The horror! The horror! Raptor art inspired by the torture of nail filing aka extreme suffering just to play a game of football

IMG_20210525_201311.jpg

Today I decided to add to yesterday's football drawing, to add the nail filing terror part.

As I made yesterday's drawing on A3 paper, there was a plenty of space left. So I just drew Hypersensitivosaurus, who is about to file his nails on a huge rock, struggling with ambivalent feelings:

Is this torture really worth it? Is playing football really that important?
The horror! the horror!

It's a huge dilemma.

I wanted to change a color pencil drawing into digital art, using my wacom, but I couldn't find the stylus. Will look for it some other day.

I then thought of copy pasting the nail filing raptor on a natural background but I never learnt to work with layers ( I did, ages ago in Flash but I'm a different person now ) and I had already drawn HS on paper. So, instead, I decided to cut him out with a Stanley knive. I then tried to take a picture in front of a photo on my laptop's screen but it didn't work, the paper was too thin and so on and so forth...

I ended up sticking (y)our favorite dino on my bedroom window ( with sticky tape rolls on the back ) and photographing that. The colors aren't great, I am aware of that ( it was getting dark and I am still out of electricity - one more week ) but this isn't the end product and how can you not like my stunning view!

Here's a picture of the actual drawing ( with yesterday's football sketch, as described and shown in No ( more ) football for Hypersensitivosaurus:

IMG_20210525_184106.jpg

If you wonder about Hypersensitivosaurus' six pack. Just know that the creature is based on me and that I am pretty fit haha

I actually drew his bottom part too. Tried to depict him with his tail between his legs ( like a scared dog ) but it just didn't look right and I decided to not show that part too you, no matter how great his legs and feet look.

Poor fellow. If only you knew how much he suffers whenever he has to file his nails...


P.S. I am trying to find a way to get back into writing mode. Would really like to continue on and finish ( sooner rather than later ) and publish my first book "Hypersensitivosaurus vs. Cold Turkey" but it takes longer than expected to get back in the right mind space. At least I am once again in Hypersensitivosaurus ( creative ) mode so I'm sure I'll get there soon enough.

Stay tuned!


In case you missed the recent write ups on 'Hypersensitivosaurus and Cold Turkey', what is supposed to be the first book in my Hypersensitivosaurus series, here they are:

The World can use More Laughter
An Update on My First Book - Hypersensitivosaurus and Cold Turkey
Presenting my buddy's first release plus some info on my upcoming book
Cold Turkey on the Rocks - Shaken not Stirred

Sort:  

Layers are generally easy but I guess it depends on how you want to work with them, there's kind of a few vague standards but in the end a lot of people do interesting things with them XD

Simplest thing is import your drawing, lock that layer (so you don't accidentally draw on it), make a new layer, draw lineart over the top of the drawing, lock that layer once happy, then make a new layer and colour (you can keep it that simple or go a bit nuts with lots of layers with opacities and blend types), and optionally hide your original drawing layer once you're done.

Placing a cutout on another piece of paper or a window in this case is the original layering ;D

all the "cool" kids are saying "OG" these days as far as I can tell from giggling at overhearing the children at gym

Could Hyper's furry friends donate some fur and weave some socks and gloves for him to cover the nails?