Assessing my Collection - WHAT AM I READING?

in Hive Book Club2 years ago
A few months ago when I was speaking with this guy who painted my place for me, he asked me where I'd like to fix my television set when I get it. I told him I wouldn't be getting any. He was perplexed. I told him I was building a ginormous book collection that would have every genre, and that when anyone comes over, I'd offer them a book. Well after I gave them water or whatever they wanted of course, haha, I am not a Loony. Today I looked through the dozen of books I have collected and I was proud of the diversity in them.

IMG_20220628_180621_898.jpg

hive divider.png

The last few weeks has been fucking horrible. The sheer apathy and lack of motivation to do anything, include read has taken a rather unhealthy toll on my well-being. I am not the effusive lad as always I would share nothing and gloss over it. I am fine.

I looked through my collection and it turns out I have more self-help books. As cliche as they are, they have helped me grow and transition into the world of books and literature. I still have a soft spot for the self-help genre albeit there is a lot of jargon out there now. Robin Sharma piece, I have opened only a few times. Still as good as new that. James Patterson's piece is actually amazing. I read a decent amount and I am enjoying the fast-paced crime thriller already. Atomic Habits? Everybody should have that in their collection I reckon.

IMG_20220628_180747_146.jpg

hive divider.png

One of the best Biographies you'd see. Well, I am not one to talk. I think I have only read this one, and even only read twenty-five percent of it, haha. A genre that is not spoken off enough. It's a fascinating thing to look through the life of someone great. Their childhood, growing up, etc. Their pain, happiness, suffering, and struggles, are what makes them tic and all.

IMG_20220628_180720_365.jpg

hive divider.png

Some fancy titles here, but I am trying to finish Victor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning. A book everybody should read at least once in their lifetimes. I told myself earlier this year that if I don't read, or finish any book this year, this book, I will.

RNFetchBlobTmp_ix0c66z7ppx964akbrq8l.jpg

Well, there you have it, my not-so-fancy collection. I am quite proud of them for many reasons; one of which is that I bought them with my money. Hopefully, I'd finish Victor Frankl's piece and write a review soon. STAY TUNED.

Sort:  

wow, you are amazing frankly asking I can't read that much, I don't know maybe it has to do with the discipline I choose, I rarely read books I can even recall the once that I have read not much maybe 2 to 5 books, even at school am like everybody hates Chris instead of reading the book I would prefer to watch the movies, but we all know that movies don't tell the full story. i just get lazy when i carry a book to read.

I can relate.

I do get lazy with books too, and sometimes I prefer to see the movie adaptation, but there are some books you will read and you won't look back again with books 😅

Exactly the point!
I read the game of thrones books a long time ago, and the series, as good as it is, does not do it justice AT ALL.
That's why it annoyed hell out of me when R. R. Martin decided to suspend publishing his latest book, supposedly because of the shows. Television is great and all, but it's ruining books.

I guess ruining it is good business for both parties especially the books don't you think? 😅

Makes you want to go check it.

After seeing the Netflix series "one of us is lying", I had to go get the book

See

I agree and disagree sha, but I see your point. It'll take a hard-core fan to digest all 700+ pages of each book sha. Anyway, make we beg uncle Martin to release the last book na 😭

yes, that is for those that fancy books a lot.

Atomic Habits? Everybody should have that in their collection I reckon.

Damn straight, it's a brilliant book! In fact, thanks for the reminder... I'm long overdue a refresh, I'll go dig it out again.

...he asked me where I'd like to fix my television set when I get it. I told him I wouldn't be getting any. He was perplexed.

We have a TV, but its only really used for nature documetataries, or somethimes my partner watches netflix. Other than that it just sits in the corner unused. I've never understood the appeal of slobbing in front of the TV mindlessly watching it.

...I am not a Loony.

Aha! Only Loonies would say that! 😅

🤣🤣🤣

You got me.

Your comment is spot on. You nailed it with the TV thing. It's exactly my thought. Although, entertainment is great sometimes..not me

I'm happy I reminded you 😅

Have you written about it here in the community??

I don't think you have, have you?

Nah its fine lol, we're all Loonies here anyway!

Er...no i don't think I have (checks community) oh Hive Bookclub, no I've not posted anything here. To be honest, I don't read much fiction these days, Its mostly reference books (ID guides to Butterflies, Bees and Birds etc) and various textbooks (mushrooms, habitat, taxonomy etc). I don't mind a biography if the person is interesting (Bruce Lee's is recommended).

If I want to relax I'd rather put music on and either put my feet up and enjoy it, or go outside for a walk with headphones

Those are actually amazing things one can do.

In any case, I'd encourage you to join our community and share whatever book related post you have with us.

Like atomic habits 😌

Looking forward to it

The monk who sold his Ferrari????? What is happening there 😂

I'm keeping it for you😅

If I do come, most likely nahh

You're making me miss my childhood. My parents had (have) hundreds of books, mainly fiction, and I cannot begin to tell you the profound effect reading had on my life.
It helped shape my imagination, also arming me with vocabulary I never knew existed. I hate school for taking leisure reading away from me

Reading is actually a dying artform, as more and more screens are entering the world. It's so sad seeing children who weren't taught to read properly, or who aren't interested in reading. They miss out on so much.

Thanks for the nostalgia 💙

 2 years ago (edited) 

You're always spot on with your comment.

It's becoming a habit 😏.

I totally agree with the vocabulary part. It has been a big source of improvement for mine.

You sure are lucky.
My parents weren't the book type, but I'm making a conscious effort to resurrect the reading culture around me

Always great to see your comment as always

Thank you bro. Keep ingesting those books! Read for 2 🤧

Congratulations @stevenson7! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 6000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support

I’ve been eyeing up Atomic Habits for ages. Do I buy it? Maybe I should, I love self improvement books but the right ones, not all of them. Only some authors can truly write them otherwise they quickly become a bit too sanctimonious.

You're totally right.

The garbage can sometimes outweigh the gems.

Get atomic habits. It's a top book

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nicklewis.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

So nice of your @nicklewis 💗🫂🎉