Dal Makhani (Indian bean curry)

DSC_4061.jpg

This is the first time I have tried this particular traditional Indian dish.

I don't go to restaurants anymore so if I feel like having an international dish, I make the plant based version myself as best that I can. My recipes are inspired by researching many traditional recipes. Most of those recipes vary but have common items.

This particular dish should have a smoky flavor which is traditionally created by using the smoke of coal.

That is not possible here where I am unless I could cook outside. Right now we are covered in snow and the temperatures are around - 7 C, around 19 F.

The last time we tried to have a winter barbecue in the park, someone called the fire department so we won't be doing that again.

I substituted the coal smoke flavor for some liquid smoke that we buy from the store. It's not the same I'm sure.

This dish usually uses red beans and black lentils (urad dal). I happened to have split black gram with the husks so I used those instead. I also happened to be given a huge can of red beans from the restaurant where I used to work. I didn't have to buy much for this dish. The red beans from the can of course are already cooked and the dry lentils were rinsed very well then soaked the day before. I cooked them the next day until tender but not too soft.

DSC_3712.jpg

One ingredient for this dish, that many recipes called for was kasuri methi or fenugreek leaves. Here in Canada I have only seen fenugreek seeds. Most people here would not even know about kasuri methi.

Most of the information said that there was no substitute for the leaves. I found this strange, that the seeds would not be a good substitute. I wouldn't have known, since I had never tasted it, let alone seen it. One source said that you could use celery leaves, which I added to the dish, but I needed to get my hands on this item to satisfy my curiosity.

I took a train down to an Indian store that I knew of to see if they had it. When I got there it was closed. There was no way I was going back there the next day. I don't like public transportation.

I decided to order it online but I made the dish before it arrived so I didn't get the photo of the leaves. It was added to the dish the next day when we ate it.

DSC_3697.jpg

The following recipe is approximate. I like certain flavors more than others and the chilies are to my preference. I have also probably used different ratios of beans and lentils then typical. I wanted to use as much red bean from the huge can.

Dal makhani

4 cups cooked red beans
4 cups cooked black gram (I used split black gram with husks)
1 medium chopped onion
2 cups chopped roma tomatoes or canned
1 cup tomato paste
5 cloves garlic
6 green chilies
1 inch piece ginger
1 cup minced celery with leaves
1/2 cup minced coriander stems and roots
4 drops liquid smoke
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1 cup soy cooking cream
3 tablespoons vegan butter
Salt to taste
4 cups vegetable broth

1 cup minced carrot
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
4 whole cloves
3 cardamom pods

1 tablespoon turmeric
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon garam masala
1 teaspoon smoked paprika

DSC_3719.jpg

I know that some people fry their whole spices and some toast them. I toasted them to make it easier. I make sure the aroma is fragrant without burning them.

DSC_3722.jpg

I used my cheap, almost broken mortar and pestle this time but I often just put it in the electric grinder. It's just what is most handy at the time.

DSC_3729.jpg

After heating a pot with a good amount of oil I add the onions and other items including the spices. I usually cook the onions first until browned then add other items to do the same thing. I decided to take a short cut to save time, and added mostly everything at once. I ensured that they were all nicely cooked and browned together before adding the liquid. Doing it this way means using more oil to fry each item for maximum flavor.

DSC_3738.jpg

I made sure the tomato paste was well cooked to avoid a raw tomato paste taste which I don't like much.

I decided to add the butter at this point to add some more oiliness to the pot. If you don't want all the fat you certainly could omit the butter. I just wanted this to be as close as possible to the real thing.

DSC_3744.jpg

I added the vegetable broth after the other items were cooked down.

DSC_3767.jpg

I threw in the cooking cream at this point but perhaps most people would have added it at the end. I'm not sure.

DSC_3770.jpg

The final additions were the beans and cooked lentils.

DSC_3774.jpg

After simmering on very low for around 45 minutes (I didn't time it), I blended it slightly with a hand blender. This makes it creamy like it's supposed to be. It should have small chunks left for texture.

DSC_3777.jpg

I made basmati rice to go with it. The last time I went to the Indian grocer I noticed a bag of saffron. I asked the guy if it was real, and he hesitated to answer me then his phone rang, so I just paid and left with it. It was a fairly large bag for the price. I know I did not get real saffron. I put it in the rice anyway. It doesn't have much colour or flavor, but I will just use it until it's gone.

