Hive and Community Building: Did the CreativeCoin Community Die?

For a couple of weeks now, I've noticed that the official CreativeCoin Community front end has been returning an error message, every time I try to access it.

I feel rather sad about that, particularly given that this account was created specifically to support the community and creative content on Hive.

x-LOGO-CreativeCoin.jpg

I haven't been able to find any kind of formal statement from the @creativecoin official account, nor does anyone else seem to have an answer... I have looked at the community Discord channel and people have asked but no replies seem forthcoming.

Not surprisingly, the native token has taken a dive in the Hive-Engine marketplace, shortly after it was showing signs of life, perhaps helped along a little by the success of LeoFinance.

CCC003-Decline.jpg
Source

Of course, you can still use the "#creativecoin" tag, but I find myself wondering what good it is to continue putting effort into something that has a dubious future?

Which also makes me start to think about how I might "re-purpose" this account.

Community Building is not Easy!

It is sad, of course, to consider the reality that success stories like LeoFinance are the exception, rather than the rule.

What also tends to be true about community building is that most communities don't fail because they were a bad idea, they fail because the "novelty" wears off and the original "builders" get new ideas and new interests and simply grow bored with the reality that community building a lot of relentless and endless work, often for very little reward.

CC0031-Napping.jpg
I'd just as well be napping!

Having been there myself, you have to constantly talk, constantly innovate, constantly encourage, constantly build, constantly announce new plans and so on and so forth.

For the moment, I'm going to still hold on to my small chunk of CCC tokens while deciding what to do next. Who knows, maybe someone with the stake and technical skills to do so will take over development of the community?

=^..^=

November 27, 2020

Sort:  

Well shit... I'm sure it didn't help matters a few months ago when arts/artists, photographers, and some other entertainment in general, was being massively downvoted because, no actual reason given.

I'm not sure what's happening with CCC though. I wonder if folks like @midlet or @juliakponsford would be interested in uniting art communities under one token. I honestly can't see these second layer tokens working out if every single tiny element of entertainment has their own token.

I don't have a token for Alien art hive and I don't think Midlet has one for OCA, creativecoin was meant for all artists and creatives to get extra rewards. I have let shane and isaria know that the front end is down, I think many people stopped using tribe front ends because peakd has done such a great job integrating all the tribes and communities in one place. You can still use the tag on peakd posts and curate that tag.

Yes, PeakD is incredible and I don't see a need for that other frontend either. Maybe it's a good time to put heads together and figure this out? Really, it's up to you folks, I'm just a dude who cares and would like to see everyone successful, yet I don't really play a role in the building. I'm just throwing a few suggestions out there. No pressure.

PeakD is definitely far more "feature rich" than a generic cloned Hive front end. Part of LeoFinance's success owes to the fact that they actively developed their own stand-alone identity, right down to building their own front end condenser from scratch, and (if you haven't used it) it looks a bit like PeakD with some added features that are specific to the community's niche, and other stuff left off.

There are definite benefits to having your own custom access point, including being able to set rewards to favor those who post from the community site, AND being able to promote the community to niche users, rather than use the "join us on Hive" shotgun approach.

More important than the front end is constant communication from the people guiding the community... because most people don't think and act for themselves. And if everyone is sitting around waiting for someone else to take the initiative... we just end up with a bunch of people squatting in place.

Mostly I just want to see the creative community have a "place" and for it to succeed.

=^..^=

Yeah, I remember that "phase." The cynic in me thinks it was because art and photography posts were seen as "low effort" compared to someone rambling on for 2000 words about something relating to a tweak of the way the blockchain processes the letter "h." Because that's important.

OK, so that was bit snide...

I originally invested in CreativeCoin because a community focused on art and creative endeavors made sense to me as a neatly definable niche... much like LeoFinance, and even StemGeeks, NaturalMedicine, Sports Talk and a couple of others. But yes, too much granularity also defeats the purpose, simply because the community becomes too small to effectively appeal to more than a handful of people.

=^..^=

A bit snide indeed but if we can't laugh at ourselves while pointing out flaws, we're not learning. That "low effort" went over to make hundreds and sometimes thousands per unit NFT style. Sigh... but I'm personally not a fan of that business model. I like the profit sharing deal where consumers share in the profits. It works well with a token provided consumers are spending and driving up the value consistently. Tips and sales; that's money in the door, destined to go straight back out the door. With no incentive to hold, the token value stands still. But I do have some things in mind which I'm keeping a secret. Right now I'm studying the NFT model, not jumping in just yet.

And yes, since arts and entertainment typically generates revenue from consumers, it's wise to keep the consumers looking only in one place when it's time to purchase a token. There can be plenty of communities, like there are art galleries or theaters, but one token would help glue them all together.

Bugs me that I don't have the skillset necessary to pull this off on my own. Maybe the CCC tokenomics aren't on par with what I have in mind, so I'd need someone who gets it to work with.

because of cuntery from one sad fat cunt

I think that's what you meant to say? :0)

That experience can go shit on itself. A lot of people left because of that. Even losing one is too many nowadays.

They did. It disgusted me. I know people who were put off by it but they were too frightened to say because they might have drawn his eye. Titstain that he was.

If doormen come to the pub drunk; push, shove, and insult the live entertainment all while ensuring the seats remain empty... usually they're the ones who have to go.

I always thought that was common sense for some reason.

It seems like common sense!

What I hate when things like that happen is the way people turn away in case they get affected. In some cases they even make mealy mouthed comments about how you actually do well anyway or its just the way it is. The whole point is that it shouldn't be. Too many people with high stake don't do enough when there are bad apples also with a high stake displaying bad behaviour.

how you actually do well anyway or its just the way it is.

Being able to do well means having the drive to wake up and make each day better than the previous. In that sense there's a huge difference between obstacles and interference. On my end it felt like sabotage and it was depressing when a couple folks turned on me for shedding light on the situation. Made a fool out of myself trying to stand up for others, and when I did some made it all about me, clearly demonstrating the message was lost.

I went down a few rabbit holes, looking for who all got dismantled while I was away (on a vacation I had planned regardless of the situation here, long before shit hit the fan) and saw blocktrades admit there's a problem under some cryptofinally character's final shit-show.

A lot of people have left because of various munted shitshows we've had, and the last iteration not only made people leave, but many who stayed went from actively engaging to 100% curation (without comments) and that's how come we ended up with the precipitous dropoff in interaction, sadly.

=^..^=