Visiting Ma Ruey Library : Reading Investment, Business & Startup books

in Hive Book Club11 months ago

In Bangkok, if you’re tired working from cafe or co-working space, public libraries can be your alternative destination to either work, read book or get inspired.

There are many public libraries scattered throughout the city but one library that I managed to visit multiple times was Ma Ruey Library which was located inside SET (The Stock Exchange of Thailand Building). The library has quite extensive collections especially for finance related literature and a great place to be if you’re looking air-conditioned space or simply just want to read book.

20230518_110632.jpg

I bet there are many whales inside that building

Ma Ruey library is also very accessible as its location is only 5 minutes walk from Thailand Cultural Center MRT station. As you get inside the building, there are scanners that will scan your bags and the security sometimes will ask you where to go. When they ask, you can say, the library or the museum called Investory. The library is located on the ground floor, only one escalator down from the entrance door and on the left side from the investory.

20230518_170721.jpg

I didn’t get to check out the museum but I took picture of the statues in front of it which is bull and bear. Inside the library there are plenty comfortable chairs with the sockets on the ground. You are also allowed to bring small snacks and drinks inside the library. So, it’s very convenient place to be as you can bring coffee inside while trying to be productive. The library isn’t always packed and if you go in the morning, you can see some people reading the magazine and newspapers.

When I was inside the library, I managed to read 5 books/day. I went there a couple of times and it was the most amount I read throughout my wandering. I normally read one to 2 books a day that I get from the hostel’s shelves but inside that library, I got to read quite a bit. I wanted to share some of the books I managed to read and the ones that are pretty intriguing. The books inside that library is mostly about business, finance, marketing and investments.

So, those were mostly the books I read from there and today I am sharing some of the most memorable and helpful books I read during my time spent there.

thumbnail.jpg

· The Bitcoin Standard Saifedean Ammous

If you wanted to learn more about Bitcoin, this is the book to start. Before actually reading the book, I thought this was not beginner friendly but the book is pretty elaborate and beginner’s friendly. It will make you appreciate the technology even more and how it could change the way we see money or known as "fiat".

thumbnail.jpg

· Blockchain Revolution by Don Tapscott and Alex Tapscott

20230518_113202.jpg

Blockchain Revolution is a book I’ve been meaning to read but never got the chance to. It’s quite intriguing book that also lays out some example and use case of the technology. There are many examples that you can learn from and perhaps inspire you to create the next Dapps that could solve other people’s problem. I would definitely recommend giving this a read. It also will help you understand better what blockchain is and what it does to transform our future as a society and even on an individual level.

thumbnail.jpg

· Fintech For Dummies by Steven O'Hanlon et all

20230520_153407.jpg

I have reviewed this book in another post briefly and I definitely recommend this book if you’re into startups or fintech. This book also has an idea how to manage a good team and how to do sales pitch and find VC money. I am sure that in reality it can be a different ballgame but learning how things roughly worked has helped me understand things better.

thumbnail.jpg

· The Chinese Way to Wealth and Prosperity: 8 Timeless Strategies for Achieving Financial Success by Michael Justin Lee

It’s such a mouthful title but because I was intrigued with their ways of living especially when it comes to wealth. In Indonesia, majority of the top 1% are of Chinese descent and even my mom told me some of their strategies to be prosperous. To me, this book just confirmed what I’ve been taught but also learned a lot more the reasoning behind them all. It’s quite intriguing and has lessons that you can apply in your life.

thumbnail.jpg

· Personal Finance For Dummies by Eric Tyson

This book basically told me that I was too poor. It re-shaped the way I see savings, debts and finally making me take an action to my personal financial issues. There are so many things in my personal finance that I needed to adjust and nothing ever made sense than that book.

Though at the same time some parts of the book are also regurgitating some common financial talks and advises out there. But I was thoroughly inspired by that book and wanting to redefine the way I look at personal finance. So, it's not that bad afterall especially given the title " for dummies", it lives up to its name. It's bite-sized and digestible read. Also perfect if it's your first time jumping into personal finance.

thumbnail.jpg

There were many more books that I read during my visit to Ma ruey library. But those I gave a brief reviewed are the books that was all truly inspiring to me. They add and refreshing some knowledge I had about blockchain, cryptocurrency, bitcoin and even Fintech. If you have time to read, pick one of those book and who knows, maybe you'd be a whale one day 🤣

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.png
𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢 & 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘰𝘪𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘳 . 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨, 𝘢 𝘳𝘦𝘧𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘭𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸𝘭𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦. 𝘚𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴, 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘰𝘱𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵. 𝘖𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘶𝘦 𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘢𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘴𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘢𝘺. 𝘚𝘩𝘦'𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘤𝘤𝘢𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘧𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘳𝘺 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦𝘴. 𝘍𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘫𝘰𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯! 𝘋𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥 𝘵𝘰𝘰.
Sort:  

Those book are great. The have some great books the and it is a nice place to visit

it definitely was a good place to go.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!