My thoughts on The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez

in Hive Book Club2 years ago

image.png
Image Source: Screen shot from my Obsidian page generated by Readwise for this book

I believe I came across The Friend Zone in the summer reading guide by Anne Bogel of Modern Mrs. Darcy. I love a good book series and The Friend Zone is the first in a series she highlighted something from. By the way, I'm a series reading purist - you must start with book 1 and read in order. I have very few reading rules, but this is definitely one of my rules.

I have struggled to read fiction over the last few years. I think nearly all fiction books are slow in parts. While this one was no exception to my long held belief, it was still a wonderful story that really did a very good job of moving along in a believable and natural way. I did skim read several sections but I still got the gist of the story. This is a book that actually gets much, much more interesting as you read more of it so I found myself slowing down more towards the end than I often do.

Jimenez doesn't just write a good closed-door romance scene. She is tackling some really tough issues here including family relationships, unmet expectations, reproductive health, and grief. As someone who has dealt with multi-week periods and bleeding so bad it caused anemia, I identified easily with Kristen and appreciated that Jimenez talked about these issues in an open and honest way.

Additionally, the character development was exceptionally rich. Even though we didn't hear or see much of Brandon, I got to know him and really wanted to know more about him. I can easily see other books being developed on some of the characters we met like Javier and Tyler.

My only wish for the book was that it was a little shorter. Again, most fiction books (and many non-fiction books) are too bloated for my taste so this may just be an issue I have. Otherwise, this was a fun read and I can’t wait to dive into the next book in the series.

I thought I’d end this “review” by looking back at a few of the lines I highlighted and and adding some commentary on why that line captured my attention so here goes.

"Food was my currency. Hungry was an emotion for me. I felt that shit in my soul."

As someone who has struggled with food all my life and who doesn't really experience hunger as a feeling, I am always intrigued at different perspectives on hunger and relationships to food. I thought this description was brilliant.

"I didn’t do hysterics. Never had. When in crisis, I became systematic and efficient. And the transition was now complete."

I also do not do hysterics - at least not in a crisis. I become calm, cool, and ordered. A list begins forming and I begin ticking things off of it in militant fashion. Unlike Kristen, the fallout when I finally stop is emotionally brutal.

"He was not kidding. His sisters were crazy. I loved those bitches. It was like running with a pack of female alpha wolves fighting for the pack leader position. It was so much fun."

I love honest descriptions like this of family dynamics. The women in my family get shit done and I love it. I'm pretty sure others might describe us as a pack of alpha wolves fighting for pack leader and I love us.

Sort:  

Nice work here... gives me an idea of what the book is like without having seen it.

Have you considered adding posts like this to DreemPort? https://staging.dreemport.com/

You'll get some more eyes on your work and you'll find some others you may enjoy reading.

I've got to get into Dreemport better. I will try to figure that out next.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Looks like you resonated with this book. I think the lengthy nature of fictitious books is what really ropes people in.

It's a lot of commitment no doubt, but it's always a joyous ride

That's a good perspective. I'll have to keep that in mind.

Her books is really amazing 😍🤩 as you have penned down you sure enjoyed reading it.
Thanks dear for sharing
Reading from @dreemport.

That first sentence got me too. It's really herd for me to read books now but I will like to so I can also get to keep some good memories from them.

Popped in from dreemport.