Short Story Series/The Six Fingers of Time - by R. A. Lafferty

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

made with canva

text15.png

You can't really get enough of books, can you? I have resolved to go all-in on short stories, fiction most especially. I mean, you cant read "the Da Vinci Code" and not love fiction. I am almost done with the book and I so don't want it to end, I just keep taking it one chapter at a time, but alas, every good thing has an end, as well as bad. I am also currently reading the short story: "pandemic" by Jesse Franklin.I need not tell you why I chose this. I get my books from feedbooks. It is a digial library, which offers free ebooks that have being well formatted. This book have well past there copyright years, hence they are free for personal use, not commercial, that where I get my ton of booksand also Project Gutenberg.

text15.png

When I started reading this book, it kept me turning pages. There is an uncanning likeness to mordern reality that would always leave you in awe as you go deeper into the book. At one point, i'd be loast and thinking how I got to this particular chapter, then next minute everything seems to make sense again,its brilliant. Again, I would try not to give too much spolers.

image.png
Image source

text15.png

  • Author - Rapheal Aloysius Lafferty
  • Title - The Six Fingers Of Time
  • Genre -Fiction, short story
  • Originally Published - 1980

text15.png

  • Plot
It started off with the main chracter "Charles Vincent waking up from his sleep to a reality where everything was incredibly slow. Apparently, he had being so overworked with his work that made him start sleepwalking, accroding to his doctor, Dr Manson. It is difficult to decipherif it was the faceless people he met that gave him the power to beat time or he was just sleepwalking again,but either ways, it was taking a toll on him. Before his demise though, he did a some great things though, makes us start to wonder, what is the purpose of it all?
  • Setting
I honestly dont think there was a location mentioned,ormaybe Ijust missed it, still, events happened in Charles Vincent room, in the hospital with the doctor, at the club where he met the mysterious faceless man, the cafeteria and at his workplace.
  • Characters

The main Character, Charles Vincent. Dr Manson, the doctor Charles went to meet to explain his predicament. You could say he is the one who tries to makes sense of all the happenings. Jenny, Charles co-worker. Jennifer Parkley was a young lady Charles was attracted to, as was Mrs Milly Maltby, a widow thirty years older than he was, but he still was attracted to her, and as was great-granny Mrs Roberts who was fifty years older than he was.

  • Purpose

Time heals all wounds. Given time anything is possible, but what if you got all of time, what then? The message of the power of time is pretty clear.

Anything is achievable if time is available and it is taken in the proper order and context and with the proper preparatory work.

image.png
made with canva

text15.png

What a read. Albeit short
the book packs a punch with a deep underlying meaning to the messages there-in. Its quite enjoyable. Coincidentally, all my friends just go on and on about how overwhelmed they are with work and how they are behind time, And I thought, you don't want to end up like Charles I guarantee. Then I share this book to them.

Thank you for reading. I try not to give spoilers, :). Everything said herein are actually my own opinion. If there is anything I might have missed of misinterpret or quoted wrongly even, please point me towards it in the comment down below. Also, you could drop me your mail, so I could email it to you, its 45 pages, its free. Till next time.