una abominación, sus ojos destellaban aquel frenesí escarlata que provoca la sensación de vida al robar la fuerza de los vivientes. Me divisó con aquella mirada de vileza y me reconoció, contándome finalmente su historia.

Resulta que la maldición que me lanzó aquella gitana, no solo iba para mí, sino también para la mujer que tanto amaba. Al instante en que Alicia se convirtió en esa aberración, huyó de su hogar; vagando por este mundo como un ser errante. Desde hace dos décadas, encontró refugio en Londres y desde entonces está aquí, ahora para frente a mí pero esta vez, no puedo contemplarla con ojos de amor sino de desprecio.

FIN

ENGLISH

SOLITARY

Time passes in a surprising way, and after reflecting on certain conceptions, as self-absorbed beings we impart a resolution; time and space being the protagonists of our lives, as the main actors of our individual thoughts.

My inclination about this was completely defined. To a particular person's judgment, time can pass quickly (seeing with mortal eyes) or slowly, being one an immortal being. I belong to the second side, this life being for me an environment of solitude.

To talk about my origin would be like talking about certain archaic theories about beings that in the past were worshipped as gods; or, on the contrary, stigmatized with a malignant and diabolic aura, excluded with certain mechanisms prepared by science and spells.

During my first century I lost all privileges for which all human mortals died: love, anxiety, ambition and frenzy, and I remained strong as a statue and immovable before the shiver of a warm skin and beautiful eyes. My icy heart remained forever inert, and my lips spoke only of the need to snatch the vitality of the living.

As I tried to explain in advance, to expound upon my unusual nature in brief and precise words would be a foolish insult to my present lineage, but if I can tell you how I obtained this gift, or rather, this curse. I was a Spanish army cadet born in the year 1753. I enlisted in that alignment not because I desired military life, but because of love itself, which was to be taken away from me if I did not show boldness.

This truth that I tell you had as its protagonist the only woman who in life stole my heart. Her name was Alicia Aristigueta, a member of a wealthy family of noble lineage. My humble status was not enough to take her delicate hand, so I looked for a way to be worthy of her. Alicia and I professed a love on the sly, and on the last day of our meeting she left me a letter, informing me that she would wait for me in Seville until circumstances permitted.

It was since then that I got soaked in my new profession, and with a rigorous personality I imparted my duties with care. However, one day when I was the victim of an unexpected situation, things did not happen as I wanted them to.

I had been transferred to a rural area in Toledo, where I stayed for several weeks. During the fourth week of my apparent new home, I met a gypsy woman; young, beautiful and with a licentious look, who in the midst of intoxicating drinks of lust, we met several times.

I won't lie to you that I had a hard time with her, but I will tell you that despite her beautiful features and her sharp, hot personality, I only saw her as an outlet. I cared little for her as a woman but as a lover, and when I had confessed my true intentions to her, her lynx eyes glowed with evil; and she, with her broken heart, cursed me by uttering her gypsy words with the pain emerging from her womb.

She sentenced me to wander the world eternally, not knowing the face of death. She professed in her enchantment that with the passing of the years I would lose my feelings, until finally I became a frivolous being; a predator of vitality that would only abruptly take away the strength of the living.

Since then I have succumbed to a hidden world, hidden in the shadows of reality. I became an abstract effigy of the commonplace. A blink that only happens to satisfy their abominable instincts. Time passed, and as that witch predicted, I became completely inhuman. I moved to London to continue with my practiced routine due to the calm of time, with loneliness as my companion.

Within the asphalted walls of that ruined and gloomy city, I detected a very familiar aroma; as if it were within reach of an environment I had already passed through before. I went into the forgotten streets looking for its origin. I went through the grimy doors of an apparently abandoned building. Slipping through the darkness, I heard crackling sounds and, thanks to my night vision, found a fellow being feeding on a homeless man.

To my surprise, it was not only someone who suffered from my very nature, but someone I loved very much in life; it was Alice turned into an abomination, her eyes sparkling with that scarlet frenzy that provokes the sensation of life by stealing the strength of the living. She saw me with that look of vileness and recognized me, finally telling me her story.

It turns out that the curse that that gypsy woman put on me was not only for me, but also for the woman I loved so much. The instant Alicia became that aberration, she fled her home; wandering this world as a wandering being. Two decades ago, she found refuge in London and since then she is here, now standing in front of me but this time, I cannot look at her with eyes of love but of contempt.

THE END


Escrito por @universoperdido. 19 de Enero del 2021


La foto de portada es de mi propiedad, tomada con un celular moto e4 y editada con PhotoScape.

Written by @universoperdido. January 19, 2021


The cover photo is of my property, taken with a moto e4 cell phone and edited with PhotoScape.

photo_20200731_202247.jpg

Relatos anteriores | Previous stories


¿Eres escritor? ¿No encuentras un lugar adecuado para colocar tus trabajos literarios? Unete a Literatos, una comunidad en Hive donde puedes publicar tus cuentos, poemas, ensayos literarios y novelas inéditos de tu propia autoría.



GIFs elaborados por @equipodelta

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Congratulations @universoperdido! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 750 posts. Your next target is to reach 800 posts.
You received more than 190000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200000 upvotes.
You received more than 13000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 14000
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!