The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life by Mark Manson

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson kept popping up on my recommendation list. It took me a long time to click because I thought, sure, another self-help book? I've heard it all. The title is clickbait'ish and I've heard this hard-hitting, in your face style from Gary Vee. I am a fan of Vaynerchuk and follow him, so what else is there right?

But one day, I did finally click on it, if only to stop it from popping on my feed, and long story short, I came to the end, scribbled notes for myself, and now recommending the book to you. If you are floating in slumberland, it will kick you awake. Even better, listen to the audiobook which I did. Manson, as the narrator is very engaging. Be prepared for some scolding sorta schooling hehe.

images (1).png

Some of my favourites from this book...

24 Hours in a Finite Number of Days on Earth:
There is only so much time to give to "giving f*cks" so pick and choose where your energy goes. This book is not about not caring about anything but more so about focusing on the things that are really important to you. Don't waste your time on the negatives and the useless, but focus on what brings you joy and make that your universe.

Fault vs Responsibility:
When bad things happen, do not blame the situation or individuals, but be responsible for your own response to those challenges. I love how he turned around Uncle Ben's With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility to With Great Responsibility Comes Great Power. We need to take our power back by choosing our reaction to a situation.

Some things is your fault, for example, if you hit a car, then you are responsible. that's a given. But what about when someone leaves a baby at your doorstep. It is not your fault, but what you choose to do is still your responsibility. as is the outcome of that choice. Another example he gave was Malala Yousofzai, that it was not her fault that she got shot, but it is her responsibility how she moves forward from that point. Does she stop her cause or keep fighting for what she believes in.

The Struggle Is Real:
And is what makes us. Life will throw all kinds of curveballs, that's what being alive is. As we overcome one challenge, another will find its way. So, there's no need to wallow in self-pity about how bad life is, it is to understand that is the art of living. We do what we must and keep growing.

page divider orange.png

And a quick one to throw in before I wrap it, we cannot and must not covert someone else's "happiness". With social media postings, we are constantly bombarded with bigger, better, richer and the like. We think that's what we want, that's what will take us out of our misery, but will it really? One man's beach holiday dream could be another's sand-in-crack nightmare.

There's so much more in this book, that I'd love for you to read/listen to. I give this book a 4.5/5. It resonated with me, and I love the no sugar-coating, non-pc style. It's an easy read/listen with some hard-hitting truths. He laid all cards on the table, simple and clear. I guess, he didn't really give a f*ck about what we thought about it🤣

Thank you for reading,
Till next time, Carpe Diem!!
Sh33la

Sort:  

First off, I expected a video to this since thats one of your forté but I'd allow it. 😏

Secondly ma'am, I think you might need to turn that rating to 5 or at least a 4.9. 😅

This is not your usual "self-help" book, Mark even wrote another, everything is fucked a book about hope. Wait till you read that 😅

img_0.9319711094866014.jpg

I knew it was a matter of time before you read this one since you do most of your reading online and this book pops up in any database out there as a top 5.

Mark wrote this book so well, he become a proponent of different life changing ideas, like the do something principle, the analogy of the disappointment panda, etc.

Thank you for sharing this review, I needed this reminder 😊

Hahaha, thank you for allowing a non-video post hehe
I have not been able to get on 3Speak for a bit now
Can't upload, can't playback other videos through peakd either...

Consider a 4.5 a 5.3 hahaha

Everything is f*cked ... ok, next on my list :D

Spot on, I follow Mark Manson and his blog. And I must say this book packs a lot of value for its size. I have witnessed people criticising it without reading it first. True the self help industry is more of marketing and feel good oriented. I even wrote a post about it. But this is definitely worth a read and it is not just another gag with a catchy name.

Amazing review. 👏 keep up the good work.

He has a blog?
I'm going to go look for it :D
I went into it with reading reviews from fans or critics
In a way, I am glad coz he filled an empty slate with so many goodies :D

Thank you @shubhwaj

True, he has some really great insights about life philosophy, and not limited to just cozy and dovey ones. That’s what I like about him the most, he slaps you with reality. He is present at markmanson.org, Check it out, you’d love it. Thanks for stopping by.

Best wishes and Love
Keep Hiving 😊

Well said @shubhwaj 🙌🏽👌🏽

Impressive review!

I have had the ebook copy on my device for months now... Your review just gave me the needed nudge to read it!

Thanks for sharing 🙂

It will give you a boost in motivation
And it is a very easy read :D

so here is a strange thing...
i just saw a ted talk with a woman with basically the same idea
like - almost the SAME exact title. and same talk

and i'm thinking how did that happen??? because when I read in the comments - someone said "this is just like..." the book you just mentioned.

but - regardless - i love the concept hahaha because it is SO true.
we are limited.
we only have so much

she called it having a f*ck budget LOL
so you would know how many you had to use/give/spend hahahahaha

anyway - i love the concept! but i'm so curious as to how both of these came out at the same time???

or maybe one is really angry that the other stole the idea hahaha

Or maybe something's in the air
To get people to snap out of wasting their time on nonsense and living their best life :D

and you know what - i think there was even another book or talk with a very similar theme! like - almost identical.

either way - the more people saying it, the better!

because I agree. we just have to cherish the time we have.
hmmm come to think of it - I guess technically I did something similar in the Udemy course. I provided a schedule for people to track their daily activities so they could see how to manage their time budget better for blogging also. Because so often, people say "oh i don't have time for that." but of course they have time for it. they are just choosing to waste their time on silly things. or nonsense as you put it! totally accurate

How long do they sit in front of the TV, on the couch, zoning out to sitcom after sitcom. Nothing wrong with relaxing and entertainment. but - just be mindful of whether it becomes time-wasting. and then - reclaim that time and apply it to something soul-lifting! hahaha

so -I guess - yep - hahahaha it really is a recurring theme these days! LOL

we can be glad that we're apart of the ones straining to be on the right side of time-management.
(and i say straining about me. because I surely can be convinced to take some lazy days at times. hahahahahahahahah)

love you lady!!!

Actually, you are right
After finishing this book, there are similar titles popping up on my recommendation list now - aiks ;D

hahaha see???? nuts!

but its ok - like i said. the more people that can get it... the better hehehe

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank you fambalam
You the best :D

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hello @kaerpediem!

Wow, I'm glad to read this article. I have been meditating on how I face some situations that I give more importance than it deserves.

I agree with your writing because in my reflections I am working with lovingly watering everything that causes me annoyance and thus overcoming the negative, the bad that arises each day to live one day at a time.

I definitely love this post, it's what I'm putting into practice, thanks for writing it.

Victoria

I am also guilty of giving the negative more energy than it deserves and not because there are results worthy of it
I am trying to put this into practice

Gardening is a great way to shake off all that negativity

Have a wonderful weekend 😊

Sounds like my kind of book.
I didn't get down to reading your post when I saw it the other day because I am not too fond of those four letter words and think nothing good can come out of those.. a rap on the Knuckle for me for being miss goody two shoes.
Don't judge the book by its title.
I would give the book anywhere between 4-5 too for the message it sends out I guess.
Thanks for the share.

I used to be just like that
Then I started listening to Gary Vee, that man has great messages but curses and swears. In fact, he is known for it and has been even questioned for being so crude and crass
Now that you mention it, I am thinking... aiks, it doesn't bother me so much anymore unless I catch my kids saying it, then I'd flip.

LOL hmm what if my boys say that.. I might faint hehe or may just be lost for words for once.