INITIATIVE - Some Reading Habits / Stevenson Style

in Hive Book Club3 years ago (edited)

untitleddesign_1_original-1.png

RNFetchBlobTmp_ix0c66z7ppx964akbrq8l.jpg

I have being seeing this initiative among people and I kinda liked it. I liked how people had so much interesting habits when they read. Though some common, still interesting to read. I decided I would write a bit about some of my weird habits while reading. Credits to the creator of this challenge.

IMG_20210924_181611_087.jpg

SNIFFING BOOKS

This is one habit I am proud of, haha. I really love the smell of new books, likewise old books. It can sometimes be a reason why I read a book even, I know l, weird. The first thing I do most time I get the book in hard is to have a good sniff. We have being getting lots of new acquisition in the library recently and my nose could not be happier. xd.

SLUT READER

I think I coined that word by myself. Maybe not my proudest habit, but it's a big part of my reading style. I start reading a book, then I come across another one and I'm off. Most times I forget about the old one. At the moment I have over 20 books that I am halfway in, and I have over a dozen that I just started. Some I might never get back to, some I may, who knows.

POINTING AT WORDS

This one some of you might assume is weird, but it actually helps. Well me at least. I like putting my hards on each word as I read. It helps me know here I am at and read the words faster than I ordinarily would. Of course I only point at hard copy books, I don't think one can do that with e-book.

IMG_20210924_181639_073.jpg

READING MULTIPLE BOOKS SIMULTANEOUSLY
This is actually one habit I am proud of. I have stumbled on books that have struck me with hard conundrum and made my head spin and sometimes I don't want to read it anymore at that time. I easily go at another book and I start to enjoy it. I almost always have a popular book at hand to get to one the going gets tough.

I PREFER BOOKS OF OLD

This is not much of a habit, just a preference I guess. I don't know why, but I do enjoy those weird English and grammar construction of books of old. It's one reason I enjoyed Shakespeare's piece. Not that I read all of it. I think the good books are the old ones. Goethe, Allan Poe, Nietzsche, Freud, etc. This were the scholars.

HARD COPY OR SOFT COPY

The famous topic of all book club or community. It really all boils down to preference. I think everybody likes hard copy books, and everybody also likes soft copy books because of it's easy access and mobility. Every avid reader has an extensive stash of both format, and so do I.

RNFetchBlobTmp_ix0c66z7ppx964akbrq8l.jpg

Well there you have it, some weird habits of mine when it comes to book and reading. Hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoyed writing. Cheers.

Sort:  

I totally get why you sniff books! I hate kindles. I like to feel and smell the book as well.

I actually do my reading in the bath. Unfortunately, there has been the odd accident where I've dropped the book in the bath. They expand to twice the size lol.

The print needs to be a good size now as my eyes aren't as good as they used to be. I don't like heavy books so it's soft copies for me.

Wait, you read in the bath?

Like bathtub or a shower?

Bathtub. I like a good soak with a good book lol.

Oh that's one to hang up in the hall of Fame of reading habits that's for sure 😅

 3 years ago (edited) 

I like to sniff book too especially the vintage ones.

@stevenson7 Also can you explain why the divider is from steemit? it would be better if you only use hive divider or maybe upload a new one.

if you are speaking of the green one, It is actually from hive

When I was younger I could read three books simultaneously but not anymore

Lazy bones 🤣🤣

Lol...I struggle with one these days.

Hahahahaha..... I completely understand. Maybe you have to join a book club, it might stir your desires up again

She's actually a member even. She writes reviews there. Maybe you can join 😏

Have you tried? 😏

@stevenson7, developing reading habits matter, and reading is healthy for the brain — it's helps a lot — it's beneficial.. Though I read, but I do shy away from Novels because of its long narrative storylines, so I would rather prefer a short story which I can read in just one sitting... Currently, I'm still striving (hardly) to read an African Novel (Second-class Citizen by Buchi Emecheta) — a long narrative one...

You're right.

Oh yeah, I know thag Novel by Buchi. It's a top work. Would love to see you write a review about it in the hive book club community

@stevenson7 Yes, it's a top-notch novel by Buchi... Would love to write something about it later, maybe close to a review or more like that.

Thanks brother.

I left you a message on WhatsApp, and I haven't seen your reply since. Hope there's no problem, bro?

Oh so sorry man.

WhatsApp is locked for me for sometime now. I will get to it asap.

No problem brother — I understand. Anytime you're back online, please do notify me.

Stay cool @stevenson7

Thank you. I thought it was just me. Unless I'm into about 20, I can't finish 1.

😅😅

You're so good.

Hey Dan, we had a book discussion on Discord the today. We would be doing it every week just in case you might be interested 😁

I like to add one here. It's about giving a book a second chance. Sometimes we stumble into this situation of not liking a book too much. Maybe it's our mood or other things. But I tend to give the book a second chance some time later and then enjoying it. It's like rediscovery. I think this also accounts for not reading anything that doesn't catch you as it will become a tedious task.

I love the smell of books whether they are old or new. It's something wonderful!

You are right you know. That's a habit I would cultivate. I actually have done it before once.

I came back to the book and I loved it.

Thanks fellow book sniffer 😅

Ha, ha, ha. It works like that.

#booksniffingisliving