Grilled lion's mane basted with Asian barbecue sauce

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

DSC_9022.jpg

Hello people! Before you think I grilled an actual lion's mane, let me reassure you that this is just a nickname. This is a fungus commonly referred to as "lion's mane". It's furry. It's officially called, as far as I know, Hericium erinaceus. It is apparently good for helping with brain function. I need all the help I can get. I'm not so sure that cooking it thoroughly will still keep any nutrients in tact. However I do enjoy it for it's texture. It really is like chicken. I haven't eaten chicken in about 17 years but I used to like it.

At a local park close by, there is a market that has a few vendors. They come once a week with local produce. One vendor has mushrooms, most of which you can't find in regular stores. Some are cultivated and some are wild. This one they grow.

The other day I went there and saw it. The lion's mane is my favourite of all fungus. I bought other lovely mushrooms but this one was my prize. It's almost worth it's weight in gold.

DSC_8939.jpg

This looks like cauliflower doesn't it? If you look closely you can see why they call it a tooth fungus. It has little spikes but soft.

DSC_8950.jpg

It's slightly delicate but you can slice it into cutlets which is what I did.

DSC_8940.jpg

I decided to grill them with my electric grill which is great for extracting liquid from the mushroom by pressing it. We have these mushrooms at work but they are in a bag sealed and already pressed. We use them to make vegan fried chicken nuggets. They make many people question if they are really vegan.

DSC_9011.jpg

I made a basting sauce with random ingredients that I had. I suppose you could call it an Asian barbecue sauce. I tend to gravitate to those flavors.

DSC_8984.jpg

Barbecue basting sauce
1 shallot
4 cloves garlic
2 teaspoons minced ginger
small chilies (optional)
3 tablespoons vegan hoisin sauce
2 tablespoons miso paste
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/8 cup soy sauce
1/8 cup maple syrup or agave or sugar
3 tablespoons rice wine
Juice of a lime

DSC_8986.jpg

Cook shallot, garlic, ginger and chili in hot oil.

DSC_8989.jpg

When they are golden add the other ingredients. Cook down and cool, then blend until smooth.

DSC_8996.jpg

Brush the sauce on the pieces of mushroom. Turn the pieces over and brush the other side, You can do this in a pan as well but you'll have to press the moisture out with a spatula. Sprinkle with salt if you want.

DSC_9020.jpg

I sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds and served with rice.

DSC_9026.jpg

The texture of this is so much like chicken that it's almost scary for me. I love it though.

DSC_9032.jpg

I'm pretty sure I could fool, at least for a moment, some meat eaters that I know.

DSC_9055.jpg

This fungus is becoming more popular it seems. If you haven't tried this and are curious, I know you can get growing kits online if you live somewhere where it's not available. The downfall is that if you buy them, they are really pricey. I envy anyone who could stumble upon this furry beauty in the forest. Nature is amazing.

DSC_9036.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Oh my, haven't seen this kind of mushroom...I bet they taste really like meat. I will be on the lookout, maybe they are available here too. Your dish today made me crave for something right now!!! Stay safe and Happy weekend once more!

Yes they are so meaty and I think you may be able to get them where you are if you know a mushroom dealer. You can order a grow kit online as well.

Have a great weekend yourself!!!!

Wow 😯 Never heard of cauliflower mushrooms! I always learn something new in your recipes. But those does look amazing fresh and on the plate. The dish looks so tasty, I wish I could be able to try it. 😋

Actually they are called lion mane but they look like cauliflower in a way. I really hope you can get some or grow them, You could do great things with them. Thank you.😊

I will definitely look around for it! Thanks on the info! 😌

I am amazed at the variety of mushrooms that can be found in cold climates. This type of fungus did not know either. The arrangement of the fibers it has is very striking, with good reason it has a texture similar to chicken.

This recipe is great, I love the sprinkled sesame seeds, it gives a special touch to the dish, just like that delicious sauce.

Thanks for sharing these great recipes in the @carolynstahl community. Greetings.

Yes there must be so many more things in nature that would amaze us. Mushrooms are something I am recently intrigued with.

Thank you so much!!!😊

This is the first time in my life to see a lion's mane but these look so interesting and delicious! I so need to try these! This dish looks absolutely amazing! At first glance, I thought it was cauliflower. 😅

Yes it looks like cauliflower but it is soft. I hope you can try it but it's rare to find. You can order the grow kits online. I don't know if they ship to Asia. You would love them.

Thanks for stopping by😊

It looks a lot like cauliflowers and I have never seen mushrooms like that. It looks very delicious 🤤. I wish I could taste it. Have a great day my friend.

Thank you. I wish you could try it. It's perfect plant meat. I hope you can have it one day.😌😊

@tipu curate :)

Thank you🙏

Exquisite and beautiful job. Excellent 🤗❤️💕🌱🌱🌱🌱

Thank you so much!!!!😊

It certainly does look like chicken. I need to try this. Thanks for the recipe!

I think it grows wild in your parts but not sure.

Thanks so much!😊

Yummy 😋🤤

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you for your support!🙂

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022

Thank you very much😊

Happy Hive PUD @carolynstahl 💪🐝🌹