Fresh fruits and smoothies for breakfast

cover.jpg

I know it's a common thing for many people to have smoothies for breakfast or a plate of fresh fruit. For us it has been rare.

Working evenings in a restaurant means staying up late and getting up late. Then we just quickly grab some leftovers from the fridge which is usually something we had for dinner the late night before. I have never been someone who consumes typical breakfast items. I often have pasta or stir fry or a big salad.

On our last days off, I was at a different grocer than usual. This guy has the best fruits in the neighbourhood. Fruits here are mostly all imported. Even things that grow here are usually imported all year round. They're always picked too soon and don't have a depth of flavor. I usually buy frozen fruits with the intention of making smoothies but don't really do it that often.

I really have been wanting to add some freshness to my diet before winter is at it's peak. For those of you who have never been outside of the tropics, I can assure you that it gets very cold. The cold makes most people gravitate to dense comforting food. I am that way.

We make a vow to start our day with either smoothies or fruit and since then I feel much more fortified.

When we got up one day we had only smoothies. I love green smoothies the best and always add a spoon of wheat grass. I swear by it.

My green smoothie included:
Organic baby spinach, frozen banana, apple, wheat grass, and plant milk.

This is perfectly sweetened by the bananas and apples. You won't be offended by the wheat grass taste. I have come to really like it. Perhaps it's the energy it gives me after I consume it.

blender.jpg

It was our days off so there was no hurry to eat before work. We decided to keep things liquid for most of the day.

1.jpg

Next up were the total fruit smoothies which to me are like desert for breakfast. We had frozen blackberry, frozen banana and fresh blueberries with plant milk. We also had mango, banana with a squeeze of lime and coconut water to take a little trip to the tropics.

drink1.jpg

This was a pretty fun and colourful way to start the day. I didn't feel like going back to bed for a change.

Untitled-8.jpg

The next day we started our fresh fruit routine. We had our daily green smoothie before. The green one is my favourite.

I normally don't like imported pineapples because of their lack of sweetness and they're not always juicy. At this particular grocer I saw pineapples that looks ripe and they actually smelled really good. I was really thrilled with the sweetness. It was perfect.

PINE4.jpg

I took a chance with a honey melon. The last one I got from another store was a complete bust. It tasted like water with a slight sweet flavor. This one that I got was absolutely sweet like honey. It really lived up to it's name. I will go and get a few next time now that I know the grocer has such good ones.

melon3.jpg

I don't often buy ripe papaya because they usually also don't have enough flavor. I saw the biggest and ripest looking papaya and took it home. I have to admit that it wasn't as good as I had hoped. It's okay because I chopped it up and added the other fruits to it.

papaya3.jpg

I saw some golden kiwis that I've never tried before so I bought a few. Usually kiwis that we get are far too sour and not juicy. It's always a gamble. It must be amazing to have a kiwi tree with fresh ripe ones.

This was such a wonderful surprise. The golden kiwis tasted like sweet gold. I was so impressed with how juicy and sweet they were. I never looked at the prices of these fruits but they were totally worth anything I paid.

fruit.jpg

I am someone who loves to squeeze lime on a fruit salad. Most Northerners don't do this but after spending time in Mexico, I learned that fruit is just better with lime. Also chili is a fun thing to put on but I held back this time.

fruity.jpg

We are going to try to stick to this routine as long as we can. It seems the produce coming in, is getting thin at times. Certain things are not always available. In the meantime I will splurge on what I can get to stay fortified for as long as possible.

The winter has begun and we've had snow already. We so far have not turned on the heat in our apartment, trying to save on the electricity bill. So far we are okay, with the help of sweaters, extra blankets and warm slippers. It's a challenge for us to see how much we can stand. So far we got through -6 Celcius. Perhaps the raw breakfast start to the day is helping the blood flow. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Hi, how are you after a long time saw your post. hope all is well with you and your family.
I love the colors of smoothies. very tempting colors as well as your combination of fruit salad we have now 0 c cold icy wind so no fruit salad and no smoothies. just finding some warm food. Have a nice Sunday a hug❤️😊

Haha we have the same weather so before I have soup I force myself to have some raw stuff. I've been bad lately haha.

I just got home from work and like seeing your nice wishes cheers and hugs back my friend.❤️

They squeeze lime on fruit in some Asian countries too and I do the same. In fact a squeeze of citrus in a smoothie is next level and brings out the flavour. It's mango season here.

Yeah true. When I was in Bangkok that was going on with the fruits. It's the best. I wish we could have a mango season haha. Jealous.😄

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you very much.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much!

The salad looks so delicious and fresh, I loved the shakes, I'll take some of the ideas you present to us, I'll stick with the banana and mango haha, what a delight. Greetings and thanks for sharing.🙏

Yeah you must have those fruits growing there. We have fruits growing on the shelves at the store haha.

Thank you!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you so much!

Just GREAT!

Thank you very much!

this is fresh fruit, and this is also very good for health if consumed every day, this is also a very useful recipe, thank you for sharing this post and recipe Have a nice day

Thank you too and also have a nice day.

I like the color variants of the smoothies, they are very interesting. And the fruit pieces are tempting @carolynstahl.

Yes soon the fruits will be less and less. I am taking advantage while I can. Thank you for the visit.

😍😍 i love the fruit salad too!

Thanks for the visit.😊

I love fresh fruit and those golden kiwis look amazing! I've never seen those before, but will certainly keep an eye peeled for them! 😃

Kiwis are never on the top of my list but I kid you not, these golden ones were sweet and delicious. 😊

I like to eat fresh fruit more than juice, but your glass are very tempting. Have a great day my friend.

I would eat more fruit if I lived where you live. I have to work many hours to earn enough to buy these things haha. Usually they don't taste good after coming from another country. We don't have things growing anymore. It's so cold.

Thanks for coming by my friend.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you for your support.

A very delicious way to start the day. I saw the smoothies with the straws and they looked like popsicle sticks, I totally see them as creamy ice-creams. Here we usually have hot weather, and somehow on rainy days, cold days, people eat more ice-creams so they won't melt right away haha

Haha, I was craving ice cream the other day when we had our first snow fall. Strange. I can imagine the amazing fruits you have where you are. Our fruits grown on the store shelves haha. Thanks for the visit my friend.

Hi @carolynstahl! These smoothies are delicious and varied. They are ideal alternatives not only for breakfast, but also for dinner. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipes on Plant Power Vegan. I hope you have a great week.

It's funny you say that because I do have more smoothies late in the evening. You're right. Thank you so much and a great week to you too.😊