SHORT STORY SERIES - Witches' Loaves by O. Henry

in Hive Book Club2 years ago

Made with Canva23zGwTg83sdYy8VQjs9pSPqkW5ZbYGeX2EE3NxrCb8x6G13KCGf8urf4MMxk99znVmLGe.png

EoGvUz9ggNvu1GBAuUwn9L7Xnz4qkTMfSjMb5hY2tL2FzVUyUZKzhmQJvi7iZT8kvXE.png

It's been a while now since I actually got involved with books. I think I have lost my interest in reading books for so long, or maybe I just get really tired and I am unable to forge on with the book at hand. Still, I have books I am currently reading. The one I am loving now is Ordinary Men by Christopher R. Browning. An insane book about the times of the Holocaust. I recommend.

I was actually reading May Day by Scott Fitzgerald. It was my first choice; a book about the war times. Turned out it was an extended short story. Eleven chapters!! Albeit the story has been a great read, and I will almost certainly get back to it, I wanted to read something shorter without all the exaggerated suspense, lol. Witches' Loaves is exactly not what it sounds like. It has nothing to do with witches or horror, or anything. It's a simple story with a deep sense of poignance.

witches-loaves.jpg
Image source

EoGvUz9ggNvu1GBAuUwn9L7Xnz4qkTMfSjMb5hY2tL2FzVUyUZKzhmQJvi7iZT8kvXE.png

  • Author - O Henry
  • Title - Witches' Loaves
  • Originally Published - 1904
  • Genre - Fiction, Short Stories

PLOT

The story is about a forty-year-old lady who runs a bakery successfully. She sells all sorts of delicious bread, cake, and all. There is this man who comes to her bakery to buy stale bread. Stale bread is cheaper than fresh ones, so one might assume he is broke, as did the lady who owns the bakery. She took a liken to him. Every day the man would come in to get his usual two loaves of stale bread and the woman's mind would spiral into all sorts of assumptions. Making up different scenarios in her head. She would always wish to help him out, until one day, when the man was not looking, she dipped a generous amount of butter in his bread. "At least this would help them taste better, and he would notice my kind gesture", she thought. Alas, it wasn't so.

SETTINGS

NONE

CHARACTERS

  • Miss Martha - the protagonist of this story

  • The Artist - the middle-aged man who always comes in to pick up stale bread.

PURPOSE

Sometimes our act of kindness might not be that, kind. Even though we had good intentions, things might not always work out. Be kind anyway.

23viJZd2ZquKHFNKKY4ugJZH4Bi7wrnddHVzUMUQsJEoTe56kxfpb2obJmzVouiqbBDt3.png

EoGvUz9ggNvu1GBAuUwn9L7Xnz4qkTMfSjMb5hY2tL2FzVUyUZKzhmQJvi7iZT8kvXE.png

Right out of the bat, you would sense that the predominant theme in this story is loneliness. The protagonist craved a partner, and she decided to get romantic. I do have some sympathy for her. It was a well-meaning good deed that backfired in a catastrophic way and made her lose interest in love. It's kinda like reality for most women and men. It is a very simple and short story, yet it sends a resounding message. I have always been one to be upfront, and confrontational. Not just about love or things of romance, but life in general. It saves one the headcahe. You cannot, and should not base your actions on assumptions. . In this story Miss Martha did it and it ended badly for her. It was a great read. I will recommend it because it is relatable, and there are lessons to be learned. I will rate it a 3.5/5.

EoGvUz9ggNvu1GBAuUwn9L7Xnz4qkTMfSjMb5hY2tL2FzVUyUZKzhmQJvi7iZT8kvXE.png

Thank you for reading my short story review yet again. Loving the commitment from you. I try not to give spoilers, :). Everything said herein is actually my own opinion. If there is anything I might have missed out, misinterpreted, or quoted wrongly, please point me towards it in the comment. Also, you could drop me your mail, so I could email you the book link. It is an online story. It's a very short story of around 1.5k words. Till next time. Cheers

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @stevenson7 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

You've made this sound like a really interesting read, and have me most intrigued to the outcome. I'll be honest, I have so many things on my to-read list, I won't be getting to this story, given it's the comments, I hope you'll share the outcome. Thanks

Haha, nice. Like you, we all have a long read list. I do hope you make time to read this one. It's actually very short. The longer one would have been scarier 😅

It is true that many acts that can be done with the intention of helping or being kind can be offensive or damaging to what the other person does, so sometimes if you can, it is better to investigate a little and even if things do not go as you wish, you can still be kind.

I agree.

Very true.

I little investigation would have actually helped the woman.

Thank you for reading and supporting 🙌🏾🤲🏾😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Kindness may not work out the way we want it to be but what is more important is to be kind at all times. Perhaps in reality, let us always choose to be kind because we do not really know what someone is facing in life. It was a good read steven. Have a nice time and take care.

Thank you so much.
It's always heartwarming whenever I see you comment.

I truly appreciate it.
Kindness is a beautiful thing.

Take care dear friend 🙏🏾

The pleasure is mine and you are always welcome my dear friend Steven. I really enjoyed reading your book review about Witches’ Loaves. Likewise, keep safe always and have a nice day.