Making sushi for therapy after a tense week

DSC_4383.jpg

This has been a week of tension. It starts with looking at an apartment that is 30 seconds walk from work. The funny thing is it started as a joke. We already live 60 seconds from work. I made a joke among my co workers that I want to live even closer to work. We obviously thought that would be silly and impossible. While looking at ads we came across a studio within our budget that happened to be across the street in another direction. We can see it from the front window of work. It is a down grade but the prices of housing has almost doubled. We would have to leave the area and travel a distance to get a decent place that we could afford. We decided to opt for distance. I don't like to waste time on public transportation.

We applied for the apartment but it took jumping through quite a few hoops to get approved. We needed ID which we both only have a passport. We both lost our wallets a while back. The passport wasn't enough for them. We had to go through our disorganized files and find photo copies we had made and sent them. I wasn't sure if they would say something. They didn't but then we had to do our own credit check. This was a first and we had to pay for it ourselves. We know we have a low credit score.

We waited for a few days to get an answer then finally they responded and said they will approve us if we give them first and last months rent. This is not required by law in this province. We said yes so now we wait to sign the lease whenever he gets back to us. I was able to breathe again. On top of everything, I had to get a new hard drive installed. Fortunately Marc was able to do it so it didn't cost too much. It's been frustrating.

There is no better way to get out the tension then to make sushi or bread or something that requires using your hands.

DSC_4400.jpg

Some people think that sushi is all about raw fish but it to me is about the rice which is seasoned and slightly sour. These days you can find so many sushi styles and fillings that your head would spin.

I don't often make sushi but when I do I almost always add avocado. The odd time I buy a plant based sushi it usually has avocado in it. Sometimes it can be boring.

This time I did something with it that I have never done before. I breaded and fried it. There is something about fried ingredients in sushi that makes it extra fun to eat. Actually fried things are always fun to eat but I try not to make a habit of it.

This starts by slicing some avocado that is not too soft but soft enough to peel the skin off with your fingers. That's my avocado ready test. If you're making guacamole then it can be softer.

DSC_4277.jpg

I used bread crumbs that I had from before. To make a slurry I just used plant milk and tapioca flour. I didn't measure anything. With the slurry it should be thick enough to coat the avocado.

DSC_4286.jpg

Dip the pieces in the slurry then into the bread crumbs. The bread crumbs had onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder added to it.

DSC_4292.jpg

Fry in oil until golden.

DSC_4297.jpg

When I cook sushi rice I add a couple pieces of kombu seaweed to it for extra flavor.

The rice is rinsed several times until the water is clear. I use 2 cups of rice to 3 cups of water.

DSC_4299.jpg

When the rice is cooked I remove the kombu and add a 1/2 cup seasoned rice wine vinegar. I don't bother making my own but if I did I would use rice wine vinegar, sugar and salt.

DSC_4267.jpg

When I mix it, I make sure I don't mix too roughly to break the rice. It's cooled down in the fridge. I sometimes make it the night before.

DSC_4291.jpg

Put a nori sheet on plastic and a rolling mat. Have some water nearby to wet your hands and dip your hands to make spreading of the rice easier. Try to get an even layer and to the edge.

DSC_4319.jpg

I kept it simple with just the addition of cucumber for texture.

DSC_4325.jpg

Usually I put wasabi on top of the sushi but this time I made a wasabi mayo to put inside. I used vegan mayo, a pinch of black salt which gives it a egg like flavor and added the desired amount of wasabi to the mix.

DSC_4303.jpg

I spread the wasabi mayo inside of the roll.

DSC_4329.jpg

Bring the mat up tucking firmly. Pull it back then roll and tuck until it's complete.

DSC_4332.jpg

Place them seam side down while rolling the others.

DSC_4333.jpg

I cut the pieces by first cutting the roll in half then each half in half and so on.

I haven't been able to get ends that are perfect so I usually cut them off first and eat them before serving them. By that time I'm usually too full so Marc gets most of them.

DSC_4340.jpg

I happened to have some vegan kimchi in the fridge so I decided to top each piece with it along with some toasted sesame seeds and pickled ginger. Sometimes I put the kimchi inside the rolls.

