All about readers

in Hive Book Club2 years ago (edited)

It's no news that reading is extremely important to someone who needs to develop his/her language skills. Reading has other benefits which include learning new words or how words are properly used in sentences.

Many times have life brought to me the opportunity to read in different forms and I have never taken them for granted. All thanks to my high school principal who made sure the class (including me) read at least a page of that day's newspaper on assembly. Ever since then, reading has been part of my daily ritual.

Favorite time to read


I honestly don't have a favorite time to read except for some specific events, for example, my college exams.

During my years in school, I usually read at midnight preferably 12 am - 5 am. However, for some nights, I read from 9 pm till 4 am before sleeping. Mid-night reading was fun and I easily grabbed the content passed in the course notes.

Ever since I finished college, I stopped reading at the stated time above. As it is now, I don't have a particular or favorite time to read. But if I'm to pick a time, I'd say, I read when I'm coding (between 12 pm to 6 pm).
The type of coding books I read are mostly project documentation. On hive, I was once following a book series published by a hive user. I usually read her post just any time it pops up on my timeline. The times spent engaging on posts could be seen as my fav time to read too.


Favorite place to read

Back in my college days, my favorite place to read was in my room. My room was extremely comfortable. @emeka4 and @joshsticks28 in some cases loved joining me to read overnight before our exams.

When it comes to reading documentation, I enjoy it on my laptop. I have a few times read short documentations on the go with my mobile phone. It was awesome but a bit not enjoyable.

Reason why I enjoy a book


Before I start reading a book or documentation, I often try not to paint a picture of how It should be written. Instead, I let the intriguing paragraphs paint me a picture of how it is. In other words, I ride along with the paragraphs.

I have come to realize that I enjoy reading books that their paragraphs aren't more than 100 words. However, I have also enjoyed books with longer paragraphs but with a few examples of what is being explained or images in between paragraphs.

Reading on the foor

image.png

I would love to someday enjoy reading outdoor but my environment makes it impossible to give it a try because of the noises from almost everything around.

Most of my reading times are always indoors. I enjoy reading while lying on the floor shirtless. This act might seem funny for foreigners, but to me, it's already part of my daily activities. The weather in my country is always hot so reading shirtless indoors is what I love doing.

Reading outdoor, on a tree, on a bus, and a boat would be something I would love to try someday.

Intriguing and thoughtful messages


I honestly see no point in reading a book that won't leave a positive impact on my life. I love reading books that teach readers life lessons, thoughtful messages, and interesting storylines.


Reading is fun and important to grow in our society. Encourage somebody to read a page today.
I am inviting @ehizgabriel & @joshsticks28 to join the @hive-180164 Community Contest #3 All About Readers

image source

Sort:  

Hmm your reading beginning is unique with the fact that your principal at school made you love to read... Really unique, not all students would adapt to such.

I laughed when you said the weather is hot in your country so you prefer reading shirtless, that country must be Nigeria 😂 our country sha

Yeah, we could say reading articles on Hive is also a sort of reading and I do that even unconsciously now 😇

Cool entry, all the best in the contest

Omg! You got it right. lol
Nigeria is the country

😂 Yeah, I'm a Nigerian too so I can relate with that very well


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Back in my college days, my favorite place to read was in my room. My room was extremely comfortable. @emeka4 and @joshsticks28 in some cases loved joining me to read overnight before our exams.

Yeah memories mehn is was cool reading then

I can barely read at midnight, I don't know how y'all do it and I wish I could but I simply would just sleep off no matter how hard I tried.