New Goals or "Extending" a Goal? What to do When You Reach a Milestone...

A little over a month back, I reached one of my long term goals of staking 100,000 CCC tokens.

In a sense, this milestone marks the primary long-term goal I set for this account, way back in the old days of Steem-Engine when CCC tokens were first created and then subsequently carried forward to Hive-Engine… and now we are here!

CC0003-InTheSun.jpg

First Goal Reached!

The ”secondary” goal — and basically the point of striving to reach 100,000 CCC — with that was to support creative and artistic content on Hive with upvotes of ”substance” enough to serve as a meaningful extra reward for those creating this type of content.

Currently, my 100% upvote is worth about 17 CCC, which is pretty good, and actually worth more than my Hive upvote. However...

Reaching the milestone made me pause and consider the whole process of not only ”setting goals” but more importantly what happens once the goal has been reached?

CC0067-Shadow-Sun.JPG

Revisit and Re-evaluate?

Of course, one school of thought would be to simply go forward, doing what was done before, simply setting a new goal with the proverbial ”bar” in a higher place.

By that metric, I might just make my next goal 200,000 CCC tokens staked.

That said, as a curator, I know that’s going to somewhat happen all by itself, simply because CCC rewards 50% (as I recall) in staked tokens. So if I just keep curating, my staked balance will keep growing, regardless of whether or not I make that my formal goal.

CC0014-SunCat1.jpg

Adding Something Completely New?

For me, the more interesting option is to pick a completely new objective and focus on that instead... which could be anything from building completely different asset to setting some kind of content creation and/or engagement goal.

Not that I was planning to give up on CCC, mind you! But we cats do have a notoriously short span of attention! I'm even considering publishing regular "curated collections."

For the moment, I am mostly pondering the possibilities. Until something really strikes me, I am planning to slowly increase my holdings of INDEX tokens. The don't fluctuate much, but they do give off a constant stream of "microdividends."

=^..^=

Curator Cat, August 5th, 2022

Sort:  

I've been using the account @vagabondspirit to curate CCC posts. I've been upvoting posts with original drawing (well, at least what appears to be original drawings). Here is the trail on PeakD

#creativecoin seems to be suffering an increase in tag spam. I think that dedicated curation accounts are the most effective way to discourage the abuse.

As for goals on HIVE, coin supply gradually inflate; so I like to judge my account on the position in the CCC richlist. It appears that your account is in the top 20 accounts ... which is sweet.

@vagabondspirit has about 32,000 coins and is on the second page. My goal was to grow it t0 30,000. I passed the goal. Unfortunately, one also has to think of the monetary value of the curation rewards and CCC has been tumbling in price.

!hivebits

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Contest: Nominate a symbol for the quark.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @curatorcat.ccc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.
You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!