Walden — Henry David Thoreau | Literary Classics #16

Walden (1854)

By Henry David Thoreau

image.png
Source

I usually read a few books per month but Thoreau's Walden put a halt to that routine. For the last two months, all I've read is that book and I'm not chiefly perturbed for this reason. It is one of the most known works of transcendentalist philosophy and it does pack a punch from a literary angle. I took my sweet time with it, re-read many portions of it — yet I've found myself witless trying to write about it. To this point, I'm convinced whatever I put into words isn't going to be the summation of all the thoughts I had reading Walden.

For anyone who never had any clue about what is Walden — it's a collection of essays by Henry David Thoreau when he went to live by the Walden pond, in the cabin he built by himself. The essays range from the natural beauty of the Walden pond, the habitat, and ecosystem around it, the virtues of living a simple life to prioritize what's more important in life — enlightenment, knowledge, contentedness, transcendentalism; to socio-political engines of then and condition of men.

Yet in retrospect, it's not the philosophy of the world and life that pops back up in my mind immediately when I think of Walden, it's the battle of ants! In one essay, Thoreau was describing his non-human "brute neighbors", as he calls them, and how his life was affected by them. A peculiar mice species that never saw any human before made a nest under his house. A rabbit that burrowed and went about its business knocking on his house every day. A family of partridge that frequented the clearing near his house; Thoreau thought of them as his hens and chickens and he imagined them to be intelligent. If those birds are truly like chickens, I know who'd very much disagree in this case.

One day he witnessed a large-scale war among red ants and black ants, which were double the size of their opponent. But reds were more in number. Thoreau went on saying, these battles are no less horrifying and massive than the human wars, and the ants were far more resolute than human soldiers, yet no history of their wars is recorded in history. And then he proceeded to give an enticing description of the battle, dramatizing it with combatants and their angles, climaxes, and aftermath — making it ultimately recorded, permanently. Perhaps the most famous ant war in history? Here I am, re-imagining a war among different species of ants and a field filled with dead ants 250 years later and wondering why am I fixated on this particular thing from the book. Although I suspect, and in a sort of uncanny manner that I'm chiefly intrigued by the way he portrayed something so common and inconsequential from a human perspective that it seemed grand.

And the second thing is the description of Walden pond itself. Thoreau boasted the purity of the water of the pond and the innate beauty of it in so many words that the pond has attained mythical status. You'd think there are no ponds purer, deeper than Walden in the whole wide world! In winter, the pond would freeze and some people would come and cut down ice cubes and haul them back. I wondered whether I could get an ice cube of Walden water from here and now!

Perhaps Thoreau exaggerated the attributes of the pond a bit. That doesn't bother me. Why would you doubt a pond's purity and quality of life on the bank of it when you live in a concrete box?
I've been thinking about an off-the-grid lifestyle for a few years now. Living in a lake house is a dream I've cherished for long. Away from civilization and the concrete jungle of men. Thoreau's habitat, the wild animals he cohabited with, and the seasonal changes that decorate Walden with distinct features — reading them only called to me, to take the initiative. Or at least, to plan ahead.
I've met people who immediately put on a smirk listening to this or reading this—as they assume I cannot possibly spend time in a secluded cabin without internet and modernity. I know they speak out of their own inability, doubt, and fear, and they are right in assessing their weakness, while they wrongfully project it onto me. Where I know pretty well, I can be content living such a life without any issues.

However, it is not about separating yourself from society or living in solitary. Such was not the case with Thoreau as well, as he had many visitors regularly. These visitors are not ones who break the serenity of such a habitat, they enforce it. Living in nature and being a social animal doesn't have to be mutually exclusive. However, choosing the right company is imperative. It is highly unlikely I'm going to be friends with someone who likes to Bar-B-Q in the woods, stereo volume turned up high.

I think I'll visit the book someday again, hopefully in a similar setting the book boasts.

divider 1.png

hive format 2.jpg

Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Sort:  

Hi @notacinephile! Walden seems like an interesting read from your review of it. If I had read this book, I'm sure I would fixate on the philosophy of the world rather than on the battle of ants. This shows that even the little things such as the way ants live make sense, sometimes.

BTW, for someone who lives in a busy city with all the hustle and bustle, I would not mind an off-the-gird lifestyle. Don't worry, I won't smirk. 😄

Interesting is an understatement if you ask me and I'm more influenced by the book than I'm letting out in my writing. I've actually written another piece on the book several weeks ago and specifically on the philosophical parts so didn't include them in this post.

Thanks for not smirking! 😛 I grew up in a suburban area which is a city now, so the green I used to see as a kid are no longer there. So there is a sense of loss too, you know?

You can visit the pond you know. Stop by, and we will go there together :)

We will stay here...

https://northbridgeinn.com/

Its a 5 min drive, and probably a very nice walk

image.png

Looks quite nice...

image.png

Its very close to Boston, so I can show you around the MIT and Boston College campuses... The libraries... we can visit the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston... Next day can visit MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center, and I a couple of friends there who will be happy to show you around :) Then visit the Houghton Library at Harvard the following day if you wish :)

That sounds like a plan! I'd love that! And the inn looks cozy and not too modernist. I like that. Looks like a very old inn, that figures!

I was looking through the photos of the inn and then satellite images of Walden and some of the user captured photos. Even from satellite, you can see how clear Walden is! The neighboring ponds are not clear like that!

Well, I am glad you like it. Its just a 3 hour flight from here, and can be done as a weekend trip.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more