Back to Lino Dino-ing - don't forget to get your hands on my book

in Hive Book Clublast year (edited)

snottysaurus.jpg

Since Monday I have been dealing with back and groin pain, due to a pinched nerve in my lower back, caused by a coughing fit, but - interestingly enough - my creativity has returned.

Increased rest might have helped with this.

Nevertheless, too much sitting isn't advisable and posting while lying down is difficult, so I haven't posted for a while and have to keep it short ( not really my style ).


The image shown above is the title page of a short story I wrote a year ago. It's one of 22 stories that can be found in my book The Life of Hypersensitivosaurus.

It's a book that you can get your hands on for free ( if you choose to get the perfectly imperfect digital version ). MORE ON THAT HERE

Then, yesterday morning, my twin sister sent me the following invite for a creative day in the nearest village:

Dia Artesano.jpeg

For those of you who don't understand Portugese, here's a translation:

The office of Alegria

( 'alegria' actually means 'joy', but it's the name of a school project where all kinds of activities are taking place throughout the year )

opens its doors!

Thursday, December the 1st, 10:00-18:00

Come (and) discover our shop of local handicraft!


So I invited my neighbor(s) and their twin sons and, in the afternoon, we visited Alegria.

I had packed some lino tools ( carving knives, pieces of linoleum, paper, lino ink, an ink roller and cleaning stuff ) and we sat down at one of the tables outside. It was a beautiful, sunny Winter afternoon. The lino art attracted a bunch of kids and adults and I had fun playing art teacher, for a while, until the kids starting playing, away from the adults, once again, and the adults remained with me at the table.

It was fun and I heard that this event might take place weekly, from now on.

The next couple of pictures are made with a lino carving that I cut out earlier this year ( around May ). As you can see it's based on the illustration in my book ( and mirrored ).

I made the red one yesterday, at Alegia, and the blue and black one today.
The latter was pressed on canvas paper. I really like the dotty effect.

It's interesting how the change in color affects the mood. I feel the blue one looks the coldest. The black one kind of smokey.

coldblooded red.jpg

IMG_20221202_102908.jpg

IMG_20221202_103502.jpg

I am gonna cut it short here, before my back start acting up again. Right now I feel my neck aching.

Long story short ( I failed to make this a short post haha! ), I am feeling the creative flow, once again and I'm not afraid to share it with you all.

Creativity is often underrated and definitely undervalued, aside from some crazy overvaluation ( often for dead artists ), every now and then.

If you haven't already, go get your hands on a digital copy of my book. Once again, you can get it for free, but I welcome gifts and donations ( preferably in Hive or HBD ).

@anafae and @mamrita have been so sweet to be the first two to reward me, so far, with more than just an upvote. It's much appreciated :<)

Also, I am seriously considering to get my art on some merch, inspired by my creative brother from another mother @selfhelp4trolls aka @whatamidoing

Go check out his latest post - The Dumbest Bag of All Time - for more info. He also sells merch with the cover art that I designed for the first part of his Confessions of the Damaged novella series. Go give this guy some love!

TO BE CONVINUED...

Sort:  

Sorry about your back, and neck.
Don't think I've ever heard someone get into the zone with discomfort lol. You sir, are a trailblazer.

I'd love to get my hands on those too. And, here is my little support 😅 (upvote)

Take care

Cheers for the boost, buddy and welcome back in my comment section :>)

Don't think I've ever heard someone get into the zone with discomfort lol. You sir, are a trailblazer.

I'm sure many have and do but cheers for the compliment :<)

Do you mind sharing your email address with me? that way I'll be able to send you a digital copy of my book.

You can also do that via Discord, I'm VincentNijman ZENsitivosaurus#5870 on there

Looking forward to connecting further!

Ah sweet

Here is my mail

[email protected]

I will also shoot you a friend request on discord sir 👏🏿

Will send it your way soon, via WeTransfer :<)

Received
Bless you soul sir

You're very welcome

and no need to sir me, we're equals,
and I don't need to be reminded that I'm growing old(er) ;<)

Discord username didn't work

Wonder why

stevenson7#3073

Here's my ID

Wasn't able to add you.
Try adding me on discord without the space between my name and ZENxitivosaurus...