DSC_4355.jpg

I also had a soy dipping sauce on the side. I added to the soy sauce, a few drops of sesame oil and sweetener (I always use agave nectar).

DSC_4358.jpg

I am no sushi making expert but I have to say, that it was pretty darn good if you like that stuff.

DSC_4383.jpg

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

I haven´t eaten sushi yet because most of the ones available here that are "to go" contain sea foods, my husband and I mostly do not eat sea foods.... the only ones we eat are the coated alaskan fish called Alaska Pollock. But I also eat dried fish, that way the fishy taste is already gone...hehehe. I hope to try your vegan sushi one day...Wish you so much luck with the apartment, crossing my fingers!

Thank you. It's funny that when I used to eat fish I always preferred ocean fish. After a friend told me white fish had a lot of worms in it, I started eating only salmon until I stopped seafood altogether haha.

We have the apartment they told us but we are waiting now to sign the papers. Office workers don't care if we wait haha.

so toi toi toi, we say it here in Vienna...that means good luck! Hugs to you my dear!

Your sushi recipe looks so beautiful and delicious with avocado. I used to eat avocado sushi that my Japanese friend made, it was really yummy. I hope you happy more with your new apartment, my friend.

Thank you my friend. For plant based sushi, avocado is always a good item.

The apartment is less good but we have no choice because we want to be close to work. We have to leave our apartment where we live now because they sold the building and asked us all to leave. It's okay. We will still have a roof haha.😊

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you for the support!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Much appreciated! Thank you so much!

image.png
Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

Thank you for your support!

Hi @carolynstahl! First of all I'm glad you got a place close to work and in the same neighborhood where you've been living, that's great. And well, the second thing is, how good is this dish! I love that you fried the avocado, it's excellent texture, and the step by step recipe is really good, it's a complete tutorial on how to make this vegan sushi. As always your posts are very good, beautiful photos, great content. Thanks for posting on Plant Power Vegan. Regards.

I'm very grateful for your lovely comment. It's been a tense week but now we can relax a little haha. Thanks so much.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you so much!

I would never have thought to fry the avocado, such an interesting idea!
Good luck with the new apartment :)

It's the first time I did this but I've heard of avocado fries before. This time I thought I would put them in the sushi. It works. Thank you so much for your comment.

I have never heard of frying avocado 😮 but I would certainly try it because I so love avocado! Cucumber is also a favorite of mine in sushi rolls. These sound wonderful to me! It is odd that they would not accept a federally-issued passport as ID, but wanted an ID from a lesser authority. 😳 I wish you and Marc all the luck in finalizing the arrangements for your living space! Keeping fingers crossed for you! 🍀

Yes we were quite shocked that the passport wasn't enough. We were also shocked that we had to pay for our own credit score. It's the first ever. Plus it's only a small studio that was sitting empty. Oh well we were told we were excepted now we have to wait for the guy to call us.

Yes avocado fries are slowly becoming a thing. It's not something that does it for me, but in a sushi roll it adds a little something extra.😊

Thanks so much @thekittygirl!

If you're not good enough, this time you excelled with your sushi. It looks very professional and your explanation simple but very well done. I've never made sushi, that's on my list of recipes to try. Thank you very much for sharing the fight and also your new change of address haha ​​without a doubt living very close to work is a blessing @carolynstahl 😉

Ahh you're too kind. I really hope you try to make it. With a sushi mat and a couple of rolls you get to understand how it feels and then it's easy. The possibilities of the inside is endless.

Thanks so much for your kind comment!

I'll do the same friend @carolynstahl, I'll buy my mat. I hope to do it very soon and I will start testing.

When you described your step by step, right in the roll I thought, that's not supposed to be so simple. But I think it's like you say, after putting together a few rolls, I'm sure I'll master it.

Thank you very much for your words of encouragement 😉.

I love this recipe! It seems easy to make and delicious! 😀

Thank you so much. It gets easier after a few tries haha. I am still practising but it beats paying the fortune that it costs me to buy it ready made.😊

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 7500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 8000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15

Hi Carolyn, greetings🙏 nice delicious sushi you are the best like other times clever and smart.

That sushi looks and sounds delicious. Fried avocado must be excellent .
Good luck with your new apartment, just think of the time and money you will save working so close to home, good for you 😁

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening