Una lectura que salió mal: The Enemy // A reading gone wrong: The Enemy

in Hive Book Clublast year

¡Hola amigos lectores! En el día de hoy les traigo la reseña de The Enemy de Sarah Adams.

Hello fellow readers! Today I bring you the review of The Enemy by Sarah Adams.

The enemy.png
Cover made in Canva. Image

0001-39581624287_2.png

¿De qué trata? - What is it about?

The enemy es una comedia romántica que nos narra la historia de June Broaden y Ryan Henderson, estos dos se detestan desde la escuela. Al graduarse Ryan se fue a estudiar a otro país para ser chef y June se quedó en la ciudad. Unos años después ella abrió una pastelería con su mejor amiga Stacy. Ahora esta amiga se está por casar con Logan, que resulta ser el mejor amigo de Ryan. Obviamente June será la madrina de bodas y Ryan el padrino. Así que después de tantos años sin ningún tipo de contacto se volverán a encontrar.
June no puede olvidar esa noche del baile de graduación donde casi se besan, pero tiene la esperanza de que esa chispa que había entre ellos se haya desvanecido con la distancia.
¿Será realmente el caso? ¿O donde hubo fuego cenizas quedan?

The enemy is a romantic comedy that tells the story of June Broaden and Ryan Henderson, these two have disliked each other since school. After graduating Ryan went to study in another country to become a chef and June stayed in the city. A few years later she opened a bakery with her best friend Stacy. Now this friend is about to marry Logan, who happens to be Ryan's best friend. Obviously June will be the bridesmaid and Ryan the best man. So after so many years without any contact they will meet again.
June can't forget that prom night where they almost kissed, but she's hopeful that the spark between them has faded with distance.
Will this really be the case, or where there was fire, ashes remain?

0001-39581624287_2.png

Opinión - Opinión

Lo que me llevó a leer este libro fue que es de la misma autora de las que les reseñe un libro hace poco que me gustó mucho: The Match. Además está historia está dentro del mismo mundo, ya que la protagonista es una de las hermanas del protagonista masculino de la otra novela. Si les soy sincera lo que más me atrajo para leerlo es esto, quería saber más de la vida de la otra pareja, al menos tuve pequeños vistazos pero no los que me imaginaba. Igual estoy conforme al respecto.

What led me to read this book was that it is by the same author that I recently reviewed a book that I really liked: The Match. Besides, this story is in the same world, since the main character is one of the sisters of the male protagonist of the other novel. If I'm honest, what attracted me to read it is this, I wanted to know more about the life of the other couple, at least I had little glimpses but not the ones I imagined. I'm still happy about it.

No considero que esté libro sea muy bueno, no los quiero comparar pero la verdad que nada que ver en uno con el otro. Me costó una barbaridad terminarlo y eso que no era tan largo. Había cosas en la historia que no me convencían, ciertas situaciones que me chocaban mucho. Ya estamos en un siglo avanzado como para pretender normalizar que un hombre cualquiera entre a tu casa cuando se le plazca, sin tu consentimiento, usando una llave auxiliar que encontró en una ocasión en la que tampoco fue invitado. Me parece mucho a esta altura.
El tipo es lo más bueno que hay, pero no me parece que se sigan mostrando estás cosas como normales y que la protagonista lo naturalice tanto en plan "bueno qué haces acá, ándate" y él no le hacía caso. Yo ya estaría llamando a la policía como mínimo.
Considero que hay maneras más sanas que se pudieron usar para hacer funcionar todo.
Esa parte no me gustó para nada, y pasó durante todo el libro más o menos. Así que no. Siento que debí dejarlo y no continuar, pero no puedo con mi genio e igual lo termine.

I don't consider this book to be very good, I don't want to compare them but the truth is that one has nothing to do with the other. It took me a lot to finish it and it wasn't that long. There were things in the story that did not convince me, certain situations that shocked me a lot. We are already in an advanced century to pretend to normalize that a random man enters your house whenever he pleases, without your consent, using an auxiliary key he found in an occasion in which he was not invited either. Seems like a lot to me at this point.
The guy is as good as it gets, but it doesn't seem to me that these things are still shown as normal and that the protagonist naturalizes it so much as "well, what are you doing here, go away" and he didn't listen to her. I would already be calling the police at least.
I think there are healthier ways that could have been used to make it all work.
I didn't like that part at all, and it happened throughout the whole book more or less. So, no. I feel like I should have put it down and not continued, but I can't handle my temper and finished it anyway.