On it

Can't imagine the situation.
But I think you are the only person on this whole planet who's creativity is triggered by the physical discomfort...

Tell me how can I get my hands on one of these. It's not for me. God knows I should read but I am barely finding any time to read. The artist way is something that I still haven't fliped the page. But your is for Yesh the dude will love or get scared depending on his mood. 🤣

🍻 Cheers mate..

Get some rest and recover well.
May the force (of healing) be with you
❤️☮️

But I think you are the only person on this whole planet who's creativity is triggered by the physical discomfort...

Haha! Certainly not.

I think a lot of great art has come from suffering. Then again, that's the image that ( art ) historians and the media 'paint', as it makes for better stories and gives people the idea that the path of the artist is not the right one to choose. @clareartista can tell you all about that in her great podcast series on art

Tell me how can I get my hands on one of these. It's not for me. God knows I should read but I am barely finding any time to read. The artist way is something that I still haven't fliped the page.

I'll need your email for that. Will reach out to you via another messaging channel.

But your is for Yesh the dude will love or get scared depending on his mood. 🤣

Haha! You're probably the only one who is gonna read this to such a young child. I love that!

Thanks for the healing vibes, compliments and meaningful comment and especially for finally asking for my book haha :<)

Bless you dearest @vincentnijman 🙏🌟 Sending healing vibes and hoping very much that you get some relief soooon. The images are great: I love all three side by side.... gives it a technicolour effect! Love hearing about your creative session - I'd soooo love to be doing our Co-Creation Sessions face to face also!

I like the technicolor thought, although I should have made it green instead of black then

but hey, I'm more original than Andy Warhol, plus my dinos look way better than his multicolor soup cans ;<)

Thanks for the healing vibes and ongoing support. And yes, a real life, same location Co-Creation session would be awesome indeed!

🤗

It always amuses me just how much colour and lighting can completely change things XD like in the blue one I feel like dino is very much a snottysaurus, whereas with the other two I'm still convinced the poor guy has an epic nosebleed (the black one maybe because it's sooty?).

You could make some awesome bags too XD

Haha! You're right. Color does indeed make a huge difference, even with few details. Just focusing on the thing hanging from his nose, leads to a different story/ interpretation.

And yes, this would make some awesome bags ;<)

Cheers!

I hope you are feeling better Vincent. I finally send some hive your way for the book, now I will message you on Discord with my email. Sending you lots of healing and love my friend xxxxxxx

This means a lot to me. It feels good to get paid for see my perfectly imperfect work valued by others.

And yes, I am starting to feel better. Taking care of myself, social distractions, resting as well as being active seem to heal my body :>)

Abraço

Thanks for the update. Sorry to hear about your back and neck.

I sent you a small donation some time ago, I haven't had the chance yet to read your book though. But I'll soon for sure 🙂

Ah, I missed that. Thank you!
🤗

I'm looking for similar places to go and create along with a bunch of people here too, not just to get inspiration but also to make new connections, I've been a hermit for so long, hahaha.

Beautiful handcraft, my friend! There's so much potential in what you do!

I'm looking for similar places to go and create along with a bunch of people here too, not just to get inspiration but also to make new connections

This sentiment might be in the air. If anyone can relate, it's me :<)

Beautiful handcraft, my friend! There's so much potential in what you do!

Much appreciated. It's comment like these that fuel my creative fire

Glad to see you back in action dudeski!

Cheers mate! How's life treating you these days?

Ach shite my brother had a stroke but apart from that it's ok!

ouch! that's rough, I guess there's always shitty stuff happening, right, and more of it when we grow older. Even more of a reason to make people smile with our stories...

Growing old sucks ass and that is official. That is the thing, you don't even think that you are old and then old things happen!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @stevenson7.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Dear @vincentnijman,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!