You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: JANUARY BOOK REVIEW CONTEST | Sapiens. From animals to gods

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

I was actually looking at this book few days ago in an online shop as I was searching for a different one. Thank you for this review. The more I search them more I want to get it :)

Sort:  

@ewkaw, I added my opinion it here. do have a time to check it please. this is an intresting, notable a mention book... BUT it is questionable. not the top league. too popular. so, it depends on your level and background - some folks will definitely find it intresting, others will consider a skin-deep.

was a pleasure for me to notice you in this thread! are you an avid book lover?..

Thanks I read it :)
Good to see some more critical opinions as well.
I suppose the book is for common reader to get to know the topic better. I do not expect a scientific paper from it. Having it written in simpler language makes it more accessible then. Maybe that was the purpose? To reach to wider audience.

I used to read a lot more. Lack of time now I guess and limited access to books in Polish ;)

I suppose the book is for common reader to get to know the topic better.

exactly. and not at all so. its definitely a 'simplification' of hard questions - but a load of fresh and unusual angles and point of views. it ruins well-established routines, and displays we (folks of XX century) live in the world of fantasies... and a lot of other generations used to it, too, they just had a different fantasies they were fighting for... that is extremely intresting reading (thats why it become a bestseller, sure thing), just... intelligent thinkful reader should be cautious and dont take all of it as 100% truth, a critical approach is needed too. I will try to suggest it to my babygirl, she dont like her history textbook (which is 200% stupid, indeed).

ruins well-established routines.

I think that is good. Makes you wonder and hopefully look further to more intellectually demanding sources I guess. Either way it shows new way of looking at things, or only cements the things you know.

does the Polish translation of the book exist? (I found two (!) Russian different translations ;)))

Yes it does :) I already looked at it online.