Let me share a Reading app I spent time with and the downside of reading online.

in Hive Book Clublast year (edited)

Brown Doodle Company profile Presentation.jpg

Hello to all the book lovers of this community; how all of you have been? I was inactive for the past three days as I was busy with some stuff outside this online world, which was somewhat tiring. Thus for today, let me share with you one of the Reading apps where I spent some time if I wanted to relax my mind. As I have shared in my previous post here, I was into Romance stories, Horror, or Fantasy. I had that imaginative mind somehow the reason why I am always driven into another world every time I read.
I accidentally discovered this App while browsing on Facebook sometime last year. It was an advertisement, Synopsis of a story, Aggressive Wife. Since it was catchy, I browsed and instantly got the hook.
Thus, before giving a story overview, here is what you need to know about;

image.png

You can find the App name at the upper left side, Joyread, and like other apps, you can add the book you want to read in the Library. That is my account, and currently, I have four stories saved.

image.png

You can also search for some stories with the genre you prefer and even the language of your choice.

You may be asked, are stories FREE to read? My answer is NO; you need Coins and Pearls to unlock after the free few chapters. BUT you don't need to worry as you can earn some pearls by claiming the daily rewards and watching some ads.

You need to click the Check-in and will receive pearls daily (varies per day). Continuous doing it daily basis could make you earn more.
Aside from that, you could complete some tasks such as inviting another user, sharing a book on your Facebook account, etc. Watching ads is where you can earn 50 pearls, enough to read two chapters or three.

Lucky draw, you have Two chances to pick a card per week. Another two after watching the ads again. So last week that is what I won.

The good thing for me with this App was that it was cheaper than other reading apps and even in Rewards.

Back to the story I am currently reading, the Plot was;

Madeline Grant was married to Noah Quincy, who came from one of the most influential families in Imperia. She had a twin sister Angie Grant. They are living happily, and she is pregnant when the head of the Quincy Family, Gordon, Noah's grandfather, is killed one day. Based on the video obtained, the Killer was a pregnant woman. It doesn't end up there as all the pieces of evidence; it leads to Madeline as the Killer.
This makes Noah mad, and he lets the police drag her into the police station despite her bulging tummy. She struggled and called her husband, sitting in his car about to leave with her twin Angie, to try her best for him to listen to her explanation. Thus, Noah didn't bother hearing her side even though she stumbled and it started to rain. She was left on her knees, begging under the droplets of water.

On the way to the station, the car suddenly stopped, she was dragged out, and the rest of history. She was killed! Just like what usually happened in the movies, the police said she tried to escape, which led to her death.
Tragic? Nope, that wasn't the end, as we are only starting.
That night, someone helped her, and she gave birth to twins! The other was given to her husband (Colton), and the other was left in her care (Thomas).
After five years, she was back in town, having a different look yet the same name. Determine to seek vengeance and catch the REAL Killer!

I was so engrossed reading and I could no longer wait for the next day for the Free Pearls to unlock the next chapter. So, I decided to purchase using y Gcash app!

After my transaction was done, I was already grinning thinking I won't be left hanging and thinking about what happened next. Thus, my grin turned to a sour face when I saw ONGOING, SCROLL UP FOR MORE, SENT REQUEST TO AUTHOR FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER!

image.png

I hurriedly checked and found out that the story was indeed ONGOING and up to chapter 51! Darn! This is the downside part of choosing to read online rather than books! Sometimes some stories need to be completed, and it takes time before the Authors next update. I was falling into a trap before. Get hooked, and buy some coins, only to find out the later story was incomplete or, instead, it was indeed a novel, meaning I need to spend a thousand if I want to finish reading. That is why it was my habit to check these details first before reading. However, I sometimes slipped once I got excited!
How about you? Have you experienced the same?

Lead image was edited using Canva
Image sources was screenshot from my account in the reading app.

hphdivider.gif

Be part of the hiveph Community | Stay Update through our discord channel Let's help build each other!

Sort:  

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@lhes(1/5) tipped @ishwoundedhealer (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Hahaha you are really like that kapag nagbabasa at na hook na ng bongga no. Well, understandable lalo na at nakakabitin nga naman. Nangyari na din sakin yan pero dalwang beses ko lang pinag bigyan ang sarili ko. That time mataas pa si Bch kaya gora ako. Pero ebook naman yun, complete na talaga and after ma purchase ko may copy na ako at wala ng bitin ahaha. Sa mga ganitong app di ako naga try na mag buy. Ang ginagawa ko, dun ako sa free talaga at di na need n coins ahahaha. Anyways kamukha nito yonf NovelNow ah.

Haha oo, yes, I always fell into the trap!
Lalo na.kapag climax, lol
Minsan credit card pa gamit ko 🤣

Hahahahaha, pero na caught din ng story ns yan ang attention ko parang gusto ko basahinnnnn

Nabitin nga me diyan, Buti nga naka move on na ako doon sa last!
Naalala mo? Pumunta ako Ng National book store para maghanap copy 🤣

Congratulations @lhes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Pati ako nabitin hahaha 😂 I wanted to hear more about the plot. While I haven't tried paying online to read books, it seems like worth it siya kapag maganda talaga yung kwento 😍

I only pay online if I get hooked. If not I patiently wait for the author's next update.
Though sometimes I restrain myself reading na lng ..gastos..

Thanks for dropping by

!PIZZA

Dati mahilig ako sa ebooks.. Now wala na time haha

Wala na time ano?
Kaya ako Minsan na lng nabasa, nabubudol pa

As a fellow book lover, I can relate to your experience with the Joyread app. It sounds like a great platform to discover new stories, especially with the option to search for books by genre and language. However, I also understand the frustration of discovering that a story is ongoing and having to wait for the author to release the next chapter, the suspense.

I'm glad that the app is cheaper than other reading platforms and has reward options that allow you to earn coins and pearls. It's great to find another platform to discover new stories and immerse ourselves in different worlds. Thanks for sharing your experience.

I am glad someone understands me,, that is why I wrote if here as I was kina still frustrated.
Based on the comments, it seems the author is taking time for the next update..Maybe busy or writers block.

I've been into several online apps, for reading and so far this is the cheapest.
Novelcat and others were so expensive.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate it

!PIZZQ

Just how many reading apps do you have/use?
With all this reading you do, you should write your own romantic stories!

I have three I guess!
Write my own story? That crossed my mind already and if I would, for sure my character would be maldita

hehe your character would be Matilda!?
Now this made me laugh, salamat for that?
I think you should write a Matilda story now!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @lhes.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.