Dejando esto de lado, no fue una mala historia en sí, está bien para pasar el rato, es la típica historia de dos personas que parecen odiarse pero la realidad es que se gustaron desde siempre y en vez de dar el primer paso como personas normales decidieron gastarse bromas y llevar su rivalidad a un lado extremo. Pero al final resulta que siempre se quisieron.

Putting that aside, it wasn't a bad story per se, it's okay to pass the time, it's the typical story of two people who seem to hate each other but the reality is that they liked each other since forever and instead of taking the first step like normal people they decided to play pranks on each other and take their rivalry to an extreme side. But in the end it turns out that they always loved each other.

También hay algo con June, la protagonista, carga con un peso grande de una relación pasada que no funcionó y no le contó a nadie lo sucedido ni la razón de porque decidió romper con él a nada de casarse. Es algo que la atormenta y Ryan será el encargado de que empiece a soltar esta parte de su vida que había mantenido en secreto.

There is also something with June, the protagonist, she carries a heavy burden of a past relationship that didn't work out and she didn't tell anyone what happened or the reason why she decided to break up with him just before getting married. It is something that torments her and Ryan will be in charge of making her start to let go of this part of her life that she had kept secret.

0001-39581624287_2.png

En fin, ya les di más o menos el pantallazo por si deciden leerlo o no. Por mí parte no creo que lo vuelva a leer nunca. Aparte, como les dije, se me hizo denso. Sentía que no lo terminaba nunca, estuve más de una semana para leer las ultimas 100 páginas. Hasta casi caigo en un bloqueo lector, menos mal que no sucedió. No salió muy bien está lectura, pero al menos tengo la experiencia y me saque el gusto jajaja.
Bueno eso es todo por ahora. Gracias por llegar hasta acá y leer.
¡Hasta la próxima!

Anyway, I've more or less given you the screenshot in case you decide to read it or not. I don't think I'll ever read it again. Besides, as I told you, it was dense. I felt like I never finished it, it took me more than a week to read the last 100 pages. I even almost fell into a reading block, thank goodness that didn't happen. It didn't go very well this reading, but at least I have the experience and I got the pleasure out of it hahaha.
Well that's all for now. Thanks for making it this far and reading.
See you next time!

0001-39581624287_2.png

Separador de texto hecho en Canva - Text separator made in Canva

Traductor - Translation

Sort:  

Has sido votado por

PROYECTO ENLACE

'Conectando Ideas y Comunidades'

PROYECTO ENLACE es un proyecto de curación de habla hispana enfocado en recompensar contenido de calidad y apoyar autores en su proceso de crecimiento en HIVE.

Creemos y apostamos por el futuro de esta gran plataforma, y estamos muy emocionados de poder hacerla crecer junto a esta comunidad. Así que te invitamos a usar nuestra etiqueta ENLACE y estar atento a todas las actividades que tenemos preparadas y que estaremos publicando en breve.

¿QUIERES AUTOMATIZAR TUS GANANCIAS DE CURACIÓN? SE PARTE DEL PROYECTO ENLACE APOYANDO A NUESTRO TRAIL EN HIVE.VOTE INGRESA AQUÍ PARA CONOCER LOS DETALLES.

¿QUIERES INVERTIR ENLACE? DESCUBRE COMO HACERLO Y GENERAR INGRESOS DE FORMA SEMANAL MEDIANTE TU DELEGACIÓN DE HP AQUÍ TE EXPLICAMOS COMO.

Te invitamos a participar en nuestro servidor de Discord: https://discord.gg/3S9y7BbWfS

Atentamente

EQUIPO ENLACE 2022

¡Gracias por el apoyo!

This is cute chicklit! I am going to have to check them out. Where do you read this book?

The truth is that I read it in pdf lol, it's on kindle and I suppose that it can also be obtained in a physical version in some countries.

I don't think I'll be checking this book out. That's because, from reading the first part of your review, I had already began to string together what the end might be like and I got it correctly(well, maybe not everything).

Meanwhile, I enjoyed this review. Thank you!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my review, I hope I didn't say too much, but yes, plots like these you can find elsewhere, they are predictable.

It was fun to read. I actually found it helpful.

Congratulations @erigm! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 12
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!

Congratulations @erigm! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 12
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!