DSC_3780.jpg

The next day we ate the curry. I knew when the kasuri methi would arrive. It came on time. When I reheated the curry I added the leaves to it.

DSC_4037.jpg

I was a little shocked that the kasoori methi tasted not much different from the seeds. It was said that there is a big difference. I didn't get that. I think that using the seeds would have been sufficient but I'm no expert.

DSC_4032.jpg

This is often served with yogurt, which I didn't have. I sometimes get vegan yogurt or make a cashew cream. It really wasn't necessary as this curry was so full of flavor and was creamy enough as it was.

DSC_4042.jpg

With Indian cuisine, there are so many discoveries to be made. Spice blends and herbs that we don't use here in Canada are so interesting. I guess the same goes for many types of traditional international foods.

I would have to live many lives to experience them all.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

DSC_4075.jpg

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

I haven't tried making this dish before and don't remember if I've ever ordered it from my favorite vegan Indian resto. It looks delicious though. It's really cold where you are. I don't like the cold so I don't think I can do much of anything if I lived there; maybe just spend time keeping warm inside the house. LOL. !LUV it, @carolynstahl

Haha it's funny because I am just doing what you said. I'm keeping warm inside. I did not leave the apartment today. I want to hibernate. I do not like the cold!!!!

Thank you for the comment.😊

It's good to be able to warm yourself up and maybe drink a cup of coffee or cocoa. Stay safe and warm! !PIZZA

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you very much.

Wow as a India I love daal makhni and once upon a time it was my favourite.

Yes I just discovered it. It's delicious!

As usual, you have made me want to try this. Have you tried sprouting fenugreek seeds? Lovely flavour.

You know my partner was making jokes about me sprouting the seeds, and that they would sprout before I received the leaves haha. Now that you've said that I think I will try.

Thank you!

Hahaha! I am one to talk! I think about it but when I need them, not before... !LOLZ

Why was the river rich?
Because it had two banks.

Credit: reddit
@carolynstahl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @fionasfavourites

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(1/1)

It looks exquisite! I confess that you are a source of inspiration, I really enjoy all your recipes, your photos reflect the love and energy of all the preparation.
Happy dreams, a big hug in the distance. @carolynstahl

Your comment is so appreciated. I also appreciate your warm wishes. It's very needed at this time. Thank you and a big hug to you from Canada!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@juanvegetarian(2/5) tipped @carolynstahl (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thank you!

Hmm I wonder how this would taste? The dried fenugreek leaves have a certain flavour to it that can't really be substituted. The seeds taste very different and are an annoyance in a dish like this.
We certainly add loads of butter and fresh cream, though the fresh cream is towards the end.
Like you I always like to toast and grind my whole spices coarsely to bring out the best flavors.
The addition of carrot was the strange element to me.
I also like to try various cuisines with what is available and tweak it to my taste.

I don't know why I put the carrots in. I guess as a flavor addition but they were minced small so I didn't taste them. I knew after adding the cream that it should be at the end. I was lost haha. It still was so delicious and I'm glad I got the fenugreek leaves. Honestly though, when I tasted them to me (a Canadian), they tasted the same as the seeds. You're right though the seeds would be too strong I'm sure.

Thanks so much for your input. I need to have a personal Indian chef to teach me more.

This dish is healthy and tasty. Thanks for sharing the detailed recipe

Thank you very much @momins!

You made it perfectly even though some ingredients aren't available around you looks delicious.
hoped you enjoyed it thanks for sharing and being an international cook. A hug💓😊

I finally got the fenugreek leaves and now have them for other dishes. There are many things to discover. I really appreciate your approval which means a lot coming from you. I know I made some mistakes but I will learn. Anyway it was delicious. Hugs to you too❤️😊

Hello dear friend @carolynstahl good day
I love how creative you are in the kitchen, I like that you combine different recipes and make one in your own style.
This plate looks exquisite. that you enjoy it a lot
Have a beautiful Wednesday day

Muchas Gracias!!!! I appreciate your support very much and hope all is well with you. A beautiful day to you too my friend.

Wow very delicious delicacy 😜 Enjoy 😋😊

Thank you!!!!😊